Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: XFCE - No microphone input

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,503

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    So, all sorted now?
    More or less, for the time being, perhaps. I have always found audio to be the most complicated part of our distro. I am sure that's due to my having been in the audio business since the days of vacuum tubes. No longer, thank you. And my age doesn't help either. Whenever things get really frustrating I boot Debian based distros that seem to work immediately after installation. I make web based long distance calls, listen to some calming music in my collection, and return to Leap with hopes of some day unravelling all it's secrets.

    In any case I truly thank you for your persistent assistance.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,269
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Yes, systems seem to get overly complicated, and some edge cases can cause issues for users. I don't typically encounter these (apart from what I read in the forums of course), but I'm not doing anything particularly creative/unusual with my Linux systems. Anyway, glad to have been of help.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,947

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    More or less, for the time being, perhaps. I have always found audio to be the most complicated part of our distro. I am sure that's due to my having been in the audio business since the days of vacuum tubes. No longer, thank you. And my age doesn't help either. Whenever things get really frustrating I boot Debian based distros that seem to work immediately after installation. I make web based long distance calls, listen to some calming music in my collection, and return to Leap with hopes of some day unravelling all it's secrets.

    In any case I truly thank you for your persistent assistance.
    Agreed audio is generally difficult as there are so many things involved (drivers, ALSA, PulseAudio from the top of my head) and then it's difficult to say where things break. On the bright side it's also difficult in Windows 10 at least for me sometimes switching input or output devices doesn't work at all or not as I would expect. Also at the moment in Windows there are the old configuration windows for audio and new ones and sometimes they don't play nice with each other.
    Best regards,
    Greg

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,503

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Since audio appears to be complicated (not just to me), could it not be simplified at installation time? If I didn't use Skype I think I could get by without pulseaudio. What if I only had one sound card? What if I would never ever record from a microphone? What if I didn't want Clementine? Could we not reduce the complexity by asking more questions at installation time, and only installing the necessary applications?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,704
    Blog Entries
    39

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Since audio appears to be complicated (not just to me), could it not be simplified at installation time? If I didn't use Skype I think I could get by without pulseaudio. What if I only had one sound card? What if I would never ever record from a microphone? What if I didn't want Clementine? Could we not reduce the complexity by asking more questions at installation time, and only installing the necessary applications?
    I guess it depends on the individual. Some of us like the massive flexibility that comes with the complexity.

    Who should the developers and packagers spend their effort to please here, given likely there are insufficient developers and insufficient packagers to tune the software to please the requests of everyone - especially given how much everyone pays (or more accurately put - does not pay) for openSUSE?

    I think it is not an easy question to answer.
    Last edited by oldcpu; 07-Oct-2020 at 21:23.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,947

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Since audio appears to be complicated (not just to me), could it not be simplified at installation time? If I didn't use Skype I think I could get by without pulseaudio. What if I only had one sound card? What if I would never ever record from a microphone? What if I didn't want Clementine? Could we not reduce the complexity by asking more questions at installation time, and only installing the necessary applications?
    For me at least PulseAudio simplifies things. I had no idea how to change input devices with pure ALSA and it's so easy with pavucontrol. ARts was non functional for me as well. There is also PipeWire comming so hopefully that will simplify things further
    Best regards,
    Greg

  7. #17

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    To this thread starter,
    Xfce user here. Have you tried the xfce4-mixer in tweaking your audio?
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,503

    Default Re: XFCE - No microphone input

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    To this thread starter,
    Xfce user here. Have you tried the xfce4-mixer in tweaking your audio?
    No, I was not aware of it. Many thanks, you have opened another door for me. Something else to experiment with.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •