Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 99

Thread: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Hi Malcolm,
    At last I have the system back up again with beautiful high resolution display. I think I am moving forward but there are a couple of matters from above I wish to re-visit.

    I was not sure about your reference to mounting on a raw drive? What should I have done and how may I correct it. Also the size of the 4096 LBA. Now I have the system I can try running the rescue system as you suggest to see what is there but I never got past the login with the rescue system.

    The other outstanding issue was suppressing the USB device which appears in my system tray.

    I may need to look at this in the context of boot order and being sure I don't mess things up but as a matter of course I have booted from a selection window rather than having the boot order automatic as I had some difficulty changing it in the BIOS but by using F12 I can select my boot choice.

    Time for a break.
    Regards and many thanks once more.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    I take mrmazda's suggestion as a good way of avoiding having the USB stick so have created a couple of partitions ready to receive /boot and /boot/efi when I re-install. Cannot do this on operating system and anyhow I need to re-install to re-format NVMe. One thing that has me a bit stuck is how to set the block sizes when I re-partition the NVMe. When I set up this configuration the formatting defaulted to 512B. How do I set it to 4K when formatting with expert partitioner? This is what I now have working:-

    Code:
    alastair@localhost:~> sudo lsblk -f
    [sudo] password for root: 
    NAME    FSTYPE FSVER LABEL UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT
    sda                                                                            
    ├─sda1  xfs                fdc07588-f325-478d-b58c-3d6b1ab19232    2.7T     0% /Mastermedia
    ├─sda2  vfat   FAT32       AB84-C38B                                           
    └─sda3  btrfs              38a642db-dcd9-47a7-ad6c-766875df2a5c                
    sdb                                                                            
    ├─sdb1  vfat   FAT16       C7F7-32D5                             494.9M     1% /boot/efi
    └─sdb2  ext2   1.0         95ac9005-0b30-41a5-8f02-daf48c59efe2  107.3G     0% /boot
    sr0                                                                            
    sr1                                                                            
    nvme0n1 btrfs              f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a    1.8T     0% /
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> sudo parted -l
    Model: IBM ServeRAID M5014 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sda: 2997GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: gpt
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name  Flags
     1      1049kB  2990GB  2990GB  xfs
     2      2990GB  2990GB  537MB   fat32              boot, esp
     3      2990GB  2991GB  1074MB  btrfs
    
    
    Model: Kingston DT microDuo 3C (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdb: 124GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: msdos
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End    Size   Type     File system  Flags
     1      1049kB  525MB  524MB  primary  fat16        lba, type=0c
     2      525MB   124GB  123GB  primary  ext2         type=83
    
    
    Model: NVMe Device (nvme)
    Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 2000GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: loop
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start  End     Size    File system  Flags
     1      0.00B  2000GB  2000GB  btrfs
    
    
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> cat /etc/fstab
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /             btrfs  defaults             0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /var          btrfs  subvol=/@/var        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /usr/local    btrfs  subvol=/@/usr/local  0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /tmp          btrfs  subvol=/@/tmp        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /srv          btrfs  subvol=/@/srv        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /root         btrfs  subvol=/@/root       0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /opt          btrfs  subvol=/@/opt        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /home         btrfs  subvol=/@/home       0  0
    UUID=95ac9005-0b30-41a5-8f02-daf48c59efe2  /boot         ext2   defaults             0  2
    UUID=C7F7-32D5                             /boot/efi     vfat   utf8                 0  2
    UUID=fdc07588-f325-478d-b58c-3d6b1ab19232  /Mastermedia  xfs    defaults             0  0
    alastair@localhost:~>
    There is one other thing that I need to ask. Although I have the hard drive partition mounted at /Mastermedia, it does not show up in Dolphin. I have created a directory /home/alastair/multimedia. I assume I must just now create a link between /Mastermedia and /home/alastair/multimedia but should it be a hard link or symlink?

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    31,738
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie2 View Post
    I take mrmazda's suggestion as a good way of avoiding having the USB stick so have created a couple of partitions ready to receive /boot and /boot/efi when I re-install. Cannot do this on operating system and anyhow I need to re-install to re-format NVMe. One thing that has me a bit stuck is how to set the block sizes when I re-partition the NVMe. When I set up this configuration the formatting defaulted to 512B. How do I set it to 4K when formatting with expert partitioner? This is what I now have working:-

    Code:
    alastair@localhost:~> sudo lsblk -f
    [sudo] password for root: 
    NAME    FSTYPE FSVER LABEL UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT
    sda                                                                            
    ├─sda1  xfs                fdc07588-f325-478d-b58c-3d6b1ab19232    2.7T     0% /Mastermedia
    ├─sda2  vfat   FAT32       AB84-C38B                                           
    └─sda3  btrfs              38a642db-dcd9-47a7-ad6c-766875df2a5c                
    sdb                                                                            
    ├─sdb1  vfat   FAT16       C7F7-32D5                             494.9M     1% /boot/efi
    └─sdb2  ext2   1.0         95ac9005-0b30-41a5-8f02-daf48c59efe2  107.3G     0% /boot
    sr0                                                                            
    sr1                                                                            
    nvme0n1 btrfs              f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a    1.8T     0% /
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> sudo parted -l
    Model: IBM ServeRAID M5014 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sda: 2997GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: gpt
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name  Flags
     1      1049kB  2990GB  2990GB  xfs
     2      2990GB  2990GB  537MB   fat32              boot, esp
     3      2990GB  2991GB  1074MB  btrfs
    
    
    Model: Kingston DT microDuo 3C (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdb: 124GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: msdos
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start   End    Size   Type     File system  Flags
     1      1049kB  525MB  524MB  primary  fat16        lba, type=0c
     2      525MB   124GB  123GB  primary  ext2         type=83
    
    
    Model: NVMe Device (nvme)
    Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 2000GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: loop
    Disk Flags: 
    
    Number  Start  End     Size    File system  Flags
     1      0.00B  2000GB  2000GB  btrfs
    
    
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> 
    alastair@localhost:~> cat /etc/fstab
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /             btrfs  defaults             0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /var          btrfs  subvol=/@/var        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /usr/local    btrfs  subvol=/@/usr/local  0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /tmp          btrfs  subvol=/@/tmp        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /srv          btrfs  subvol=/@/srv        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /root         btrfs  subvol=/@/root       0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /opt          btrfs  subvol=/@/opt        0  0
    UUID=f34d4d5a-316d-4a6e-9ac6-45c039a1503a  /home         btrfs  subvol=/@/home       0  0
    UUID=95ac9005-0b30-41a5-8f02-daf48c59efe2  /boot         ext2   defaults             0  2
    UUID=C7F7-32D5                             /boot/efi     vfat   utf8                 0  2
    UUID=fdc07588-f325-478d-b58c-3d6b1ab19232  /Mastermedia  xfs    defaults             0  0
    alastair@localhost:~>
    There is one other thing that I need to ask. Although I have the hard drive partition mounted at /Mastermedia, it does not show up in Dolphin. I have created a directory /home/alastair/multimedia. I assume I must just now create a link between /Mastermedia and /home/alastair/multimedia but should it be a hard link or symlink?
    Hi
    Configuration of 4K vs 512 needs to be done prior to install, boot to rescue mode (username root, press enter for password as there is none);

    Code:
    Check/set to 4096
    
    cat /sys/class/block/nvme0n1/queue/physical_block_size 
    512
    
    nvme -id-ns -H /dev/nvme0n1 | grep LBA
    
      [3:0] : 0x1    Current LBA Format Selected
      [0:0] : 0    Metadata as Part of Extended Data LBA Not Supported
    LBA Format  0 : Metadata Size: 0   bytes - Data Size: 512 bytes - Relative Performance: 0x2 Good 
    LBA Format  1 : Metadata Size: 0   bytes - Data Size: 4096 bytes - Relative Performance: 0x1 Better (in use)
    
    nvme format --lbaf=1 /dev/nvme0n1
    
    You are about to format nvme0n1, namespace 0x1.
    Namespace nvme0n1 has parent controller(s):nvme0
    
    WARNING: Format may irrevocably delete this device's data.
    You have 10 seconds to press Ctrl-C to cancel this operation.
    
    Use the force [--force|-f] option to suppress this warning.
    Sending format operation ... 
    Success formatting namespace:1
    
    cat /sys/class/block/nvme0n1/queue/physical_block_size 
    
    4096
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    3,150
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie2 View Post
    Although I have the hard drive partition mounted at /Mastermedia, it does not show up in Dolphin. I have created a directory /home/alastair/multimedia. I assume I must just now create a link between /Mastermedia and /home/alastair/multimedia but should it be a hard link or symlink?
    Hardlinks must be on the same filesystem.

    Code:
    rmdir /home/alastair/multimedia
    ln -s /Multimedia /home/alastair/multimedia
    should fix you up, assuming permissions on /Mastermedia are appropriately set.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.2, TW, 15.3 & 13.1 on Haswell
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.2 on i965P w/ Radeon
    Tertiary: Mageia, Fedora, Debian, more on Kaby Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia &&&&&

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Configuration of 4K vs 512 needs to be done prior to install, boot to rescue mode (username root, press enter for password as there is none);

    Code:
    Check/set to 4096
    
    cat /sys/class/block/nvme0n1/queue/physical_block_size 
    512
    
    nvme -id-ns -H /dev/nvme0n1 | grep LBA
    
      [3:0] : 0x1    Current LBA Format Selected
      [0:0] : 0    Metadata as Part of Extended Data LBA Not Supported
    LBA Format  0 : Metadata Size: 0   bytes - Data Size: 512 bytes - Relative Performance: 0x2 Good 
    LBA Format  1 : Metadata Size: 0   bytes - Data Size: 4096 bytes - Relative Performance: 0x1 Better (in use)
    
    nvme format --lbaf=1 /dev/nvme0n1
    
    You are about to format nvme0n1, namespace 0x1.
    Namespace nvme0n1 has parent controller(s):nvme0
    
    WARNING: Format may irrevocably delete this device's data.
    You have 10 seconds to press Ctrl-C to cancel this operation.
    
    Use the force [--force|-f] option to suppress this warning.
    Sending format operation ... 
    Success formatting namespace:1
    
    cat /sys/class/block/nvme0n1/queue/physical_block_size 
    
    4096
    OK done that and all good. How do I now proceed to new installation or what? Sorry, never done this before.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    I deduced that as I had changed the block size all the installed setup would be broken and the system would need to be rebuilt and re-booted but...

    I ran into the same problem I had previously when moving my /boot/efi partition. I think it is because the original partition cannot be deleted even though my revised partition configuration requires it. (I tried to delete the USB partitions) I suspect I have omitted an important force command from somewhere.

    I really hope I do not have to do yet another full network installation. I am sure everything is in place and correct except the /boot/efi. I have therefore booted to Rescue System and am paused at the prompt waiting for help with what to do to sort this out.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    31,738
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie2 View Post
    I deduced that as I had changed the block size all the installed setup would be broken and the system would need to be rebuilt and re-booted but...

    I ran into the same problem I had previously when moving my /boot/efi partition. I think it is because the original partition cannot be deleted even though my revised partition configuration requires it. (I tried to delete the USB partitions) I suspect I have omitted an important force command from somewhere.

    I really hope I do not have to do yet another full network installation. I am sure everything is in place and correct except the /boot/efi. I have therefore booted to Rescue System and am paused at the prompt waiting for help with what to do to sort this out.
    Hi
    It's not clear where your at? So your going to re-install? Yes there is a way to clear out all the partitions/data and restart if that's what your wanting?

    I would leave any disks with data excluded and just look at the proposed boot device and NVMe.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Hi Malcolm, AFAIK everything is as it should be. I have / and system subs on NVMe, I have three partitions on hard drive, the big XFS for data, a 500K for /boot/efi and 1M+ for /boot, the + being the balance between the other two.
    This new installation went according to plan until the final error which I have now witnessed twice before. On previous occasions new installations worked eventually but I am trying to avoid another 3 hour installation session. I am sure using the rescue cli and whith instruction, I will be able to interrogate the system and hopefully fix.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    31,738
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie2 View Post
    Hi Malcolm, AFAIK everything is as it should be. I have / and system subs on NVMe, I have three partitions on hard drive, the big XFS for data, a 500K for /boot/efi and 1M+ for /boot, the + being the balance between the other two.
    This new installation went according to plan until the final error which I have now witnessed twice before. On previous occasions new installations worked eventually but I am trying to avoid another 3 hour installation session. I am sure using the rescue cli and whith instruction, I will be able to interrogate the system and hopefully fix.
    Hi
    So what does the output of the command `lsblk` show?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2,098
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Installation and Partition Configuration with both Hard Drives and NVME SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    So what does the output of the command `lsblk` show?
    OK, here it is, entered by hand!
    Code:
    loop0  7:0  0  91.2M 1 loop
    loop1  7:1  0  13.6M 1 loop
    loop2  7:2  0  54.5M 1 loop  /mounts/mp_0000
    loop3  7:3  0  45.9M 1 loop  /mounts/mp_0001
    loop4  7:4  0    4.1M 1 loop /mounts/mp_0002
    loop5  7:5  0  91.2M 1 loop /parts/mp_0000
    sda     8:0  0    2.7T  0 disk
    sda1   8:1  0    2.7T  0 part
    sda2   8:2  0   512M 0 part
    sda3   8:3  0       1G 0 part
    sdb     8:16 1   115.5G 0 part
    sr0     11:0  1   146M 0 rom
    sr1     11:1  1       1.8T 0 rom
    nvme0n1  259:0  0  1.8T  0 disk
    ]

    Subject to possible typos and looks like I have mistaken my M's for K's.

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •