installation of new browser is not working

Hello,

I’m a beginner and this is my first Linux based os. It’s all very new for me.
I made a fresh installation this week and now I tried to install brave browser. I used zypper. Then I want to start up the browser but nothing is happening, except that I see a window opening and closing in the bar under. I thought it may be some issue with brave browser, untill now. I tried to install Vivaldi browser (I don’t like Firefox:)), again with zypper. Now, the same is happening. So, the problem must be somewhere else.

Any idea what is going on and how I can solve this?

greetings

I think the first thing people want to know is which Desktop Environment you are using, KDE/Plasma, Gnome, …?

If you’re not sure which DE you are using, do this in an X terminal from your main application menu:

sudo inxi -U > /dev/null
inxi -GSxxxy

Copy the whole input and output from the terminal here enclosed in code tags ( # above the input window).

The first line of the two commands should update the ancient inxi version provided by 15.2 to the latest from upstream, which has lots of fixes and improvements that only Tumbleweed users enjoy by using a recent version from standard repos.

thank you, its KDE/Plasma. I past the asked information under. I wouldt mind reinstalling everything, its not a big deal.

localhost:~ # sudo inxi -U > /dev/null

localhost:~ # inxi -GSxxxy
System:
Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 5.3.18-lp152.72-default x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.5.0 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.18.6 tk: Qt 5.12.7 wm: kwin_x11
vt: 7 dm: SDDM Distro: openSUSE Leap 15.2
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel Skylake GT2 [HD Graphics 520] vendor: Dell driver: i915
v: kernel bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:1916 class-ID: 0300
Device-2: Realtek type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-2:3
chip-ID: 0bda:5686 class-ID: 0e02 serial: 0001
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 compositor: kwin_x11 driver:
loaded: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa alternate: intel