Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

  1. #21

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    So if I understand correctly, packages should be installed from this repo?
    https://download.opensuse.org/reposi...SE_Tumbleweed/

    Is there any list of packages that need to be upgraded? Or should I just wait for TW OSS repo to update those?

  3. #23

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by nenadandric View Post
    So if I understand correctly, packages should be installed from this repo?
    https://download.opensuse.org/reposi...SE_Tumbleweed/

    Is there any list of packages that need to be upgraded? Or should I just wait for TW OSS repo to update those?
    Think packages already in TW OSS repo.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    I didn't get any so far. So I switched to pipewire, and now it works. The only problem is, now I have 6 HDMI outputs, and only 2 are needed/actualy exist (DP monitor and HDMI TV), device 8 and 9.
    Here is output from aplay -l
    Code:
    
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices **** 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog] 
      Subdevices: 0/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 
    card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital] 
      Subdevices: 1/1 
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    
    Is there any option to remove/hide these unused from volume control.
    https://cloud.kdepro.com/s/nypzAiDBomEJwci

  5. #25

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    S...t, yesterday libasound2 package was updated and no sound today as well. How to fix?!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,190

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by akontsevich View Post
    Seems something about pipewire issue many people facing recently:
    https://www.google.com/search?client...rkink+pipewire

    Seems openSUSE tries to migrate to pipewire sound server. I tried to install pipewire-alsa and pipewire-pulseaudio packages and added my user to audio and video groups like mentioned here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=262066 - this completely removed pulse audio sound server for me. After this I was able to fine and enable GF108 High Definition Audio Controller in KDE system settings (was not visible in pulseaudio) after this it become visible in pulseaudio. However still no sound. However solution seems close.
    I did this then i had 12 outputs! I went thru them one by one until i found 2 that worked not elegant but now i got sound on a main and a backup output.
    So I'm guessing this'll be life under pipewire when/if it becomes default?
    I'm just a curious cat
    My 64 bit: CPU AMD RYZEN 9 3900X 12 Core GPU MSI Radeon RX5600 XT
    MOTHERBOARD GIGABYTE B550 AORUS PRO AC
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    Looks like that will be the case But as long as it works, I won't complain. And pipewire will probably become default option in near future. So let it be

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
    Posts
    329

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    Today I faced this issue -- don't know why it didn't manifested before. Not exactly sure this is the same issue though.

    So this afternoon sound didn't come out from the sound bar (USB). Pairing a bluetooth device, sound works. That could explain why I didn't notice before, I mostly use bluetooth. Turned off computer as I had errands to do.

    Turned on computer decided to investigate what's changed in my system the past 7 days. Before that I open firefox for some streaming -- seems I have a partitioned memory, sound shouldn't work. Midway through investigation I noticed sound was working.

    When I noticed that sound wasn't working, I saw pipewire and pipewire-media-session were active. Now they're not running, pipewire-media-session is (enabled, loaded, dead) but there's nothing in journal in this boot. So maybe masking pipewire might be a workaround.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,884

    Default Re: HDM sound accidentaly disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    BTW:
    • upgrading Tumbleweed from snapshot 200201114 to 20210605 killed the HDMI sound of a ASUS VS278H.
    • a Samsung U28R55 (connected to the HDMI port of the PC, no built in speakers) has audio output. With no head phones available I plugged the speakers in (working when connected to the main board of the PC), but no sound at the monitor's audio outlet since unpacking last year.
    The Samsung U28R55 now has sound. Speakers attached to the monitor's audio outlet are working fine.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •