Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Update Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    590

    Default Update Error

    Unable to update. When trying I got this message

    Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: error: package cpp-7-lp152.4.114.x86_64 is not installed
    What can I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,898

    Default Re: Update Error

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    What can I do?
    Well, you could try to tell what you do. As your very tiny description is now it is not much more then the infamous "it does not work".
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    590

    Default Re: Update Error

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Well, you could try to tell what you do. As your very tiny description is now it is not much more then the infamous "it does not work".
    When there are updates to be made, a message usually appears telling us to update the system. So, I click in the Taskbar on a small button, which has an up arrow and next to Clock in the right corner of the Taskbar. With this, I make an attempt to update the system, but the error message is showing:
    Subprocess failed. Error: RPM failed: error: package cpp-7-lp152.4.114.x86_64 is not installed

    I don't know how to solve this, so I ask: What can I do to solve the problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,898

    Default Re: Update Error

    That is the update applet that uses PackageKit.

    Please try as root:
    Code:
    zypper up
    and post here what happens.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    590

    Default Re: Update Error

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    That is the update applet that uses PackageKit.

    Please try as root:
    Code:
    zypper up
    and post here what happens.
    After executing the command you suggested, that's the result:
    Code:
    Building the repository cache 'openSUSE:Leap:15.2:Update' ................................[completed] 
    Downloading metadata from repository 'Main Update Repository' ...................................[completed] 
    Building the 'Main Update Repository' repository cache ...................................[completed] 
    Loading data from repository... 
    Reading installed packages...  
    The following 2 packages will be updated:   nodejs15 npm15  
    2 packages to update. 
    Total download size: 0B. Already cached: 11.5 MiB. No additional space will be used or freed. after the operation. 
    Continue? [y/n/v/...? 
    displays all options] (s): s Cached nodejs15-15.14.0-lp152.23.1.x86_64.rpm (1/2), 9.0 MiB (37.4 MiB uncompressed) Cached npm15-15.14.0-lp152.23.1.x86_64.rpm (2/2), 2.5 MiB (11.7 MiB uncompressed)  Checking for file conflict: (4 skipped) ............................................ ...[concluded] 
    Warning: 4 of packages had to be excluded from file conflicts check because they have not yet been downloaded.      Note: File conflict checking requires pre-downloading of packages not     installed to access your file lists. See option '--download-in-advance / --dry-run     --download-only' in the zypper manpage for details.  
    (1/2) Installing: nodejs15-15.14.0-lp152.23.1.x86_64 ................................ ........[concluded] 
    (2/2) Installing: npm15-15.14.0-lp152.23.1.x86_64 ................................... ...........[concluded]
    Positivo:/home/sergio/dicas/dicasLinux/em_Ingles # LANG=EN zypper up
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Nothing to do.
    Afiter that the ERROR continues

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,898

    Default Re: Update Error

    Well, as zypper up shows no errors anymore and says nothing to do, you are up-to-date. What to worry?
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    590

    Default Re: Update Error

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Well, as zypper up shows no errors anymore and says nothing to do, you are up-to-date. What to worry?
    I've always updated through this icon which is next to the clock and never had an error. So this was never the correct way to keep the system up to date?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,898

    Default Re: Update Error

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    I've always updated through this icon which is next to the clock and never had an error. So this was never the correct way to keep the system up to date?
    Well, it should work I guess. But over time there were problems with PackageKit which were always solved by using the native openSUSE tools (zypper or YaST > Software). Like this one now.
    I certainly think that PackageKit improved a lot, but as you see there can be glitches.

    Others may have other meanings. Personally I have PackageKit not installed (nor the applet). But that is, as said, personaly. Different reasons. IMHO the applet should not be there because I do not think my users should be bothered by this getting alerted for things that is typical a system thing, to be managed by the system manager (yes, the one with the root password). It even seems that a normal user who has that applet can not only be alerted, but also is allowed to update (without knowing the root password). This is, again IM very strong O a breach of security. And it offers potential problems. Think about kernel updates that require a boot ASAP. A bad surprise for the innocent user that started the update, but has running a lot of stuff at that moment. And other users may not like a shutdown at that moment in time either. And it is not only the kernel. I have experienced that an update of Firefox, crippled running Firefox processes. FF had to be stopped complete for the user and then could be started again.

    So my policy is a weekly maintenance window at a fixed time. All my users know. They leave the systems. I check for updates and install them (may even postpone some). Weekly backup is made.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    590

    Default Re: Update Error

    Yes, a weekly update policy is the best way to avoid more problems and be more secure. Thank you very much for the class.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •