Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Nvidia gives a black screen

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    5,030

    Default AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    You can use the G04.
    They are also for your card.
    Or use the one from the Nvidia Download side:
    https://www.nvidia.de/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en

    I use them here with a GTX 1060:
    Code:
    nvidia-settings -v && /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 vga
    
    nvidia-settings:  version 455.23.04
      The NVIDIA X Server Settings tool.
    
      This program is used to configure the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver.
      For more detail, please see the nvidia-settings(1) man page.
    
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] [10de:1c03] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] [10de:1c03]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia
            Kernel modules: nouveau, nvidia_drm, nvidia

  2. #22

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    You can use the G04.
    They are also for your card.
    Or use the one from the Nvidia Download side:
    https://www.nvidia.de/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en

    I use them here with a GTX 1060:
    Code:
    nvidia-settings -v && /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 vga
    
    nvidia-settings:  version 455.23.04
      The NVIDIA X Server Settings tool.
    
      This program is used to configure the NVIDIA Linux graphics driver.
      For more detail, please see the nvidia-settings(1) man page.
    
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] [10de:1c03] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] [10de:1c03]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia
            Kernel modules: nouveau, nvidia_drm, nvidia
    I installed the G04 and tried to use it for the game Elite Dangerous (wine-staging).
    The game prepared itself for the new drivers (it always does that when seeing new/updates drivers) but that process went very slow and stalled. In the end, it crashed.
    Installing G05 the hard way (440.100) works fine,
    Still it irks me not to know why the rpms for G05 do not work.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,861
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed_Vaessen View Post
    I installed the G04 and tried to use it for the game Elite Dangerous (wine-staging).
    The game prepared itself for the new drivers (it always does that when seeing new/updates drivers) but that process went very slow and stalled. In the end, it crashed.
    Installing G05 the hard way (440.100) works fine,
    Still it irks me not to know why the rpms for G05 do not work.
    Hi
    Install the latest driver 450.80.02 the hard way?

    A bug report against the driver? openSUSE:Submitting bug reports - openSUSE

    https://build.opensuse.org/project/s...:Drivers:Video
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #24

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Install the latest driver 450.80.02 the hard way?

    A bug report against the driver? openSUSE:Submitting bug reports - openSUSE

    https://build.opensuse.org/project/s...:Drivers:Video
    Have not done so.
    Things worked as they did with 440.100.
    Bur why don't the G05 rpms work?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    5,030

    Default AW: Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed_Vaessen View Post
    Bur why don't the G05 rpms work?
    Thats why you should report it, nobody here knows, maybe the maintainer or someone else can help.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,861
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed_Vaessen View Post
    Have not done so.
    Things worked as they did with 440.100.
    Bur why don't the G05 rpms work?
    Hi
    Because it's the 450.66 version... that's why try the hard way with the later drivers to see if they work, or the same as used in the rpm's 450.66, else who knows why an old driver works...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #27

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Because it's the 450.66 version... that's why try the hard way with the later drivers to see if they work, or the same as used in the rpm's 450.66, else who knows why an old driver works...
    Indeed the problem lies with the 450.66 version. The 450.80 works fine.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,861
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed_Vaessen View Post
    Indeed the problem lies with the 450.66 version. The 450.80 works fine.
    Hi
    Try the even later one? https://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/..._64/455.23.04/
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #29

    Default Re: AW: Nvidia gives a black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Works like a charm.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Nvidia gives a black screen

    just FYI. i had the same problem, couldn't post at the time as I couldn't login.
    If you installed the latest nvidia driver, it would not work with the latest kernel.
    I decided to stay on the "easy way" (not the hard way)

    I checked the date of the video driver in the repo here:
    http://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/15.2/x86_64/
    it was begin sept?, dont remember exactly
    then I installed the most recent kernel update just before that date and the problem was solved.
    I pinned the kernel version until nvidia would update their drivers.

    This week, I noticed they have indeed updated the driver (14 oct) so I unpinned the kernel version and updated both kernel and nvidia driver to the latest version.
    Indeed everything works again!

    I guess most users don't experience this problem as they don't update nvidia driver everytime an update is released. So only new installs would exhibit the problem or people who just upgraded the nvidia driver.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •