Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    306

    Default Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    In kde plasma desktop I can select text in an app for copy using right click menu. The information goes into the clipboard. The copied info can be viewed in task bar "clipboard contents". But, the info will not paste to a new selected location. It just does nothing. This feature was working a few days ago. It makes no difference if I try to paste into the same app or to another app, e.g., terminal. Very annoying.
    Likewise, the keyboard commands ctrl-c will copy to clipboard but ctrl-v will not paste from clipboard.

    I am in opensuse leap 15.3 with kde 5.18. If I log out of kde into mate 1.24 desktop the copy/paste feature works fine.

    I have tried reboots and that does not solve problem. Perhaps a recent update to something caused the problem but I need it solved.

    This is also posted on kde plasma forum.

    Any ideas? thanks, tom kosvic


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,031

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    FWIW - Copy/Paste working OK on two 15.3 systems here, both running:

    Operating System: openSUSE Leap 15.3
    KDE Plasma Version: 5.18.6
    KDE Frameworks Version: 5.76.0
    Qt Version: 5.12.7

    (Note though I'm using "Klipper" rather than "Clipboard".)

    Do you see the same behavior with a new test user?
    Regards, Paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,452

    Cool Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Quote Originally Posted by tckosvic View Post
    But, the info will not paste to a new selected location.
    I've noticed that, sometimes KDE Plasma “loses” the Paste context – for whatever reason …
    • Click the Pasteboard Plasmoid and “left click select” whatever it is you want to paste.

    Once the selection in the Pasteboard is certain, a middle button paste or <Ctrl-V> should work …

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    I have reinstalled most of the kde packages a few files at a time. plasma-workplace includes klipper and that was reinstalled. No solution to the problem. This copy/paste issue wasn't there a few days ago.

    I am giving up plasma and staying with mate as trying to do programming w/o copy/paste is a real challenge. In mate I installed some keystroke definitions to the window tiling commands in "control center - keyboard shortcuts" and I can get as much tiling functionality as I had with the kwin tiling addons in plasma. I have copy/paste in mate.

    I'll try plasma periodically to see if any updates fix the copy/paste problem.

    tom kosvic

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,031

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Quote Originally Posted by tckosvic View Post
    I have reinstalled most of the kde packages a few files at a time. plasma-workplace includes klipper and that was reinstalled...
    Probably telling you something you already know; although installed, "klipper" won't be used unless you enable it and disable "Clipboard". ( Under: "Configure System Tray -> Entries -> System Services" ).

    Also, have you tried creating a new test user to see if copy/paste exhibits the same problem?
    Regards, Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    In System tray - entries - system service in plasma, I disabled clipboard. There was no klipper option to start that process. After that, there still was no paste working.

    I did create a new user and copy/paste did work as new user. I am very reluctant to tamper with all that i have in /home to move all old stuff to a new user. I have backups but still nervous.
    What would you recommend as a next step? What could cause my current user to ignore copy/paste in plasma but not in mate?

    Also, as additional info, I tried copy/paste in gnome and that also did not work. Copy/paste only works in mate and works in plasma as an alternate user.

    thanks for your suggestions. Have a next step in plasma?

    tom kosvic

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,031

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Quote Originally Posted by tckosvic View Post
    In System tray - entries - system service in plasma, I disabled clipboard. There was no klipper option to start that process. After that, there still was no paste working.
    Sorry, memory lapse on my part, it's a while since I replaced Clipboard with klipper. ( https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/a857e21f )

    Looking back on my notes it's a rather convoluted process, if you want to try (although don't immediately try this, see my last paragraph) then:

    First disable Clipboard, then logout and log back in to the KDE desktop.
    Start konsole, from there start klipper, ignore the "No protocol specified" message ( https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/beb8637b )
    Klipper should now appear in the system tray, select "Quit". ( https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/d3c0fab4 )
    On the "Should klipper start automatically..." dialogue select "Start". ( https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/5a60c476 )
    Again logout from KDE, all subsequent logins should now use klipper.

    I did create a new user and copy/paste did work as new user. I am very reluctant to tamper with all that i have in /home to move all old stuff to a new user. I have backups but still nervous.
    What would you recommend as a next step? What could cause my current user to ignore copy/paste in plasma but not in mate?

    Also, as additional info, I tried copy/paste in gnome and that also did not work. Copy/paste only works in mate and works in plasma as an alternate user.

    thanks for your suggestions. Have a next step in plasma?
    The purpose of testing with a new user was to establish if it was a system wide, which it seems not, or a user problem, which it seems it is.

    Unfortunately, I've no idea what within your (KDE) user profile is causing this.

    Prior to trying with klipper I would disable Clipboard, logout, login, then re-enable Clipboard to see if that brings it back to life. If still no luck It may be worth reporting as a bug over at KDE ( https://bugs.kde.org/ ) even if it's not a bug per se the KDE developers (usually quite helpful) may be able to suggest the reason for the problem.
    Regards, Paul

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,031

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Quote Originally Posted by tckosvic View Post
    This is also posted on kde plasma forum.
    Just re-reading your initial post and I seem to missed your comment re the KDE forum post; so I would hold off on reporting a bug depending on the response on the (KDE) forum.
    Regards, Paul

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,031

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Afterthought...

    On your normal user, when Clipboard is not working let's see if it's registered with dbus, could you post the output from:

    Code:
    dbus-send --session --dest=org.freedesktop.DBus --type=method_call --print-reply \
    /org/freedesktop/DBus org.freedesktop.DBus.ListNames | grep -v '":'
    Regards, Paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Kde Plasma5 copy/paste not working

    Utterly bizarre, after two days on mate, I went back to plasma and logged in as original user (not new test user) and amazingly copy/paste was working. It works with right click - copy/paste and also with ctrl-c/ctrl-v. I was preparing an investigatory effort to determine what was wrong but now I will abandon it. I hate intermittent problems as much on the computer as with your car.
    Below is the output from the command you sent.

    Code:
    (base) tom@mydesktop:~> dbus-send --session --dest=org.freedesktop.DBus --type=method_call --print-reply /org/freedesktop/DB
    us org.freedesktop.DBus.ListNames | grep -v '":'
    method return time=1634244941.941317 sender=org.freedesktop.DBus -> destination=:1.152 serial=3 reply_serial=2
       array [
          string "org.freedesktop.DBus"
          string "org.freedesktop.Notifications"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_maildispatcher_agent"
          string "org.kde.klipper"
          string "org.pulseaudio.Server"
          string "org.kde.konsole-19188"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_unifiedmailbox_agent"
          string "org.kde.GtkConfig"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.UDisks2VolumeMonitor"
          string "local.org_kde_powerdevil"
          string "org.kde.kglobalaccel"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.AfcVolumeMonitor"
          string "org.kde.keyboard"
          string "com.hplip.StatusService"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_akonotes_resource_0"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.MTPVolumeMonitor"
          string "org.kde.Solid.PowerManagement.PolicyAgent"
          string "org.freedesktop.IBus"
          string "org.freedesktop.PowerManagement"
          string "org.freedesktop.portal.Desktop"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_contacts_resource_0"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.Daemon"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_unifiedmailbox_agent"
          string "org.gnome.Identity"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_archivemail_agent"
          string "ca.desrt.dconf"
          string "org.freedesktop.portal.Documents"
          string "org.kde.plasmashell"
          string "org.kde.kdeconnect.daemon"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.GoaVolumeMonitor"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Janitor"
          string "com.canonical.Unity"
          string "org.kde.StatusNotifierHost-17309"
          string "org.kde.kuiserver"
          string "org.freedesktop.impl.portal.PermissionStore"
          string "org.freedesktop.Tracker1.Miner.Files"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_birthdays_resource"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_birthdays_resource"
          string "org.kde.kappmenu"
          string "org.freedesktop.systemd1"
          string "org.kde.kdeconnect"
          string "org.kde.Wacom"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_maildir_resource_1"
          string "org.freedesktop.impl.portal.desktop.gtk"
          string "org.kde.Startup"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_maildir_resource_1"
          string "org.a11y.Bus"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_ical_resource_0"
          string "org.gnome.keyring"
          string "org.kde.kscreen.osdService"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_mailfilter_agent"
          string "org.freedesktop.PowerManagement.Inhibit"
          string "org.gtk.vfs.GPhoto2VolumeMonitor"
          string "org.freedesktop.impl.portal.desktop.kde"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_akonotes_resource_0"
          string "org.freedesktop.ScreenSaver"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.NewMailNotifierAgent"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_notes_agent"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_sendlater_agent"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_ical_resource_0"
          string "org.kde.kded5"
          string "org.kde.ActivityManager"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_indexing_agent"
          string "org.kde.ksmserver"
          string "org.kde.kcookiejar5"
          string "org.kde.Shutdown"
          string "org.kde.kaccess"
          string "org.kde.korgac"
          string "org.kde.KScreen"
          string "org.kde.klauncher5"
          string "org.kde.Solid.PowerManagement"
          string "org.kde.screensaver"
          string "org.kde.KWin"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.NotesAgent"
          string "org.bluez.obex"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_newmailnotifier_agent"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Resource.akonadi_contacts_resource_0"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Control"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_followupreminder_agent"
          string "org.PulseAudio1"
          string "org.kde.polkit-kde-authentication-agent-1"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.MailDispatcherAgent"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Agent.akonadi_migration_agent"
          string "org.gnome.OnlineAccounts"
          string "org.freedesktop.portal.IBus"
          string "org.freedesktop.Akonadi.Control.lock"
          string "org.kde.StatusNotifierWatcher"
          string "org.kde.JobViewServer"
          string "org.freedesktop.secrets"
          string "org.freedesktop.IBus.Panel.Extension.Gtk3"
       ]
    (base) tom@mydesktop:~> 
    
    I will delete my test user now to see if, for whatever reason, the original user might revert back to copy/paste not working.

    If you spot anything out of sorts in the command output, let me know. Thanks for thinking about my problem.

    tom kosvic

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •