Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: SDA2 Full - Is it?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,899

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim_cliff11 View Post
    Might just backup and reinstall tbh.
    As far as I know that is a basic panic action used on MS Windows. One then still does not know what and why and will probably run into the same problem in due time.
    Last edited by hcvv; 13-Jun-2021 at 11:34.
    Henk van Velden

  2. #12

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    True, I agree with your comment. But unfortunately I don’t know what else to do.

    I can’t locate any files on /dev/sda2 which are consuming disk space. According to the checks I’ve done I shouldn’t be using more than 20gb. So where has the rest of it gone?

    My inexperience here let’s me down. I’m a mechanical engineer and welder with basic Linux experience.

    My only option is to reinstall and reconfigure, because tomorrow morning when my staff come in I need to have the server running in order for the business to function smoothly.

    #underpressure

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,899

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim_cliff11 View Post
    #underpressure
    I understand. Good luck.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,890

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim_cliff11 View Post
    My inexperience here let’s me down. I’m a mechanical engineer and welder with basic Linux experience.
    Just in case that happens again:

    BTRFS and free space - emergency response


    "I run BTRFS on my root filesystem (on Linux), mostly for the quick snapshot and restore functionality. Yesterday I ran into a common problem: my drive was suddenly full."

    https://ohthehugemanatee.org/blog/20...ency-response/
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  5. #15

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Thanks, I’ll have a read

  6. #16

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Hi Folks,

    I managed to free up 200mb last night which allowed me to get LAMP, samba share and webmin up and running for today. This extra space also allowed me to run a btrfs balance command:

    Code:
    CliffServ:/ # btrfs balance start -dusage=88 /
    Done, had to relocate 1 out of 42 chunks
    However, this has only freed up a couple of extra MB. So, as a short term fix, I've added a 16gb USB stick to the btrfs filesystem.

    Code:
    CliffServ:/ # btrfs fi usage /Overall:
        Device size:                  54.46GiB
        Device allocated:             40.72GiB
        Device unallocated:           13.74GiB
        Device missing:                  0.00B
        Used:                         38.39GiB
        Free (estimated):             14.73GiB      (min: 7.86GiB)
        Data ratio:                       1.00
        Metadata ratio:                   2.00
        Global reserve:               60.59MiB      (used: 0.00B)
    
    
    Data,single: Size:38.65GiB, Used:37.66GiB
       /dev/sda2      37.65GiB
       /dev/sdd1       1.00GiB
    
    
    Metadata,DUP: Size:1.00GiB, Used:371.72MiB
       /dev/sda2       2.00GiB
    
    
    System,DUP: Size:32.00MiB, Used:16.00KiB
       /dev/sda2      64.00MiB
    
    
    Unallocated:
       /dev/sda2     293.00MiB
       /dev/sdd1      13.45GiB
    Code:
    CliffServ:/ # btrfs fi df /Data, single: total=38.65GiB, used=37.66GiB
    System, DUP: total=32.00MiB, used=16.00KiB
    Metadata, DUP: total=1.00GiB, used=371.73MiB
    GlobalReserve, single: total=60.61MiB, used=0.00B
    Moving forward, I would like to try and resolve this issue. But I'm confused as to what is filling sda2.

    1. I have little or no /tmp or /var/tmp files
    2. Snapshots disabled
    3. Balance has freed negligible space
    4. According to 'du -shx /' I've only used 5.7gb on sda2 (root partition)
    5. I can't find any directories / files on sda2 using major space

    Running the balance should have converted unused allocation into more storage for data, but this has not happened.

    Any other thoughts?

    Thanks in advance

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,899

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    It is a bit beside your present problem, but as soon as you have a rather stable situation, I would suggest you upgrade to 51.2 asap and then prepare the up grade to 15.3 within some months.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    556

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Yes, why sda2 is full is weird.

    Can you run as root:

    Code:
    du -hs /
    du -hs /srv
    du -hs /tmp
    du -hs /opt
    du -hs /root
    du -hs /boot/grub2/x86_64-efi
    du -hs /usr/local
    du -hs /var
    du -hs /boot/grub2/i386-pc
    Searching for "du df mismatch" I found:
    • Run fsck
    • Is a btrfs subvolume not mounted?
    • Boot from USB, mount /sda2 and then do "du"
    • Check "df -i"

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    556

    Default Re: SDA2 Full - Is it?

    Regarding "Is a btrfs subvolume not mounted?", please post the output of "sudo btrfs subvolume list -p /"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •