Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: XFCE - No microphone input

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,486

    Default XFCE - No microphone input

    When I test with Skype, the microphone works. I close Skype. When I try to record using Audacity it doesn't. Audacity recognizes that it's default: Rear Mic:0. The recording level is turned up full, the vu meter is activated but shows nothing. Pavucontrol show Rear Microphone (plugged in) and the level is set at 0db. Alsa-firmware has been installed. YaST tells me that I have High Definition Audio Controller as index 0 and MCP61 High Defintion Audio as index 1.

    I have to say that in my many years since 9.1 configuring recording has been the most difficult and confusing openSUSE feature. Which is odd, because when I boot MX Linux, Linux Lite, or Xubuntu everything works from the start. I boot one of those when I want to record.

    I followed the Audio SDB and output playback always works, but little is mentioned when running XFCE. Could someone point me to a microphone setup post that deals with XFCE?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,091
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    To start with can you try recording input and at the same time run the following command in a terminal...
    Code:
    pacmd list-sources
    Report back with the captured output.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    To start with can you try recording input and at the same time run the following command in a terminal...
    Code:
    pacmd list-sources
    Report back with the captured output.
    Thank you for helping.

    Code:
     :~> pacmd list-sources2 source(s) available.
      * index: 0
        name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_05.0.analog-stereo.monitor>
        driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
        flags: DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
        state: SUSPENDED
        suspend cause: IDLE
        priority: 1030
        volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
                balance 0.00
        base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
        volume steps: 65537
        muted: no
        current latency: 0.00 ms
        max rewind: 0 KiB
        sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
        channel map: front-left,front-right
                     Stereo
        used by: 0
        linked by: 0
        configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 36.00 .. 1999.82 ms
        monitor_of: 0
        card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_05.0>
        module: 6
        properties:
            device.description = "Monitor of Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
            device.class = "monitor"
            alsa.card = "0"
            alsa.card_name = "HDA NVidia"
            alsa.long_card_name = "HDA NVidia at 0xfe024000 irq 22"
            alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
            device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:05.0"
            sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:05.0/sound/card0"
            device.bus = "pci"
            device.vendor.id = "10de"
            device.vendor.name = "NVIDIA Corporation"
            device.product.id = "03f0"
            device.product.name = "MCP61 High Definition Audio"
            device.form_factor = "internal"
            device.string = "0"
            module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
            device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
        index: 6
        name: <alsa_input.pci-0000_00_05.0.analog-stereo>
        driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
        flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
        state: SUSPENDED
        suspend cause: IDLE
        priority: 9039
        volume: front-left: 64332 /  98% / -0.48 dB,   front-right: 64332 /  98% / -0.48 dB
                balance 0.00
        base volume: 6554 /  10% / -60.00 dB
        volume steps: 65537
        muted: no
        current latency: 0.00 ms
        max rewind: 0 KiB
        sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
        channel map: front-left,front-right
                     Stereo
        used by: 0
        linked by: 0
        configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 1999.82 ms
        card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_05.0>
        module: 6
        properties:
            alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
            device.api = "alsa"
            device.class = "sound"
            alsa.class = "generic"
            alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
            alsa.name = "ALC1200 Analog"
            alsa.id = "ALC1200 Analog"
            alsa.subdevice = "0"
            alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
            alsa.device = "0"
            alsa.card = "0"
            alsa.card_name = "HDA NVidia"
            alsa.long_card_name = "HDA NVidia at 0xfe024000 irq 22"
            alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
            device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:05.0"
            sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:05.0/sound/card0"
            device.bus = "pci"
            device.vendor.id = "10de"
            device.vendor.name = "NVIDIA Corporation"
            device.product.id = "03f0"
            device.product.name = "MCP61 High Definition Audio"
            device.form_factor = "internal"
            device.string = "front:0"
            device.buffering.buffer_size = "352768"
            device.buffering.fragment_size = "176384"
            device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
            device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
            device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
            device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
            alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC1200"
            alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0888,103c2a72,00100101"
            module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
            device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
        ports:
            analog-input-front-mic: Front Microphone (priority 8500, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
                properties:
                    device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
            analog-input-rear-mic: Rear Microphone (priority 8200, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
                properties:
                    device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
            analog-input-linein: Line In (priority 8100, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
                properties:
                    
        active port: <analog-input-rear-mic>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,091
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Try setting the default source with...
    Code:
    pacmd set-default-source alsa_input.pci-0000_00_05.0.analog-stereo
    then attempt to record some sound via rear mic again. Any different?
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Try setting the default source with...
    Code:
    pacmd set-default-source alsa_input.pci-0000_00_05.0.analog-stereo
    then attempt to record some sound via rear mic again. Any different?
    Yes, I now get a signal in Audacity. My next question is, will it last? Well it's simple enough to execute a short script every time I want to use it. Now I will attempt to modify it for my other two desktops and will report back on conclusions.

    Thank you for the speedy assistance. Your help and that of many others is the main reason I have stayed with openSUSE since version 9.1.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,091
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Yes, I now get a signal in Audacity. My next question is, will it last? Well it's simple enough to execute a short script every time I want to use it. Now I will attempt to modify it for my other two desktops and will report back on conclusions.

    Thank you for the speedy assistance. Your help and that of many others is the main reason I have stayed with openSUSE since version 9.1.
    It should be persistent (ie user settings saved within ~/.config/puse/ directory).
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    It should be persistent (ie user settings saved within ~/.config/puse/ directory).
    It is persistent, but that causes a problem in recording online radio music which I play with a variety of applications, mpg123 and cvlc among others. How do I tell it to return to the system default? I would seriously consider removing pulseaudio except that I am told I need it for Skype.

    Sorry to keep occupying your time, but it will end.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,091
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    It is persistent, but that causes a problem in recording online radio music which I play with a variety of applications, mpg123 and cvlc among others. How do I tell it to return to the system default? I would seriously consider removing pulseaudio except that I am told I need it for Skype.

    Sorry to keep occupying your time, but it will end.
    Can you not switch input device via pavucontrol when required?
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,486

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Can you not switch input device via pavucontrol when required?
    Yes of course. I keep thinking of pavucontrol as an output device instead of an input selector.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,091
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Yes of course. I keep thinking of pavucontrol as an output device instead of an input selector.
    So, all sorted now?
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •