Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    974

    Default Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    I keep reading that Plasma 5.20 fully supports Wayland but all I get when I choose a Wayland session is a black screen with a small horizontal line in the upper left corner of my display. I can't find any way out of this without rebooting. I'm using the 455.28 driver.

    Is there a setting I need to change or some different Wayland packages I need?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    NVIDIA? Ignore Wayland.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    12,878
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    News I've been reading is that Plasma 5.20 is supposed to include plenty of new support for Wayland. IIRC some specific items include rendering certain widgets and toolbars (panels?), maybe some menus. In other words, Desktop objects in general.

    But,
    The proprietary nVidia driver currently may have problems, and in particular won't work with kernel 5.9.
    Recommendation is to boot with a 5.8 kernel until a working driver is provided, current estimation sometime last half Nov.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5,974

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    The proprietary nVidia driver ... won't work with kernel 5.9.
    Wrong as usual. The only part that won't work is CUDA which was disabled for TW since 5.8 kernel anyway.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    471

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Hello,

    I would not use KDE+Wayland+Nvidia.
    https://community.kde.org/Plasma/Wayland_Showstoppers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Quote Originally Posted by another_roadrunner View Post
    Hello,

    I would not use KDE+Wayland+Nvidia.
    https://community.kde.org/Plasma/Wayland_Showstoppers
    Thanks for the link. Do you know what "It requires setting the KWIN_DRM_USE_EGL_STREAMS=1 environment variable to activate." means? How does one set this?

    I'm using 5.8.15-1-default kernel.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    5,010

    Default AW: Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post
    Thanks for the link. Do you know what "It requires setting the KWIN_DRM_USE_EGL_STREAMS=1 environment variable to activate." means? How does one set this?

    I'm using 5.8.15-1-default kernel.
    https://community.kde.org/Plasma/Wayland/Nvidia

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    471

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Hello,

    I don't use KDE.
    I hope this helps you:
    http://blog.davidedmundson.co.uk/blo...and-on-nvidia/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    974

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    If I add nvidia-drm.modeset=1 to the kernel parameters, the nvidia driver doesn't load. If I choose a Plasma/Wayland session, I get the llvmpipe Mesa graphics which runs my display at 4K and everything seems to work OK but scrolling is a little jerky in Firefox.

    I also created the file kwin.sh in /etc/profile.d and made it executable.

    When I tried the recommended command
    Code:
    cat /sys/module/nvidia_drm/parameters/modeset
    I'm supposed to get Y but I get N. Of course because the nvidia driver isn't loaded.

    I thought I had to use nomodeset in order to load the nvidia driver. The nvidia-drm.modeset=1 parameter isn't working for me.

    Edit: The cat /sys/module command returns N even with the nvidia 455.28 driver running, probably because of the default nomedeset kernel parameter but that's the only way I can get it to load.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27,328

    Default Re: Does Plasma 5.20 really support Wayland and nvidia?

    Quote Originally Posted by pilotgi View Post

    I also created the file kwin.sh in /etc/profile.d and made it executable.
    Maybe a bit off-topic, but there is no reason to make things in /etc/profile.d executable for anybody. Where have you read that that should be done?
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •