Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    770

    Default Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    I have Leap on a separate HDD(older PATA on a PCI card) with Win 10 and win 7 on a newer SATA HDD.

    If I remove win 10, what do I have to do to have Grub recognize win 7?
    Can I copy leap to the Win10 partition and have Grub menu Leap default with Win7 as alternate selection?

    I know win 7 is beyond EOL but I only need it for iTunes for loading music on my Apple devices.
    (Unless there is a way to do that in Leap without having to put in a virtual windows or Wine).

    ideally, I want to get that old PATA drive and the PCI card it is on out of the tower.

    I am considering moving Leap to the current windows SATA HDD, but am not sure of the process to have Grub still recognize Leap & Win 7.

    I would like to move and keep Leap as it is without reinstall.

    Easy? or am I sticking my hand in a wringer and causing problems with both OS’s?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,173

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    All OS that use the same boot method should be seen. ie all EFI or all MBR boot. If not try running Yast Boot loader and be sure to check scan for foreign OS

  3. #3

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Check which boot process you are using: legacy boot or UEFI.
    I recommend UEFI + GPT for placing Win 7 + Leap on a single SATA drive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    770

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Image #1 - https://susepaste.org/84789105

    Image #2 - https://susepaste.org/75798414

    My HP CMT desktop is legacy. UEFI not possible on that machine.

    Image 1 is the HDD holding Leap 15.2
    Image 2 is the HDD holding Windows 10, Windows 7, the 'system reserved' partitions and a storage partition.

    I would like to copy/clone/??? the Leap 15.2 Partitions into the area on the Windows 10 partition( image #2 - /dev/sdb2 ). And keep WIndows 7 and the storage drive. I assume the system reserved partition will have to stay where it is (image 2).

    I would just install it there, but am afraid of running onto boot conflicts trying to move all my documents/downloads/pictures/etc after an install.

    Is there a good procedure I can use to help me accomplish what I ant to do??
    And is there a Linux tool that ill let me do it?

    I still want Grub to default to Leap after all is did and done.
    POSSIBLE? EASILY POSSIBLE?
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    If I remove win 10, what do I have to do to have Grub recognize win 7?
    Actually nothing special. As long as Windows loader for Windows 7 remains, os-prober should detect it. I have no idea how to "remove Windows 10 leaving Windows 7 bootable", you will need to ask on Windows forums.
    Can I copy leap to the Win10 partition and have Grub menu Leap default with Win7 as alternate selection?
    Yes, that is what normally happens when you install Linux on existing Windows system.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    770

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    I found this article about using dd to clone/backup a hard drive.
    https://www.suse.com/c/clone-or-backup-your-hard-disk/

    It indicates I can use dd to 'copy/clone' my PATA drive to the SATA drive. I know it will take a lot of time.

    But, should I remove the PATA drive from the machine before trying to run from the 'cloned' SATA drive.
    I think I read somewhere that a conflict will occur because the partiton UUID's are the same in the original and the clone.

    Still seeking help for this.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,684
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I found this article about using dd to clone/backup a hard drive.
    https://www.suse.com/c/clone-or-backup-your-hard-disk/

    It indicates I can use dd to 'copy/clone' my PATA drive to the SATA drive. I know it will take a lot of time.

    But, should I remove the PATA drive from the machine before trying to run from the 'cloned' SATA drive.
    I think I read somewhere that a conflict will occur because the partiton UUID's are the same in the original and the clone.

    Still seeking help for this.
    Use btrfstune to resolve conflicts.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    In S.E. Iowa, on the Mississippi River
    Posts
    770

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by karlmistelberger View Post
    Use btrfstune to resolve conflicts.
    Thanks for the response.
    I will have to study on that, since I don’t use the BTRFS file system. I know it should work for what I want to do, but, it is getting to the point that installing fresh on the SATA drive will be easier?
    I just hate to have to get the system to where I want it AGAIN.
    HP Compaq desktop Leap15.2, Win10, Win7
    Toshiba laptops Leap15.2 & Win10, HP AiO Leap 15.2.
    I can now print with openSuSe Leap! Can Scan now, could be better!!
    I can backup my iPod and iPad with Windows, can't with Linux.(Will get there someday!)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    2,684
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap and Windows Grub configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_L View Post
    I will have to study on that, since I don’t use the BTRFS file system. I know it should work for what I want to do, but, it is getting to the point that installing fresh on the SATA drive will be easier?
    It depends. Cloning or mirroring a partition is easy at least if you have already done it. For ext4 use ' tune2fs -U'.
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •