Kernel symlink to /usr/lib/

Hello all,
I’m new to opensuse, just installed last week. I’ve noticed something I’m not familiar with:
The kernel images (/boot/vmlinuz-) are symlinks to /usr/lib/modules/ instead of the actual kernels.
Why is this the case? Is there a setting I can change to make zypper install the kernel images to /boot instead of /usr/lib/modules?

I have my root encrypted and am moving my /boot to a separate, unencrypted partition, but I don’t want to have to manually copy over the kernel each time it updates (necessary to avoid entering my decryption key twice each boot - once for grub to see the kernel and once for the kernel to see everything else).

There was a recent change (a few months back) to move the kernel out of “/boot”.

In systems where “/boot” is part of the root file system, a symlink is used so that the kernel appears to be in “/boot”.

In systems where “/boot” is a separate file system, the kernel is copied to “/boot”. This copying is part of the normal kernel install.

I don’t know what will happen when you change an existing system. I would guess that it will start copying kernels to “/boot” as part of kernel install. But, in setting up your separate “/boot”, you will need to do this manually the first time.

Hello and welcome to the openSUSE forums.

It seems that @rnickert already understands what you are reporting, but please next time do not only tell what you think you see, but post the computer facts. Like e.g. in this case an

ls -l /boot

or similar.

And please, because you are new here and thus may wonder how people create such a CODE section in a post:
There is an important, but not easy to find feature on the forums.
Please use CODE tags around copied/pasted computer text in a post. It is the # button in the tool bar of the post editor. When applicable copy/paste complete, that is including the prompt, the command, the output and the next prompt.
An example is here: Using CODE tags Around your paste.