I can't get M.A..M.E to see my roms

I have some experience with mame ( Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator), been using it for years now. Many years ago on windows xp, these days on a real O.S. :wink:

On my previous pc, I had it working just fine. Leap 42.3 , mame 0.185 wih rom pack 0.183

I am typing this from my new pc, and am using tumbleweed now.

Copied the roms from my old pc to my new pc, but mame does not see the roms. mame 0.211

Because roms might or mght not work with every mame version I also redownloaded a 60 gig rom pack. Version 0.197

Both roms packs don’t work.

What I did find was this, a site with a few 100% legal roms. My mame does not see this one either.
I downloaded star fire.
https://www.mamedev.org/roms/

Link to my older topic, were I got mame woring on leap 42.3
https://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php/534587-Help-me-play-pac-man-(-the-origenal-arcade-version-)-without-messing-up-my-desktop-resolution

I had some issues on leap 42.3, but that was solved by installing libutf8proc1 - Library for processing UTF-8 encoded Unicode strings.

So on tumble weed I made sure I had a file like that, and found libutf8proc2 - Library for processing UTF-8 encoded Unicode strings.

The Xbox one controller I ordered is in. It has two joysticks which I need for Robotron 2084 ( safe the last human family ) :stuck_out_tongue:
This controller is supported on Linux,and has a usb connection to hook it up to our pc,

Questons:
Does anybody have mame working on tumbleweed?

I have no idea on how to fix this, and hope somebody can help me.

MAME seems to work fine, when I start it from the command line, I don’t get any errors. But as I said it does not see my roms.
I did add in mame a link to my rom folder, and restarted mame.
Mame does remember the link.

One thing I notice and remember from before, if there is a problem with the roms, mame will tell you this, but as far as I can tell mame does not see the roms at all.