Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,760
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    It wasn't DNS, it was routing. Nothing had configured /etc/sysconfig/network/ifroute-eth0. I used YaST2 to find this out and fix. Why it didn't happen is a mystery.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,848
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    It wasn't DNS, it was routing. Nothing had configured /etc/sysconfig/network/ifroute-eth0. I used YaST2 to find this out and fix. Why it didn't happen is a mystery.
    You mentioned in a previous post that you're using static IP, so this would imply that you had configured the network via YaST > Network Settings in the first place? As such, an IP address for the network interface, a gateway address, and at least one DNS entry for name resolution.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,848
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Why would network.service be an alias? For what?
    Some answers...
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...a-network.html

    https://www.freedesktop.org/software...temd.unit.html
    Units can be aliased (have an alternative name), by creating a symlink from the new name to the existing name in one of the unit search paths. For example, systemd-networkd.service has the alias dbus-org.freedesktop.network1.service, created during installation as a symlink, so when systemd is asked through D-Bus to load dbus-org.freedesktop.network1.service, it'll load systemd-networkd.service. As another example, default.target — the default system target started at boot — is commonly symlinked (aliased) to either multi-user.target or graphical.target to select what is started by default. Alias names may be used in commands like disable, start, stop, status, and similar, and in all unit dependency directives, including Wants=, Requires=, Before=, After=. Aliases cannot be used with the preset command.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,760
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    You mentioned in a previous post that you're using static IP, so this would imply that you had configured the network via YaST > Network Settings in the first place? As such, an IP address for the network interface, a gateway address, and at least one DNS entry for name resolution.
    I don't normally "set up" networking as most do. Instead I feed the installer according to linuxrc:
    Code:
    ifcfg=<interface_spec>=[try,]IP_LIST,GATEWAY_LIST,NAMESERVER_LIST,DOMAINSEARCH_LIST,OPTION1=value1,...
    I looked in my y2logs and found I made no cmdline typos in my static setup, at least, I don't think so.
    Code:
    |-- declare -x ifcfg="192.168.0.188,192.168.0.1,1.1.1.1 1.0.0.1,my.domain "
    It's the same format I've been using for years, which at Grub I typed in by copying from a custom.cfg with NET installation entries that worked. So it looks like maybe the installer is broken WRT to handling ifcfg= on installer cmdline, since it happened on both recent installs. Or, maybe now I must specify the device in that line?

    I guess I need to do another install specifying eth0 device to see if it's optional or not. I need to anyway since the second wasn't any better than the first WRT booting NVME without BIOS support. I tried mounting the SATA ESP on /boot/ instead of /boot/efi/, and the installer didn't bother to create the required efi directory it needed. I sure wish we'd get a new drop, or at least, fix bug 1180626 "We need repos for Leap 15.3 Alpha ".
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,284

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I did a fresh minimal 15.3 installation from DVD. Name resolution started out broken, and is still broken.

    Bug reported https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1182722
    [zypper] the flag --no-refresh is not known; the flag -F is not known
    Sorry to go back to the original problem.

    We have only your conclusions about this. You never posted a full zypper command with it's output where you have --no-refresh as global option in the command line and where the output says that refreshing is taking place nevertheless.
    Worse, you did not have any evidence in your bug report.

    And as you try to use --no-refrsh as a global option for zypper, I like to point you to the fact that there is no -F as alternative global option for this mentioned in the zypper man page.
    (There is however -F, --no-refresh as command options for e.g. the zypper addrepo, modifyrepo and more commands, maybe you are confused by that, but I am afraid that is a bad start to have as a complaint in a bug report).
    Henk van Velden

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,760
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    We have only your conclusions about this. You never posted a full zypper command with it's output where you have --no-refresh as global option in the command line and where the output says that refreshing is taking place nevertheless.
    Worse, you did not have any evidence in your bug report.
    Code:
    # egrep 'no-refr|\-F|zypper' .bash_history | egrep -v 'zypseo|zypsei|er al|er rl|v dup|v up|er ll|nel-def|er ref|er lr|er rm' | tail -n...
    zypper -v -d dup
    zypper -v in iproute2
    zypper -v in net-tools
    zypper -v in telnet telnet-server
    zypper -v in xinetd
    zypper -v in yast2-services-manager yast2-bootloader yast2-qt-branding-openSUSE yast2-theme zypper-lifecycle-plugin
    zypper -v in iproute2
    zypper -v in net-tools
    zypper -v in telnet telnet-server
    zypper -v in xinetd
    zypper -v in yast2-services-manager yast2-bootloader yast2-qt-branding-openSUSE yast2-theme zypper-lifecycle-plugin
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in --no-refresh ping
    zypper -v in --norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -F ping
    zypper -v in ping -F
    zypper -v in dnsmasq
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in iputils
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in --no-refresh ping
    zypper -v in --norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -F ping
    zypper -v in ping -F
    zypper -v in dnsmasq
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in iputils
    And as you try to use --no-refrsh as a global option for zypper, I like to point you to the fact that there is no -F as alternative global option for this mentioned in the zypper man page.
    (There is however -F, --no-refresh as command options for e.g. the zypper addrepo, modifyrepo and more commands, maybe you are confused by that, but I am afraid that is a bad start to have as a complaint in a bug report).
    Code:
    # cat /usr/local/bin/zypse
    #!/bin/sh
    zypper --no-refresh se -s $*  | egrep -v 'debug|devel|srcp|openSUSE-20' | egrep 'x86|noarch'| sort
    It wouldn't be in my 7 year old script if it hadn't worked as I expected, and still does in TW and 15.2.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,760
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    You mentioned in a previous post that you're using static IP, so this would imply that you had configured the network via YaST > Network Settings in the first place? As such, an IP address for the network interface, a gateway address, and at least one DNS entry for name resolution.
    I did another 15.3 installation just now. What it looks like is everything from the installer cmdline from ifcfg= was ignored in the configured system. The only thing inherited from cmdline was hostname=. It used to be that everything from ifcfg= was incorporated in the configured system, so there was nothing in networking to configure after the installer started its GUI.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,848
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I did another 15.3 installation just now. What it looks like is everything from the installer cmdline from ifcfg= was ignored in the configured system. The only thing inherited from cmdline was hostname=. It used to be that everything from ifcfg= was incorporated in the configured system, so there was nothing in networking to configure after the installer started its GUI.
    You posted...
    Code:
    ifcfg="192.168.0.188,192.168.0.1,1.1.1.1 1.0.0.1,my.domain"
    Did you try incorporating the interface explicitly?
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,760
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    You posted...
    Code:
    ifcfg="192.168.0.188,192.168.0.1,1.1.1.1 1.0.0.1,my.domain"
    Did you try incorporating the interface explicitly?
    None of my 50 or so Grub NET installation stanzas for opensuse have it, so I probably never tried it that way.

    I'm at a loss to guess how anyone not using net.ifnames=0 or equivalent would guess what to include for interface name.

    I found another clumsy way to botch installation #3, so I have to install again anyway and can try adding it then.

    Oh, and my bug got invalidated. I was forgetting every time to put the --no-refresh before the action, really dumb, because my zypse, zypsei and zypseo scripts all have it in the right place.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    28,284

    Default Re: --no-refresh ignored by zypper

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Code:
    # egrep 'no-refr|\-F|zypper' .bash_history | egrep -v 'zypseo|zypsei|er al|er rl|v dup|v up|er ll|nel-def|er ref|er lr|er rm' | tail -n...
    zypper -v -d dup
    zypper -v in iproute2
    zypper -v in net-tools
    zypper -v in telnet telnet-server
    zypper -v in xinetd
    zypper -v in yast2-services-manager yast2-bootloader yast2-qt-branding-openSUSE yast2-theme zypper-lifecycle-plugin
    zypper -v in iproute2
    zypper -v in net-tools
    zypper -v in telnet telnet-server
    zypper -v in xinetd
    zypper -v in yast2-services-manager yast2-bootloader yast2-qt-branding-openSUSE yast2-theme zypper-lifecycle-plugin
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in --no-refresh ping
    zypper -v in --norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -F ping
    zypper -v in ping -F
    zypper -v in dnsmasq
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in iputils
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in --no-refresh ping
    zypper -v in --norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -norefresh ping
    zypper -v in -F ping
    zypper -v in ping -F
    zypper -v in dnsmasq
    zypper -v in ping
    zypper -v in iputils
    Code:
    # cat /usr/local/bin/zypse
    #!/bin/sh
    zypper --no-refresh se -s $*  | egrep -v 'debug|devel|srcp|openSUSE-20' | egrep 'x86|noarch'| sort
    It wouldn't be in my 7 year old script if it hadn't worked as I expected, and still does in TW and 15.2.
    I have no idea how this may answer my remarks. But I see that your bug is rejected for the same reasons I already gave.

    When you think that the developers (and I) have any understanding of your personal scripts, I can tell you that that is not the case.

    But as the discussion of this thread is still devoted to other things then your --no-refresh case, I will quit from this thread.
    Henk van Velden

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •