Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    After a fresh install of Leap 15.2 I have the wireless connection to my modem/router giving me connection to the internet but not to my local (Windows) LAN. Have tried wicked and network manager but can't get passed the following message when I try to access my LAN using the Files application :
    "failed to retrieve share list from server: connection refused"
    I don't think anything is broken but rather some setting, I don't know what or where, that I have not made correctly, if at all. Maybe also there is a software component that I need to find and install.
    I don't want to share any resources from my Leap 15.2 computer but do want to be able to access other computers and a networked printer on the LAN.
    I'm afraid my Linux/Leap skills don't extend beyond "following my nose and hoping for the best". But I can follow instructions carefully. Any help in understanding what this problem is and its solution would be much appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27,102

    Default Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    I am not sure what you mean with "seeing computers on the LAN". but when you want to know if computers on a LAN have a connection, one uses ping. So from one system ping one or more of the others by IP address.
    Code:
    ping <IP address>
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,063
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    If I understood your opening post correctly, you're referring to attempting to access Windows shares via your openSUSE host. Which version of Windows is/are involved? You should know that openSUSE Leap 15.2 is using samba 4.11.x now and as such SMBv1 is disabled by default now for well-known security reasons.
    https://www.samba.org/samba/history/samba-4.11.0.html

    It can be enabled (if absolutely necessary), but best to avoid and use SMB2/3 (servers and clients) wherever possible.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    If I understood your opening post correctly, you're referring to attempting to access Windows shares via your openSUSE host. Which version of Windows is/are involved? You should know that openSUSE Leap 15.2 is using samba 4.11.x now and as such SMBv1 is disabled by default now for well-known security reasons.
    https://www.samba.org/samba/history/samba-4.11.0.html

    It can be enabled (if absolutely necessary), but best to avoid and use SMB2/3 (servers and clients) wherever possible.
    Thank you for that advice, I will investigate that link. My lan was set up a few years ago using Win 7. It now just has 1 x iMac (High Sierra, current version), one Win7 pc, my Leap 15.2 host, 1 x Brother networked printer, 1 x (old) Netgear ReadyNAS Duo V2 NAS unit and a Sagemcom nbn wifi modem, courtesy of Optus.
    Before my fresh install of L15.2 I was using L15.1 and all was well. Maybe not having set up Samba on L15.2 is my problem. Since I don't need to share any resources from my L15.2 host, I presume that I need only setup Samba client?
    Thank you again, for your time and help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22,063
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    Quote Originally Posted by sga View Post
    Thank you for that advice, I will investigate that link. My lan was set up a few years ago using Win 7. It now just has 1 x iMac (High Sierra, current version), one Win7 pc, my Leap 15.2 host, 1 x Brother networked printer, 1 x (old) Netgear ReadyNAS Duo V2 NAS unit and a Sagemcom nbn wifi modem, courtesy of Optus.
    Before my fresh install of L15.2 I was using L15.1 and all was well. Maybe not having set up Samba on L15.2 is my problem. Since I don't need to share any resources from my L15.2 host, I presume that I need only setup Samba client?
    Thank you again, for your time and help.
    The Brother printer should able to be detected and configured without too much effort. I assume that you have the Brother printer driver packages installed already?

    The Mac should be accessible as well. Can you access the share(s) via 'Gnome Files' app by IP address? eg "smb://<IP address>/share"
    https://www.techrepublic.com/article...om-gnome-3-34/

    You could find that the Ready NAS only supports SMB1, and your choices are to re-enable that on your openSUSE client, but preferably upgrade the NAS to something supporting at least SMB2.

    https://community.netgear.com/t5/Usi...1/td-p/1455685

    See what the following discovery command reports about your LAN environment
    Code:
    avahi-browse -art
    Just post the output here so that we can advise further.
    Last edited by deano_ferrari; 18-Aug-2020 at 18:40.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,363

    Question Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    Quote Originally Posted by sga View Post
    the wireless connection to my modem/router giving me connection to the internet but not to my local (Windows) LAN.
    Are you certain that, the WLAN connection to your Router isn't using a “Guest” network?
    • If it is then, that connection doesn't get a Route to the rest of your local LAN …

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    27,102

    Default Re: Leap 15.2 can't see local LAN computers

    Quote Originally Posted by dcurtisfra View Post
    Are you certain that, the WLAN connection to your Router isn't using a “Guest” network?
    • If it is then, that connection doesn't get a Route to the rest of your local LAN …
    I already asked to check if there is TCP/IP connection between the systems in post #2 above. The OP never aswered to that.

    To the OP. you expression of "local (Windows) LAN" is a misnomer. LAN means Local Area Network. To add the word "local" gives no extra information. And in the world we live, a LAN is always a TCP/IP network. Never a "Windows" one, or even a "Linux" one.
    Henk van Velden

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •