Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    167

    Default Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Hello

    I've a leap 15.0 system with OpenPrintingPPDs-4.0.0.2-lp150.1.6.noarch installed.
    My printer is a lexmark mx611dhe.
    On my original system the printer works fine.
    A new installation of leap 15.0 will cut top and bottom of output.
    The same psfile on my original system prints fine.
    But the ppd file is exactly the same. All cups packages are the same
    Not even printing with gv does the job.
    The same goes on on leap 15.1 and leap 15.2 new installed systems...

    Any idea who process the file, what could be different, or how to debug
    I really see not what could be different?
    The only I guess can be that other packages will affect printing a part of cups and ppds...
    My system which works right, has a lot of packages which I have never updated...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Paper in use is letter or A4? What paper size is configured in CUPS?

    Perhaps check
    Code:
    egrep -i "defaultpaper|defaultpage|defaultimage" /etc/cups/ppd/*
    Is driver the same for all systems?
    Code:
    egrep -i "name|model|filter" /etc/cups/ppd/*
    You could compare that output with the working install and share here.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Another thought - ghostscript version might be relevant to check between systems
    Code:
    gs --version
    or
    Code:
    rpm -qi ghostscript
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Thanks for all answers:

    As noted ppd file is the same on all systems, and gs version is the same 9.26 :-(

    egrep -i "defaultpaper|defaultpage|defaultimage" /etc/cups/ppd/mx611dhe.ppd
    *DefaultPageSize: A4
    *DefaultPageRegion: A4
    *DefaultImageableArea: A4
    *DefaultPaperDimension: A4
    egrep -i "name|model|filter" /etc/cups/ppd/mx611dhe.ppd
    laptop-beat:~ # egrep -i "name|model|filter" /etc/cups/ppd/mx611dhe.ppd
    *% "foomatic-rip" backend filter script of Foomatic 4.0.0 or newer. This
    *PCFileName: "POSTSCRI.PPD"
    *cupsModelNumber: 2
    *cupsFilter: "application/vnd.cups-postscript 100 foomatic-rip"
    *cupsFilter: "application/vnd.cups-pdf 0 foomatic-rip"
    *ModelName: "Lexmark MX611dhe"
    *ShortNickName: "Lexmark MX611dhe Postscript"
    *NickName: "Lexmark MX611dhe Foomatic/Postscript"
    *driverName Postscript: ""
    Any other hints?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Perhaps review the following openSUSE wiki page regarding CUPS paper size....
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Print_Se..._size_settings
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Returning to your comments in the opening post...
    A new installation of leap 15.0 will cut top and bottom of output.
    The same psfile on my original system prints fine.
    Which command (or app) are you using to print? User locale settings the same on all systems?
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Locale settings are the same on both machines

    LibreOffice open the pdf file or lpr directly prints margin ok but print bar code wrong.
    okular seems to have the problem with margins but prints right the bar code in the file

    gv complains about "Failed to scan file /tmp/.... on both machines

    The other file is from ireport printed. So I generated a print to a file as ps.
    Printing this ps on new machine has the margin problems but the same file printing on old machine prints right with lpr...
    So I'm really confused...
    Does lpr not use cups? Where can be lpr configured page size if not using stuff from cups and ppd file?

    WIll read the article and see if there is anyone...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Quote Originally Posted by tkmbe View Post
    Locale settings are the same on both machines
    Ok, good to know.

    LibreOffice open the pdf file or lpr directly prints margin ok but print bar code wrong.
    okular seems to have the problem with margins but prints right the bar code in the file
    With okular you can adjust print margins and paper size via the print dialogue box.

    gv complains about "Failed to scan file /tmp/.... on both machines
    Best to post commands and complete output when wanting to convey information, otherwise others are left to speculate. This is a bit meaningless in the context of the thread.

    The other file is from ireport printed. So I generated a print to a file as ps.
    Printing this ps on new machine has the margin problems but the same file printing on old machine prints right with lpr...
    So I'm really confused...
    You've lost me a bit here.

    Does lpr not use cups? Where can be lpr configured page size if not using stuff from cups and ppd file?
    Yes, it is a CUPS CLI utility. You can specify papersize like this
    Code:
    lpr -o media=a4 /path/to/filename
    or fit to page...
    Code:
    lpr -o fit-to-page /path/to/filename
    More info
    Code:
    man lpr
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    167

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Ok

    Going to parts:
    Applications to print:
    gv does not work because it complains about the error mentioned: Nevertheless if you give printqueue as option or nothing

    lpr was tested now with
    lpr -o fit-to-page: does print whole page, output begins of 1.7cm from top, but barcode is black
    (exactly same size as okular but lpr prints out everything while okular cuts 2.54cm from the top, 1.4mm from left and 1.6mm from right)
    lpr -o media=a4 does print whole page but larger that fit-to-page, output begins of 5mm from top

    My question is who "mangles" or prepares the output of a pdf or ps file?
    If I have a ps file which prints on one system well and on the other system bad, cups, okular, gs is same version and cups configuration file the same,
    what could be the problem? Is there no debug option for more log messages of cups ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,264
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Print output cuts off top and end even same ppd file on two leap 15.0 sistems

    Quote Originally Posted by tkmbe View Post
    My question is who "mangles" or prepares the output of a pdf or ps file?
    If I have a ps file which prints on one system well and on the other system bad, cups, okular, gs is same version and cups configuration file the same,
    what could be the problem? Is there no debug option for more log messages of cups ?
    The following page explains how CUPS determines the initial processing of a print job...
    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Using_Yo...tivation_Order
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •