Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

  1. #1

    Default Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    The upgrade 15.1->15.2 seems to have gone well, but cannot log in on one main account.
    I have two accounts on my machine, my main account and a testing account intended for maintenance techs etc.
    Logging in on the testing account works as normal, but logging in on the main account gives a black screen with flashing vertical white cursor bar at top left of screen which echoes back characters typed at the keyboard but does not respond to commands. Same response if I log in immeditately, or log in as tester and then try to switch accounts.
    How to proceed at this point to get back into the main account? I have access to root through the testing account.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,872
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Hi, welcome here

    You don't tell us what desktop environment you're using. Nor how you performed the upgrade ( though at first impression that doesn't seem to be the issue ). Can you post screenshots from the failing user's desktop on paste.opensuse.org ( use the Image button to upload ) and post the resulting link here?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Hi, welcome here

    You don't tell us what desktop environment you're using. Nor how you performed the upgrade ( though at first impression that doesn't seem to be the issue ). Can you post screenshots from the failing user's desktop on paste.opensuse.org ( use the Image button to upload ) and post the resulting link here?
    Thanks, I am using Gnome as provided by 15.2, and was using Gnome previously in 15.1.
    I downloaded the 15.2 DVD version and ran that to do the upgrade. Everything worked with the exception of my being required to choose the SUSE versions of some packages I had installed from Packman.
    The failing user's desktop is never displayed; all I see is the black screen with the flashing cursor. I am presented with the login screen listing the two accounts, the tester account works correctly but the main account just goes to black. So I am not sure what I should upload, the image of a black screen?

    I have tried going into Yast in the account that works, added the main user to a group to force it to re-save the details and tried to log in again but still end up in a black screen.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    14,518
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Use CTRL-ALT-F1 to get to a command line.
    See if this user can login at the command line.

    If that works, then the problem is likely in user configuration -- perhaps some setting that isn't compatible with Gnome 3.34.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5.18.5;

  5. #5

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    Use CTRL-ALT-F1 to get to a command line.
    See if this user can login at the command line.

    If that works, then the problem is likely in user configuration -- perhaps some setting that isn't compatible with Gnome 3.34.
    Thanks, yes the main user can log in at the command line.
    For anyone trying the same CTRL-ALT-F1 the key combination to get back to the original screen is CTRL-ALT-F2.
    I will try some random changes in the setup for that account; unless I can find a list of incompatibilities.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    14,518
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    If all else fails, then try from a command line login:
    Code:
    mkdir OLD
    mv .config OLD/.
    mv .local OLD/.
    That gets rid of most user settings, though with a saved copy.

    Then see if you can login and reconfigure. And, finally, see what you can rescue from what you moved to that OLD directory. Use a different name instead of "OLD" if "OLD" already exists.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5.18.5;

  7. #7

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    If all else fails, then try from a command line login:
    Code:
    mkdir OLD
    mv .config OLD/.
    mv .local OLD/.
    That gets rid of most user settings, though with a saved copy.

    Then see if you can login and reconfigure. And, finally, see what you can rescue from what you moved to that OLD directory. Use a different name instead of "OLD" if "OLD" already exists.
    Good suggestion, nrickert. It worked right away. Desktop is a bit messed up with settings and config gone but I have access to a lot of saved info.
    Thanking you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,456

    Question Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    That gets rid of most user settings, though with a saved copy.
    Huh??? There is a chance that, GNOME doesn't migrate the user's settings from the old version to new version?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    14,518
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by dcurtisfra View Post
    Huh??? There is a chance that, GNOME doesn't migrate the user's settings from the old version to new version?
    I don't use Gnome enough to have a good picture of that.

    I have seen messed up settings in KDE after going to a newer version, thought that was back with plasma 4. Mozilla is the best about migrating settings to a newer version. I have never run into a problem with firefox migration.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5.18.5;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,456

    Default Re: Upgraded to 15.2, now main account does not give access

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I have never run into a problem with firefox migration.
    Me also not.

    KDE Plasma 5 is usually OK but, sometimes – it ain't perfect …

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •