Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: How Do I Move Widgets?

  1. #1

    Default How Do I Move Widgets?

    I am using openSUSE 15.3, with the KDE environment.

    I do not like the current left-to-right sequence of widgets in the bottom panel and would like to rearrange some of them. I do not seem to be able to drag and drop them...

    Right-click the panel -> Edit panel -> hover with the mouse over the widget that I want to move and drag it to its new place -> release the mouse button. The widget goes right back to its original place!

    What's the trick?? How do I unlock the panel widgets??

    I found some postings dated 2019 where somebody was saying that KDE Plasma was buggy. But surely this has been fixed by now, right?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,067

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tb75252 View Post
    ... What's the trick?? How do I unlock the panel widgets? ...
    The panel widgets are unlocked, or you wouldn't be able to access the "Edit Panel". (There is no longer the need to explicitly lock/unlock widgets.)

    Appears to work OK here on a Leap 15.2 (not yet upgraded to 15.3) and TW system.

    What widget are you unable to move?


    Edit: Afterthought... Have you a multi-screen setup?
    Regards, Paul

  3. #3

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    The panel widgets are unlocked, or you wouldn't be able to access the "Edit Panel". (There is no longer the need to explicitly lock/unlock widgets.)

    Appears to work OK here on a Leap 15.2 (not yet upgraded to 15.3) and TW system.

    What widget are you unable to move?


    Edit: Afterthought... Have you a multi-screen setup?
    Right now, I'd like to move the Thunderbird widget. But there are other widgets that I'd like to move if I can figure out how...
    I am using only one screen.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,067

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tb75252 View Post
    Right now, I'd like to move the Thunderbird widget.
    Ah! Got me there, not sure exactly what you're referring to


    In this case a picture may be worth a thousand words... To clarify, could you post a screenshot showing the items you wish to move. https://paste.opensuse.org/ and post the link here.


    I am using only one screen.
    OK... that eliminates quite a few "widget in wrong place/wrong screen" bugs.
    Regards, Paul

  5. #5

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    Ah! Got me there, not sure exactly what you're referring to


    In this case a picture may be worth a thousand words... To clarify, could you post a screenshot showing the items you wish to move. and post the link here.




    OK... that eliminates quite a few "widget in wrong place/wrong screen" bugs.
    Here's the screenshot that I posted on paste.opensuse.org:
    https://paste.opensuse.org/82049779

    Mine is a ridiculously basic task that for some reason I am not able to do...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,067

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    OK... That's an Application Launcher Icon on the Task Manager, (rather than a widget.)

    First, right click on a vacant area of the Task Manager, then select "Configure", check that "Sort" is set to "Manual":

    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/ec9d6ba9

    Then you can move the icons about simply by left click and drag on the icon, for example:

    Initial state:
    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/7e528717

    Moved:
    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/4893263e
    Regards, Paul

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Country NSW, Australia
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    OK... That's an Application Launcher Icon on the Task Manager, (rather than a widget.)

    First, right click on a vacant area of the Task Manager, then select "Configure", check that "Sort" is set to "Manual":
    I like to set the Task Manager "do not group" flag too so I can park instances of the same program at different points, for example my working Konsole on the extreme left of the panel where it usually resides and an occasional casual instance for reading man pages on the right.

    I prefer to reduce the default height and get rid of tool-tips also.

    But I would like to know if it's possible to easily clone a GUI?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,067

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidL View Post
    ... But I would like to know if it's possible to easily clone a GUI?
    That's rather vague ... perhaps you could elucidate.
    Regards, Paul

  9. #9

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    OK... That's an Application Launcher Icon on the Task Manager, (rather than a widget.)

    First, right click on a vacant area of the Task Manager, then select "Configure", check that "Sort" is set to "Manual":

    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/ec9d6ba9

    Then you can move the icons about simply by left click and drag on the icon, for example:

    Initial state:
    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/7e528717

    Moved:
    https://paste.opensuse.org/view/raw/4893263e
    I checked the settings as you suggested.
    Here's the weird thing: I am able to move some application launcher icons, but not others. For instance, I can move the Firefox icon but not the Thunderbird. I can move the Zoom icon but not Skype one. I also cannot move YaST, ksnip, Konsole...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,067

    Default Re: How Do I Move Widgets?

    Quote Originally Posted by tb75252 View Post
    I checked the settings as you suggested.
    Here's the weird thing: I am able to move some application launcher icons, but not others. For instance, I can move the Firefox icon but not the Thunderbird. I can move the Zoom icon but not Skype one. I also cannot move YaST, ksnip, Konsole...
    Strange...

    OK, initially let's just take Thunderbird for starters. With TB closed, right click on the TB icon and select "Unpin from Task Manager". Now launch Thunderbird from the menu, it's icon should appear at the far right of any existing entries, right click it's icon and select "Pin to Task Manager", now close Thunderbird and see if you're able to move it's icon.
    Regards, Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •