Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dolphin network manager not connect

  1. #1

    Default Dolphin network manager not connect

    Good evening members of the forum!
    I have openSUSE Tumblweed installed, I go through the Dolpin Explorer to the network, then to the shared SMB folders, there I see computers on my network, I click on them, and I get the message "Unable to connect to the server for smb: //asus.local/" , while the path shows this: smb: //asus.kio-discovery-wsd/
    If I erase everything except the name of the computer (asus), then a login and password entry window appears.
    Tell me how to make it come right in? In Manjaro, everything worked fine the first time.
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Reevz View Post
    Good evening members of the forum!
    I have openSUSE Tumblweed installed, I go through the Dolpin Explorer to the network, then to the shared SMB folders, there I see computers on my network, I click on them, and I get the message "Unable to connect to the server for smb: //asus.local/" , while the path shows this: smb: //asus.kio-discovery-wsd/
    Ok, so the samba host is discovered by Dolphin using the WS-Discovery protocol. Not sure why it fails to connect though. I can't replicate it here. My Windows host discovered using the same mechanism, and I'm prompted for credentials immediately. (FWIW, I have guest access enabled for testing purposes and so any username and password will work of course.)

    If I erase everything except the name of the computer (asus), then a login and password entry window appears.
    Tell me how to make it come right in? In Manjaro, everything worked fine the first time.
    Thank you.
    Strage
    Does the following successfully list the shares available on the host?
    Code:
    smbclient -L //asus.local
    Can you navigate using something like the following?
    Code:
    smbclient //asus.local/<sharename> -U <user>
    *Replace <sharename> with actual shared directory name and <user> with appropriate samba user name.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Another thought I had regarding your ASUS host. Do you get a response when pinging it by
    Code:
    ping asus.local
    Is it a Windows or Linux host?

    The error you reported would have been "Could not connect to host for smb://....". That can happen when a given hostname can't be resolved for some reason. (For example, I can generate this Dolphin error when trying to reach a non-existent host such as smb://foobar)
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 16-Jan-2021 at 18:36.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Another thought I had regarding your ASUS host. Do you get a response when pinging it by
    Code:
    ping asus.local
    Is it a Windows or Linux host?

    The error you reported would have been "Could not connect to host for smb://....". That can happen when a given hostname can't be resolved for some reason. (For example, I can generate this Dolphin error when trying to reach a non-existent host such as smb://foobar)

    This is the windows host. Moreover, I also have a NAS drive on the same network, and with it the same problem. The request for login and password does not appear, only after I leave the name without .local, then the request appears.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    [QUOTE = deano_ferrari; 2997778] Итак, хост самбы обнаружен Dolphin с использованием протокола WS-Discovery. Не уверен, почему он не может подключиться. Я не могу воспроизвести это здесь. Мой хост Windows был обнаружен с использованием того же механизма, и мне сразу же предлагается ввести учетные данные. (FWIW, у меня включен гостевой доступ для целей тестирования, поэтому любое имя пользователя и пароль, конечно же, будут работать.)



    Следующий успешно перечисляет общие ресурсы, доступные на хосте?
    Code:
     smbclient -L //asus.local
    Можете ли вы перемещаться, используя что-то вроде следующего?
    [CODE] smbclient //asus.local/ <sharename> -U <user> [/ CODE]
    * Замените <sharename> фактическим именем общего каталога, а <user> - соответствующим именем пользователя samba. [/ QUOTE]

    after entering commands, it asks for a password. The password I enter is written by an incorrect username. If you write the command "smbclient //asus". And if you write as you suggest. Then it shows the error "NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Reevz View Post
    This is the windows host. Moreover, I also have a NAS drive on the same network, and with it the same problem. The request for login and password does not appear, only after I leave the name without .local, then the request appears.
    That would suggest that Avahi hostname resolution is not working for some reason. (You didn't try the pinging by Avahi hostname as requested.)
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Reevz View Post
    [QUOTE = deano_ferrari; 2997778] Итак, хост самбы обнаружен Dolphin с использованием протокола WS-Discovery. Не уверен, почему он не может подключиться. Я не могу воспроизвести это здесь. Мой хост Windows был обнаружен с использованием того же механизма, и мне сразу же предлагается ввести учетные данные. (FWIW, у меня включен гостевой доступ для целей тестирования, поэтому любое имя пользователя и пароль, конечно же, будут работать.)



    Следующий успешно перечисляет общие ресурсы, доступные на хосте?
    Code:
     smbclient -L //asus.local
    Можете ли вы перемещаться, используя что-то вроде следующего?
    [CODE] smbclient //asus.local/ <sharename> -U <user> [/ CODE]
    * Замените <sharename> фактическим именем общего каталога, а <user> - соответствующим именем пользователя samba. [/ QUOTE]

    after entering commands, it asks for a password. The password I enter is written by an incorrect username. If you write the command "smbclient //asus". And if you write as you suggest. Then it shows the error "NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL"
    Best to use English in this forum and Polish in your other thread...
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...82%D1%81%D1%8F
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    Quote Originally Posted by Reevz View Post
    ...after entering commands, it asks for a password. The password I enter is written by an incorrect username. If you write the command "smbclient //asus". And if you write as you suggest. Then it shows the error "NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL"
    Sorry, this is not clear to me about what you did exactly. Please show the exact command typed and any output that you got. Enclose within [CODE]....[/CODE] tags.

    For example
    Code:
    > smbclient -L //foo.local
    do_connect: Connection to foo.local failed (Error NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL)
    dean@linux-4k1z:~> smbclient -L //foo
    do_connect: Connection to foo failed (Error NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL)
    This error happens because the host cannot be reached (or hostname does not resolve).
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    23,314
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Dolphin network manager not connect

    FWIW, I did find this KDE commit (which deals with how hostname schemas are used [netbios vs avahi]). I'm wondering if you may have run into some corner case issue here where this mechanism fails somehow. In which case a bug report would be needed.
    openSUSE Leap 15.3; KDE Plasma 5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •