Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,163

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    If they rely on Avahi for discovery, then you need to open the port for 'mdns' (UDP port 5353).
    Great, Deano! That fixed the samba share access on the second firetv stick.

    Still no success with the first stick, that uses nfs. Is there another port for nfs?

    thanks a lot!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,087
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    I don't use Kodi...what is not working for you with respect to viewing NFS shares?

    Just in case the following is helpful to you...
    https://kodi.wiki/view/NFS#NFS_sharing_from_Linux

    A Kodi forum thread I found while searching...
    https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=324698
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,087
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    BTW, are you using NFSv3 or NFSv4?

    If the former, then the following is required...

    Code:
    # Firewall rules for NFSv3
    firewall-cmd --permanent --add-service nfs3
    firewall-cmd --permanent --add-service mountd
    firewall-cmd --permanent --add-service rpc-bind
    firewall-cmd --reload
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 20-Jun-2021 at 16:03.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,163

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    Hi Deano,

    Sorry (again) for the late reply, I'm still having eye trouble, so my monitor-staring time is severely restricted, but my eyes are slowly getting better, it's a four month treatment.

    Yast nfs-server has nfs v4 enabled, and the standard message that firewalld services for nfs-server are not available, and have to be configured manually.

    nfs3 was enabled in firewall, but not mountd. After enabling it, it is working. YAY!

    You got the nail in the head again, thank you very much!

    Best regards,

    Bruno

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,163

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    P.S.: just tested with nfs3 service disabled and it also works.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,087
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Samba, firewall and me. Again...

    Quote Originally Posted by brunomcl View Post
    Hi Deano,

    Sorry (again) for the late reply, I'm still having eye trouble, so my monitor-staring time is severely restricted, but my eyes are slowly getting better, it's a four month treatment.

    Yast nfs-server has nfs v4 enabled, and the standard message that firewalld services for nfs-server are not available, and have to be configured manually.

    nfs3 was enabled in firewall, but not mountd. After enabling it, it is working. YAY!

    You got the nail in the head again, thank you very much!

    Best regards,

    Bruno
    Glad to have been of assistance.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •