How many ways to download apps?

Hi,
I’m brand new to Opensuse. A first day noobie actually. My main question right now is how many ways are there to download software?

I’ve used so far zypper through terminal, Yast, then i find out about Packman and Flatpacks. Then the “Get Software” web page.

So what’s like the main way to download, or is it just a combo of all? If i can’t find an app one way i can find it another way?

Any clarification would be great. Thanks!

You have the right idea. There are multiple ways to download software. I almost exclusively use yast to download software because the gui makes it so easy. The important thing is to have repo’s installed that have the software you are interested in. Be careful not to add too many repos. It is unnecessary. I have the basic ones plus packman and google because I use the chrome browser. I rarely add more unless I want to just take a look at a particular piece of software. You could certainly use flatpak. I just have little interest in doing that.

Zypper is a good way to install. I just prefer the gui, except for one thing: updating already installed software. I do that only at the cli with zypper dup. So, you can use the different methods you listed but using yast is the easiest way.

To add to @Prexy’s useful post.

You are a bit mixing terms. E.g. Packman is NOT a way to install something. It is a repository, like other repositories used by the native to openSUSE way to manage software: zypper/YaST.

That brings us to the following.