Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

  1. #1

    Default Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    My system language is US English, I have attached some basic info below. I have set up German and Russian layouts, however upon login I obtain a US layout by default. Furthermore, when I switch e.g. to German, type some text in a window, then switch to another window, the layout gets reset to English. Also, when I type text in an Electron application, then delete a character, the layout gets reset to English. Does anybody else experience the same problem?

    System specs: https://ibb.co/6tPGtQR

    Code:
    $ locale  
    locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory 
    locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory 
    LANG=en_DE.UTF-8 
    LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8 
    LC_NUMERIC="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_TIME="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_COLLATE="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MONETARY="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MESSAGES="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_PAPER="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_NAME="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_ADDRESS="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_TELEPHONE="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MEASUREMENT="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_ALL=
    
    
    

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,680

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Login in what? Console?

    And when you switch keyboard layout, how?

    Do not assume that people are looking over your shoulder or are mind readers
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,668
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by mushishi View Post
    My system language is US English, I have attached some basic info below. I have set up German and Russian layouts, however upon login I obtain a US layout by default. Furthermore, when I switch e.g. to German, type some text in a window, then switch to another window, the layout gets reset to English. Also, when I type text in an Electron application, then delete a character, the layout gets reset to English. Does anybody else experience the same problem?

    System specs: https://ibb.co/6tPGtQR

    Code:
    $ locale  
    locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory 
    locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory 
    LANG=en_DE.UTF-8 
    LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8 
    LC_NUMERIC="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_TIME="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_COLLATE="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MONETARY="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MESSAGES="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_PAPER="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_NAME="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_ADDRESS="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_TELEPHONE="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_MEASUREMENT="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_DE.UTF-8" 
    LC_ALL=
    
    The locale en_DE.UTF-8 doesn't exist. I created one by running:
    Code:
    erlangen:~ # ln /usr/share/i18n/locales/de_DE /usr/share/i18n/locales/en_DE 
    erlangen:~ # localedef -f UTF-8 -i en_DE de_DE.UTF-8 
    erlangen:~ #
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    @karlmistelberger when I try your suggestion, I get

    Code:
    failed to access '/usr/share/i18n/locales/de_DE': No such file or directory
    
    I assume I need to create a symbolic link in /usr/share/locale ? And if this works, should I report a bug to the Yast installer?

    @
    hcvv I assumed that the KDE Plasma keyboard layout configuration tool only works when Wayland or (in my case) X11 are on. I get the problem regardless of whether I click or use keyboard shortcuts.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,680

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by mushishi View Post


    @
    hcvv I assumed that the KDE Plasma keyboard layout configuration tool only works when Wayland or (in my case) X11 are on. I get the problem regardless of whether I click or use keyboard shortcuts.

    In your first post you nowhere even mentioned that this was related to a Desktop environment, let alone that it was using KDE. Let alone that you mentioned anything about differences when using Wayland or not.
    I asked clarification because most here are not mind readers.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    In your first post you nowhere even mentioned that this was related to a Desktop environment,
    instead I linked a screenshot of the KDE Plasma help center. Will bear in mind to be more verbose in the future, thanks for the remark.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,680

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by mushishi View Post
    instead I linked a screenshot of the KDE Plasma help center. Will bear in mind to be more verbose in the future, thanks for the remark.
    Yes, I see the link. Sorry for not looking there, but I mistrust such links. We have a pasting site vailable here: https://susepaste.org/
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,668
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by mushishi View Post
    @karlmistelberger when I try your suggestion, I get
    Code:
      failed to access'/usr/share/i18n/locales/de_DE': No such file or directory
    I assume I need to create a symbolic link in /usr/share/locale ? And if this works, should I report a bug to the Yast installer?
    Sorry. I missed some details (I actually did that years ago) :
    Code:
    erlangen:~ # zypper install glibc-i18ndata         
    Loading repository data... 
    Reading installed packages... 
    'glibc-i18ndata' is already installed. 
    No update candidate for 'glibc-i18ndata-2.33-5.2.noarch'. The highest available version is already installed. 
    Resolving package dependencies... 
    Nothing to do. 
    erlangen:~ # ln /usr/share/i18n/locales/de_DE /usr/share/i18n/locales/en_DE            
    erlangen:~ # localedef -f UTF-8 -i en_DE /usr/lib/locale/en_DE.utf8                          
    erlangen:~ #
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9

    Default Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    After installing the package glibc-i18ndata, I managed to create the symbolic link as suggested. Unfortunately, this didn't help. I tried to remove all layouts except German, logged out and in my KDE Plasma session and after a couple of hours I had 2 layouts, one US and one German. The US got included without my intervention.
    Then I added a third layout. When I right-click on the flag symbol in the task bar, I can see that the first and last layout are both US (the last one says "with AltGr dead keys"), all the rest are in between. OTOH when I jump to the KDE configuration menu for layouts, I can only see the layouts I set up - which do not include US English.
    Therefore I thought there must be some KDE deamon which overwrites the settings in the $HOME config path specific to KDE and I ignored the old config file:


    Code:
    $ mv ~/.kde4 ~/.kde4.old
    
    But as soon as I customize the default settings to include any non-US layout, I get the same issues again. I will try a different Deskop Environment during the weekend to see whether or not this issue is KDE SC-specific.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,128

    Question Re: Keyboard layout switching does not work properly

    Quote Originally Posted by mushishi View Post
    My system language is US English, I have attached some basic info below. I have set up German and Russian layouts, however upon login I obtain a US layout by default.
    Your Linux system uses US English as the default system language –
    • But, what is the Keyboard Layout of the Console Keyboard device attached to the system?

    – The Laptop keyboard …
    – The Keyboard device attached either to the Keyboard port of the Mainboard or, the 1st USB port of the Mainboard …

    • German?
    • Russian?
    • Something else?

    Whichever Keyboard Layout the System Keyboard has, you set the System Keyboard layout in YaST –


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •