Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: switching from nvidia gt710 to igpu HD530 doesn't start anymore.

Default switching from nvidia gt710 to igpu HD530 doesn't start anymore.

Hi everybody,
    I gotta say I'm kinda of a newbie here, so please don't kill me!
    I got an issue which is last too long now and I can't figured out how to fix it. Hope you can help.
    Long story short, I had an nvidia GT710 which was way enough for my use (music production and some retrogaming). I always hated how the proprietary drivers works on Linux and I recently discovered I could use my igpu (HD530) to perform even better than the GT710 and without the boringness to have proprietary drivers running on my machine.
    I simply switched my HDMI cable from my nvidia to the hd530 and it worked straight away. Everything beautiful, animation and transparency were better and everything was great, except the machine won't poweroff or restart at all anymore. I had to do it brutally every single time.
    This morning I decided to physically remove the GT710, remove all the proprietary drivers and all the "unneeded packages" showed in Yast (they were a lot), with the result the system doesn't start anymore, however If I use "nomodeset i915.modeset=0" into the grub, it does start, no problem with restarting or poweroff anymore, but there is not 3d acceleration hardware (so no transparency, nice effects, animation, etc anymore). My igpu is kind of castrated
    Thanks to a friend from the italian telegram group, we figured out that my igpu is not working at all. Giving a "glxinfo | grep vendor" the result is "Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig".
    That's all.
    Any idea how to fix it?
    thank you so much.

Default Re: switching from nvidia gt710 to igpu HD530 doesn't start anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by seth View Post
    removed ....... all the "unneeded packages" showed in Yast (they were a lot),