Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: network connection establish and firefox browser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default network connection establish and firefox browser

    wish amazing day for all

    1- i use wifi network, turn it off when did not need internet.
    2- when turn on the wifi network it need some time to establish the connection.
    3- if i turn on the wifi and open the firefox, when try use internet after the wifi connection establish it did not work.
    4- to browser work i should first turn on the wifi network and wait until the connection establish so i can use the internet other wise i will receive error message

    by other words if i click on firefox icon before the wifi connection establish i can not use the internet.

    it not big deal for me as we speak about couple of seconds but try understand way this happen?

    thanks in advance
    knowledge seeker

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,951

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Maybe I misunderstand, but you say that you have no connection to the network and that then Firefox complains that you have no connection to the internet. Sound rather logical to me.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Maybe I misunderstand, but you say that you have no connection to the network and that then Firefox complains that you have no connection to the internet. Sound rather logical to me.
    sorry english my second languge so i will make problem as flowchart(sequence of process).

    next sequence did not work:
    1- turn on wifi.
    2- click on firefox browser.
    3- wait until connection establish.
    4- try search or see website.
    5- results: give me error message.

    next sequence work good:
    1- turn on wifi.
    2- wait until connection establish.
    3- click on firefox browser.
    4- try search or see website.
    5- results: work good.
    knowledge seeker

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,951

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Yes, that is much more clear!

    It looks as if FF tests for connection on startup, but only gives an error when the user really tries to use it.

    I am not sure that it is only the connection to the internet though. I assume that the same will happen when not going further then the LAN. You may be able to check that by testing connection to your router, but of course only if the router supports HTTP(S) access for management of it.

    Another thought. What is the page where FF starts with. If that is a local "blank page" then FF will indeed not go anywhere by just starting. But when it is some other page, the the error should show imediatly.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,949

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    @naive2021:

    Or, it's the Firefox Connection Settings – <https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...ttings-firefox>.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Yes, that is much more clear!

    It looks as if FF tests for connection on startup, but only gives an error when the user really tries to use it.

    I am not sure that it is only the connection to the internet though. I assume that the same will happen when not going further then the LAN. You may be able to check that by testing connection to your router, but of course only if the router supports HTTP(S) access for management of it.

    Another thought. What is the page where FF starts with. If that is a local "blank page" then FF will indeed not go anywhere by just starting. But when it is some other page, the the error should show imediatly.
    1- i can connect to the router (http protocol).
    2- yes set FF to start with blank page, but after open it i enter words in search bar or chose link from bookmarks and both did not work.
    3- i only know how to setup opensuse and use it for daily use(graphic, office, video editor, a little bit some small code and internet) so i do not know a lot about system management.
    3-a: but i believe it some security layer. you know when open the firefox before the connection establish it like the browser do not have permission to use this connection.
    3-b: or maybe something like as FF start first so it do not recognize that there's connection establish.
    knowledge seeker

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,951

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    You Firefox "dos not work", but that is of course very vague. Is there no (error)-message from firefox?
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Yes, that is much more clear!

    It looks as if FF tests for connection on startup, but only gives an error when the user really tries to use it.

    I am not sure that it is only the connection to the internet though. I assume that the same will happen when not going further then the LAN. You may be able to check that by testing connection to your router, but of course only if the router supports HTTP(S) access for management of it.

    Another thought. What is the page where FF starts with. If that is a local "blank page" then FF will indeed not go anywhere by just starting. But when it is some other page, the the error should show imediatly.
    i also just try next sequence and did not work:

    1- click on firefox browser icon and wait till it open.
    2- turn on wifi and wait till connection establish.
    3- try search or see website(enter some words in search bar and hit enter, or choose some website from bookmarks).
    5- results: give me error message.

    is there's change try do same sequence on your machine and share the results.

    thanks for advance
    knowledge seeker

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    You Firefox "dos not work", but that is of course very vague. Is there no (error)-message from firefox?
    the error message say something like can connect to the website server try check your connection, firewall, etc.

    note: it's not big problem for me as we speak about 5 seconds or maybe less, that i need wait after hit the network turn on button. i only try understand way that happen and if there's some way to change it.

    firefox version: 91.5.0esr (64-bit)
    knowledge seeker

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: network connection establish and firefox browser

    the error message:
    knowledge seeker

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •