Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

  1. #1

    Default YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Currently running Tumbleweed 20210330 5.11.6-1-default x86_64
    Started Yast, attempted to run Hardware Information as I've done for years. It hangs while probing for DSL, which is the first thing it looks for. The only way to terminate it is with kill or XKill. It has done this since the last couple of updates performed over the past month or so. Has anyone else had this problem?

  2. #2

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    I have seen the same. It happens also with ncurses verion of Yast. However, runnig hwinfo straight from the cli works just fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,818
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    You might find the desired information using inxi. By default the information it shows is rather limited, but it has a multitude of options that provide more detail in various forms. Be sure you have the latest version 3.0.3 installed, which just became available on the mirrors several days ago.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.2, +TW, 15.1, 15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.1 on i965P w/ Radeon
    Tertiary: Mageia,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&&&

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    A thing that I almost never use, but just tried today, "Hardware Information" in Yast and indeed it hangs in DSL. What is bad is that also the Abort button does not work

    Using "ps aux" it seems to be running:

    Code:
    /bin/bash /sbin/yast2 hwinfo
       /usr/bin/ruby.ruby2.7 --encoding=utf-8 /usr/lib/YaST2/bin/y2start hwinfo qt -name YaST2 -icon yast
    Killing (with "kill -9") the second process works, a normal kill does not work.
    Did run the second line as root on the console and then the ncurses version comes up, same problem.
    Had a look on the Internet and see you can start the Ruby debugger adding "-rdebug":

    Code:
    /usr/bin/ruby.ruby2.7 -rdebug --encoding=utf-8 /usr/lib/YaST2/bin/y2start hwinfo qt -name YaST2 -icon yast
    The debugger I know, it like the one in Perl.

    With some iterations (also in the debugger it hangs if you just run and do not single-step, Ctrl-Z + kill %1 brings you out) I see /usr/share/YaST2/clients/hwinfo.rb is executed. Running that stand-alone is not possible as it needs some Yast::Client so there my debugging ends for now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,451

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Confirmed by another user: Bug report?
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    716

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Confirmed by another user: ?
    Yes, i can confirm the behavior described in the first post.

    Operating System: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20210330
    KDE Plasma Version: 5.21.3
    KDE Frameworks Version: 5.80.0
    Qt Version: 5.15.2
    Kernel Version: 5.11.6-1-default
    OS Type: 64-bit
    Graphics Platform: X11
    Graphics Processor: Mesa DRI Intel® HD Graphics 630

    However i probably never used YaST -> Hardware Information before so i don't know if it has been working in the past.

    Regards

    susejunky

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Created https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1184339

    Anybody on Tumbleweed for who YaST 2 "Hardware Infomation" is working fine?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,451

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by marel View Post
    Created https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1184339

    Anybody on Tumbleweed for who YaST 2 "Hardware Infomation" is working fine?
    Gooood!
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Meanwhile there is a patch which has been approved so I expect that in some coming Tumbleweed update a fix is coming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    716

    Default Re: YAST Hardware Information Hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by marel View Post
    Meanwhile there is a patch which has been approved so I expect that in some coming Tumbleweed update a fix is coming.
    Thanks for the information !

    Regards

    susejunky

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •