Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Windows missing from GRUB boot menu

Default Windows missing from GRUB boot menu

All,

I have OpenSuSe 15.2 installed in a dual boot configuration with Windows 10 on a Gigabyte Aero laptop. GRUB used to display both Suse and Windows as boot options. A few days ago after an Open Suse update I noticed that Windows had disappeared from the boot menu. This happened once before, and I was able to fix it by returning to an earlier snapshot and running the update again. Unfortunately this time something has corrupted Snapper, and I only have snapshots after the update in question. I am not an expert, but here is what I know:

1) This laptop uses UEFI.
    2) Both Windows and SuSe are using secure boot.
    3) Windows is still present and can be booted through the “BBS” menu. (F12 during POST)

When I repaired this last time I was directed to a menu during boot where I was able reset the Windows credentials. I cannot seem to find that menu now. Thanks in advance for all the help.

The Kapt

Default Re: Windows missing from GRUB boot menu

Quote Originally Posted by kaptdeath View Post
    All,

I have OpenSuSe 15.2 installed in a dual boot configuration with Windows 10 on a Gigabyte Aero laptop. GRUB used to display both Suse and Windows as boot options. A few days ago after an Open Suse update I noticed that Windows had disappeared from the boot menu. This happened once before, and I was able to fix it by returning to an earlier snapshot and running the update again. Unfortunately this time something has corrupted Snapper, and I only have snapshots after the update in question. I am not an expert, but here is what I know:

1) This laptop uses UEFI.
    2) Both Windows and SuSe are using secure boot.
    3) Windows is still present and can be booted through the “BBS” menu. (F12 during POST)