Thread: No wireless internet

Default No wireless internet

Hey forum,

I am new to Suse even though I have Opensuse for quite some time. I have the opensuse leap 42.1 version on my Lenovo laptop and I cannot connect to the internet wirelessly.

Since firefox does not work I tried pip install some. I got the following:
    Retrying(Retry(total=4, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by ‘NewConnectionError(‘pip._vendor.requests.packages.urllib3.connection.VerfiedHTTPSConnection object at ...some address...: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno -2] Name or service not known’,)’: simple/opensuse/
    (excuse possible typos, since I had to type it on my phone.)

If you have any pointers what I could do or possible solutions I would be really glad.

Have a good day,
    wowolo

Default Re: No wireless internet

Quote Originally Posted by wowolo View Post
    I have the opensuse leap 42.1 version on my Lenovo laptop and I cannot connect to the internet wirelessly.
    With the system administration tool YaST, check the Network settings:
    • For the case of a Laptop with WLAN, choose “Network Manager”.
    • Within YaST check that, the WLAN interface is present and active.
    • At a CLI prompt, type “ip link” to check if a WLAN interface is present and active – on Leap 42.1 you may have to use “ifconfig” to check the status of the network interfaces.

Blog Entries

Share your network hardware details if you get stuck...
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk |grep -iA3 net
    That will report both wired and wireless network devices. It should also report if a driver is loaded. As dcurtisfra already mentioned, the ip command can report if wlan0 (or similar) device node is present...
    Code:
    ip link
    If that checks out ok, you should be able to proceed with configuration.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

Default AW: No wireless internet