Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: qBittorent Won't Run

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Genova, Italia
    Posts
    53

    Question qBittorent Won't Run



    Package is installed, but if I click on its launcher icon or double-click a Torrent file it just won't run, nothing happens, it doesn't show up in KSysGuard either, anyone can land a hand please? Thanks.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed KDE Plasma 5 (Btrfs for / and XFS for /home) on a HP Pavilion 15-b119sl Sleekbook upgraded with a single Kingston HyperX FURY SSD (SHFS37A/240G)

  2. #2

    Default Re: qBittorent Won't Run

    try installing with flatpak, you shouldn't have problems.
    tumbleweed is awesome but there are a few apps that just seem to stay broken without anybody noticing like mysql-workbench and bomi which is not in the official repos.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Genova, Italia
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: qBittorent Won't Run

    Quote Originally Posted by FrankyU2 View Post
    try installing with flatpak, you shouldn't have problems.
    tumbleweed is awesome but there are a few apps that just seem to stay broken without anybody noticing like mysql-workbench and bomi which is not in the official repos.
    I just did and it works, thanks.
    Care to explain to me how flatpaks are maintained please?
    I've added the repo as per these instros, will it be check with the usual sudo zypper dup please? Thanks.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed KDE Plasma 5 (Btrfs for / and XFS for /home) on a HP Pavilion 15-b119sl Sleekbook upgraded with a single Kingston HyperX FURY SSD (SHFS37A/240G)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,870

    Default AW: qBittorent Won't Run

    I've added the repo as per these instros, will it be check with the usual sudo zypper dup please? Thanks.
    No.
    Thats why I do not use flatpack......


    Here is one of the bugreports:
    https://bugzilla.suse.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1176190

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27,114

    Default Re: qBittorent Won't Run

    Quote Originally Posted by darcode View Post
    .... but if I click on its launcher icon or double-click a Torrent file it just won't run, nothing happens, ....
    Fot next time the following hint.

    When a GUI program "does not start" or "does not do anything", start it from a terminal session so you can see any warnings, errors, etc. Also easy to copy/paste (between CODE tags) in your post. That will at least provide some information about what went wrong.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: qBittorent Won't Run

    Quote Originally Posted by darcode View Post
    I've added the repo as per these instros, will it be check with the usual sudo zypper dup please? Thanks.
    You can google for the command line tools to check/update flatpaks, but it is easier to occasionally use the Discover GUI app to do this update automatically for you. It is in the Applications / System menu.

    You can also install flatpaks using Discover as well. Search for the application you are looking for, select it (don't press the install buttun), and then if it is available as a flatpak a Sources pull down will be shown allowing you to choose flatpak instead of openSUSE.

  7. #7

    Default Re: AW: qBittorent Won't Run

    I wouldn't use flatpak for apps that are in the repos if stuff worked.
    Yes you can debug in a terminal and submit a bug report but sometimes you just want to use your app.
    And Discover is as buggy as hell. Maybe it's better now but you need an app that installs packages to be stable.



    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    No.
    Thats why I do not use flatpack......


    Here is one of the bugreports:
    https://bugzilla.suse.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1176190

  8. #8

    Default Re: qBittorent Won't Run

    You can find out more on their site.

    To update all you need to do is
    flatpak update
    should you decide to continue using it.
    You can also get Discover to manage flatpak apps for you but I've found Discover to be unreliable.


    Quote Originally Posted by darcode View Post
    I just did and it works, thanks.
    Care to explain to me how flatpaks are maintained please?
    I've added the repo as per these instros, will it be check with the usual sudo zypper dup please? Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,870

    Default AW: qBittorent Won't Run

    If you use a rolling release, you have to live with some bugs after an Update.
    They will be there and have to patched.

    Rolling relese means newest Version with newest bugs......

    As you can see in the bugreport there are some possibilities to get it working.
    Last edited by Sauerland; 12-Sep-2020 at 10:08.

  10. #10

    Default Re: AW: qBittorent Won't Run

    Yes, I know that. Tumbleweed has been my daily driver for years and don't see that changing.


    Quote Originally Posted by Sauerland View Post
    If you use a rolling release, you have to live with some bugs after an Update.
    They will be there and have to patched.

    Rolling relese means newest Version with newest bugs......

    As you can see in the bugreport there are some possibilities to get it working.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •