Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux Command Line Paper Manual

Hybrid View

Question Linux Command Line Paper Manual

I'm a Linux and openSUSE noob who'd like to get more familiar with the terminal in order to both be more productive than with the GUI and more quickly review/update configs, would this book be a good starting point please:

The Linux Command Line, 2nd Edition: A Complete Introduction
    https://www.amazon.com/Linux-Command...dp/1593279523/

If not, please do suggest the proper paper one please?

Thanks.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed KDE Plasma 5 (Btrfs for / and XFS for /home) on a HP Pavilion 15-b119sl Sleekbook upgraded with a single Kingston HyperX FURY SSD (SHFS37A/240G)

Blog Entries

Default Re: Linux Command Line Paper Manual

Hi
    If there are specific commands, then just print to postscript file and convert to pdf?

For example;

Code:
    man -t date > date.ps
    ps2pdf date.ps date.pdf

man -t gzip > gzip.ps
    ps2pdf gzip.ps gzip.pdf
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

That's command by command, I'm actually looking for a book which groups them according to purpose (e.g. networking via command line, text manipulation via BASH, etc.) not just man pages, thanks.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed KDE Plasma 5 (Btrfs for / and XFS for /home) on a HP Pavilion 15-b119sl Sleekbook upgraded with a single Kingston HyperX FURY SSD (SHFS37A/240G)

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by darcode View Post
    That's command by command, I'm actually looking for a book which groups them according to purpose (e.g. networking via command line, text manipulation via BASH, etc.) not just man pages, thanks.
    Hi