Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: UID 65534 & user nobody

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    821

    Default UID 65534 & user nobody

    On this old HP Compaq CMT.
    Every day when I start it I get references to '/run/user/65534' (which doesn't exist, and 'starting a session c1 for user nobody'
    I can't seem to find out what I need to do to make it stop.

    Interesting enough, IF I immediately do a restart, both UID 65534 & user nobody disappear from the boot process, and do not show up doing
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b _UID=65534
    This leads me to believe something is starting them, but not stopping them before the boot process completes. My opinion anyway!

    It is only on this machine. My laptop and the HP AIO don't have UID 65534 & nobody in the boot process.

    The
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b _UID=65534
    when 65534 & nobody show in hte boot process has a line telling me 'klipper.desktop' is executable and to remove that attribute (Which I HAVE DONE NOW).

    I can't find a way to filter the log to only display 65534 & nobody to give more precise information, and I don't have output for the last
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b _UID=65534
    .(My BAD)
    They are there, but the references to them are all over the place(very confusing.)
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,059
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Hi
    Might be a cron job running at start, check in the /etc/cron* directories...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    821

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Might be a cron job running at start, check in the /etc/cron* directories...
    Thanks for your response.

    I have looked at cron before and it still has nothing in cron.d , cron.monthly, cron.weekly, cron.hourly,

    There are some things related to chrome & Brave browser in cron.daily all dated recently,
    but this ‘problem has been there every daily start up since earlier this year, or before.

    If I shutdown or reboot it takes 2-3 minutes or more to complete the process.

    If I reboot after initial start , do what need to do, the shutdown process is less than 20 seconds.

    Is it possible a cron or cron like job is running at start, and not letting loose things?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,059
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Thanks for your response.

    I have looked at cron before and it still has nothing in cron.d , cron.monthly, cron.weekly, cron.hourly,

    There are some things related to chrome & Brave browser in cron.daily all dated recently,
    but this ‘problem has been there every daily start up since earlier this year, or before.

    If I shutdown or reboot it takes 2-3 minutes or more to complete the process.

    If I reboot after initial start , do what need to do, the shutdown process is less than 20 seconds.

    Is it possible a cron or cron like job is running at start, and not letting loose things?
    Hi
    It will be those cron jobs, I remove them all... I can update chrome when I need to, plus remove the repos.... I would move them temporarily to confirm that is the culprit.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    821

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    It will be those cron jobs, I remove them all... I can update chrome when I need to, plus remove the repos.... I would move them temporarily to confirm that is the culprit.
    Thanks, I will give that a try.
    But why remove the repos? Does that mena manual updates to the chrome and brave browsers?


    An Aside>> Since my initial start this evening, I have rebooted twice and shut down and restarted twice. UID 65534 & nobody only show up in my initial evening start up.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,059
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    Thanks, I will give that a try.
    But why remove the repos? Does that mena manual updates to the chrome and brave browsers?


    An Aside>> Since my initial start this evening, I have rebooted twice and shut down and restarted twice. UID 65534 & nobody only show up in my initial evening start up.
    Hi
    A daily time for cron more than likely or boot and only once if it's the same day.... the cron jobs update in the background, not something I like it doing. Likewise I disable else on a refresh it's talking to google as well.
    Last edited by malcolmlewis; 12-Sep-2021 at 16:14.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    821

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    A daily time for cron more than likely or boot and only once if it's the same day.... the cron jobs update in the background, not something I like it doing. Likewise I disable else on a refresh it's talking to google as well.
    But why remove the repos?
    If I leave the repos, will they re-create the cron daily jobs?
    Regardless, I won't know how removing the cron jobs

    Please, remember I am still mostly a complete dummy with Linux.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,059
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    But why remove the repos?
    If I leave the repos, will they re-create the cron daily jobs?

    Please, remember I am still mostly a complete dummy with linux.
    Hi
    AFAIK yes, so don't disable the repos, just move the cron jobs and see if that helps.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    821

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    AFAIK yes, so don't disable the repos, just move the cron jobs and see if that helps.
    OK, thanks.
    I won't know if just removing the cron jobs will help until tomorrow evening.
    If not, I will disable the repos and see it that helps.
    And if it does, i'll have to learn how to do manual updates.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,059
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: UID 65534 & user nobody

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    OK, thanks.
    I won't know if just removing the cron jobs will help until tomorrow evening.
    If not, I will disable the repos and see it that helps.
    And if it does, i'll have to learn how to do manual updates.
    Hi
    Just create a local plain rpm repo.....? Once repos are added, the gpg keys should be on your system...

    I just did this as I have a local repo for an assortment of files I download and also build locally.

    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/bash
    
    # Check with rpm -q --qf "%{version}-%{release} %{summary}\n" gpg-pubkey-d38b4796-570c8cd3 gpg-pubkey-7fac5991-4615767f
    # d38b4796-570c8cd3 Google Inc. (Linux Packages Signing Authority) <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com> public key
    # 7fac5991-4615767f Google, Inc. Linux Package Signing Key <linux-packages-keymaster@google.com> public key
    
    
    wget -O /data/repositories/local_rpms/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm
    wget -O /data/repositories/local_rpms/google-earth-pro-stable-current.x86_64.rpm https://dl.google.com/dl/earth/client/current/google-earth-pro-stable-current.x86_64.rpm
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •