Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24

    Default I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Hello!

    I'm very new to Linux. I've actually made my first install today. To install I had to use "nomodeset". I still need to use it to boot up and see anything but a black screen. I have downloaded all current updates/upgrades.

    My PC specs are as follows:
    Ryzen 5 3600
    Radeon RX590
    16GB DD4 RAM
    2 Ms.2 1TB SSDs

    Any ideas on how I rid myself of this dependency?

    Best regards
    Hoff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    5,554

    Default AW: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    In grub2 press e, goto the line with the entry, remove the entry and press F10 to boot.
    Does this boot into a working screen?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: AW: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    In grub2 press e, goto the line with the entry, remove the entry and press F10 to boot.
    Does this boot into a working screen?
    I've tried that. Sadly no dice I'm starting to think my GPU is damaged.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,274

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    If you have installed with “nomodeset”, perhaps you do not have the AMD graphics drivers installed.

    I look after a couple of iMacs with similar embedded graphics chipsets. They use the “amdgpu” driver.
    Code:
    rayh@yoga3:~> bla01 inxi -G
    12Graphics:  12Device-1 AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 12driver amdgpu 12v kernel 
               12Device-2 Apple 12type USB 12driver uvcvideo 
               12Display 12server X.org 1.20.3 12driver amdgpu,ati 12unloaded fbdev,modesetting,vesa 12tty N/A 
               12Message Advanced graphics data unavailable in consn AMdole. Try -G --display 
    rayh@yoga3:~>
    rayh@yoga3:~> bla01 sudo /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard
    18: PCI 100.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
      [Created at pci.386]
      Unique ID: VCu0.Zl1HExY7WWD
      Parent ID: vSkL.+UHC75sgwM8
      SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0
      SysFS BusID: 0000:01:00.0
      Hardware Class: graphics card
      Model: "Apple Radeon Pro 570"
      Vendor: pci 0x1002 "ATI Technologies Inc"
      Device: pci 0x67df "Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]"
      SubVendor: pci 0x106b "Apple Inc."
      SubDevice: pci 0x0163 "Radeon Pro 570"
      Revision: 0xc5
      Driver: "amdgpu"
      Driver Modules: "amdgpu"
      Memory Range: 0xc0000000-0xcfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
      Memory Range: 0xd0000000-0xd01fffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
      I/O Ports: 0x3000-0x3fff (rw)
      Memory Range: 0x92600000-0x9263ffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
      Memory Range: 0x92640000-0x9265ffff (ro,non-prefetchable,disabled)
      IRQ: 40 (1202429 events)
      Module Alias: "pci:v00001002d000067DFsv0000106Bsd00000163bc03sc00i00"
      Driver Info #0:
        Driver Status: amdgpu is active
        Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe amdgpu"
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
      Attached to: #13 (PCI bridge)
    
    Primary display adapter: #18
    rayh@yoga3:~>
    (“bla01” is just a ssk connection yo a remote iMac)

    Here is a list of the relevant packages installed -- you can either use this zypper command or the YaST Software Manager to check and install them I do not know if this is optimal for you, it is just whart is installed on a working Leap-15.2 system with an AMD RX570 chipset

    Code:
     #  zypper in libvulkan1  libvulkan_radeon  libdrm_amdgpu1 libdrm_radeon1 libvdpau_radeonsi  xf86-video-amdgpu
      #
    --
    slàinte mhath,
    rayH

    ~ knowing the right answer is easier than knowing the right question.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Quote Originally Posted by eng-int View Post
    If you have installed with “nomodeset”, perhaps you do not have the AMD graphics drivers installed.

    I look after a couple of iMacs with similar embedded graphics chipsets. They use the “amdgpu” driver.
    .....
    (“bla01” is just a ssk connection yo a remote iMac)

    Here is a list of the relevant packages installed -- you can either use this zypper command or the YaST Software Manager to check and install them I do not know if this is optimal for you, it is just whart is installed on a working Leap-15.2 system with an AMD RX570 chipset

    Code:
     #  zypper in libvulkan1  libvulkan_radeon  libdrm_amdgpu1 libdrm_radeon1 libvdpau_radeonsi  xf86-video-amdgpu
      #
    Thanks for your reply.
    I've installed the latest drivers from AMDs page using the amdgpu-pro-install script. I cannot boot without nomodeset because I still get the black screen without it. Also suddenly every window/program I close... well the system says they crash. This is fixed by uninstalling the drivers. Strange things are a foot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,126

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    AMD-pro does not work well remove it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    30,903
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Hi
    Add the following grub options (at grub press e to edit.) and remove nomodeset;

    Code:
    plymouth.enable=0 amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.exp_hw_support=1
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoff View Post
    Thanks for your reply.
    I've installed the latest drivers from AMDs page using the amdgpu-pro-install script. I cannot boot without nomodeset because I still get the black screen without it. Also suddenly every window/program I close... well the system says they crash. This is fixed by uninstalling the drivers. Strange things are a foot.
    During OS install you got Mesa 3D drivers.
    Maybe you have to uninstall them, then install amdgpu-pro drivers.
    IMHO you don't need to install amdgpu-pro without OpenCL.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Add the following grub options (at grub press e to edit.) and remove nomodeset;

    Code:
    plymouth.enable=0 amdgpu.dc=0 amdgpu.exp_hw_support=1
    Hi
    Thank you! That worked a treat.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: I wish to get rid of my nomodeset dependency

    Quote Originally Posted by Svyatko View Post
    During OS install you got Mesa 3D drivers.
    Maybe you have to uninstall them, then install amdgpu-pro drivers.
    IMHO you don't need to install amdgpu-pro without OpenCL.
    I shall try this. I'm not sure how to do the uninstall but it will be a fun experiment. Like I said I'm very new to this.
    Thank you!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •