Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40

Thread: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

  1. #11

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by stevetom View Post

    I noted the dual modules - do you know how I can remove the duplicate? "modprobe" probably... mind you I suspect the doubling is due to the hardware found.
    Code:
    !!Loaded ALSA modules
    !!-------------------
    
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_hda_intel
    In my case first (#0) sound card is HDMI output, and second (#1) is internal sound card (Realtek ALC1220).
    By default Leap 15.1 is using first = HDMI output, i.e. no input is available.

    Install pasystray utility and examine what PulseAudio is doing. With it I managed to use HDMI audio output for some software, and ALC1220 for another - if I am using PulseAudio for sound output.
    With pasystray you may set default sink and source as you wish.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Banburyshire, UK
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    oldcpu

    your request to see the output from /usr/sbin/alsa-conf is not so simple... Leap 15.2 appears to have moved on and no file with that name exists on my system. /usr/sbin/alsactl writes to a file /var/lib/alsa/asound.state which looks relevant, but is over 1000 lines - how would I get that to you?
    There is also a directory structure under /usr/share/alsa with lots of configuration data (but I can't be certain what you are looking for)

    cheers
    stevetom

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Banburyshire, UK
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Svyatko,

    interesting... acording to alsamixer card 0 is the "HDA Intel PCH" with inputs and outputs whilst card1 has only S/PDIF channels. With either card it seems not possible to modify the levels of any of the S/PDIF channels. In YaST-->Hardware-->Sound I left card 1 - not configured, not seeing why I should want it, plus the 50-sound.conf "image=0" might upset things.

    Can you show me how you made that determination (of the card identities). I do suspect that YaST and alsa are getting mixed up with things maybe due to some basic configuration funnies.

    Thanks for the pasystray tip, I think I will leave it in my "back pocket" in case I have more complex needs. I only need a microphone for Zoom type usage and it should be possible to use my combo headset for that.

    regards
    stevetom

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Banburyshire, UK
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Svyatko, apologies, I miscomprehended your recent post; when you described the cards as Card 0 - HDMI, Card 1 ALC1220, I thought you were describing my hardware, whereas, when I read that again, you are describing your own hardware.
    It seems like we have very similar sound card hardware...
    After thinking it over, I did install pasystray however it seems to hang (root or normal user) - possibly doesn't like my Gnome environment. Shame, it maybe could have shone a bit of light into whatever is going on...

    regards
    stevetom

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,657
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by stevetom View Post
    Leap 15.2 appears to have moved on and no file with that name exists on my system.
    Interesting. Thats a surprise.

    Note from this alsa project wiki page run in a terminal/xterm:
    Code:
     cd ~/
     wget http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    You will be prompted to upload the information or save it locally. The easiest way to share the information is to automatically upload it to the alsa-project server and copy/paste the address you're given. You can also choose to save the information locally, and alsa-info will output a text file in /tmp . You can then upload that file to whoever wants it. (Remember: files in the /tmp directory will be removed on every reboot.)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,657
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by stevetom View Post
    the 50-sound.conf came from a forum SDB - that's where the "dual-codecs" came from (mind you it was one of your articles that told me the importance of identifying the sound card codec, from which the "model-tag" could be discovered in the kernel source), the forced index was from later in that same SDB - sound playback did not work until I had made those modifications.

    I noted the dual modules - do you know how I can remove the duplicate? "modprobe" probably... mind you I suspect the doubling is due to the hardware found.
    Here is what I would do if it were my computer ...

    As noted in openSUSE-15.1 you had two intel modules loaded:
    Code:
    !!Loaded ALSA modules
    !!-------------------
    
    snd_hda_intel
    snd_hda_intel
    So to ensure the HDMI is NOT the default device, you can force the PCH to be soundcard 0.

    I note the LEAP-15.1 script gave:
    Code:
    !!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
    !!-----------------------------
    
     0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                          HDAudio-Gigabyte-ALC1220DualCodecs
     1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                          HDA NVidia at 0xa1000000 irq 17
    and gave:
    Code:
    !!PCI Soundcards installed in the system
    !!--------------------------------------
    
    00:1f.3 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Comet Lake PCH cAVS [8086:06c8]
        Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer Device [1558:67e1]
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation TU106 High Definition Audio Controller [10de:10f9] (rev a1)
        Subsystem: CLEVO/KAPOK Computer Device [1558:67e3]
    Hence you could try deleting the original 50-sound.conf file content (or back it up in your /home/user directory) and instead have this as content:

    Code:
    options snd_hda_intel index=0 vid=8086 pid=06c8
    options snd_hda_intel index=1 vid=10de pid=10f9
    reboot and test. If that does not work, restore your old 50-sound.conf content.

    Do NOT backup the 50-sound.conf in the /etc/modprobe.d directory, as it may be run there even if saved as a backup.

    This works on LEAP-15.1 and earlier openSUSE versions - I assume it would also work on LEAP-15.2 but I do not know that for certain.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Banburyshire, UK
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    oldcpu, many thanks for that...

    1) my mistake, I'm running Leap 15.1 currently, I expect to upgrade to 15.2 in a day of two.

    2) I understand your modprobe.d suggestions - I didn't know that the vid/pid info was embedded in card information. I will test that later tonight hopefully, will report results and also provide new alsa-info using the command you provided.

    regards
    stevetom

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Banburyshire, UK
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    oldcpu,

    that did not work out as expected. I seems that using YaST --> Hardware --> Sound (Y-H-S hereafter) to configure the NVidia card=1, YaST overwrote 50-sound.conf and after reboot Y-H-S showed the NVidia as card=0 and Intel "not configured", and no sound input - and a very different 50-sound.conf. However Y-H-S-Volume had sane labels: Master, PCM | Channels (a good thing I thought). But I think that's enough for tonight.

    Tomorrow I will attempt to clean up (as demonstrated by several reboots) and experiment with the sound.conf (with a clean brain) - I'm thinking options: vid,pid,model,index and an alias each for card0/card1.

    In the worst case I will re-install (shock! shudder!) and start with a clean sheet, and try to be patient enough to alsa-info before and after changes.

    regards
    stevetom

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    21,723
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by stevetom View Post
    In the worst case I will re-install (shock! shudder!) and start with a clean sheet, and try to be patient enough to alsa-info before and after changes.
    That would be excessive. You'll only end up back where you started anyway. You can always remove the existing audio config in /etc/modprobe.d/ directory, and start over. When making custom configs (as suggested by oldcpu), best to edit the file directly, and don't use YaST.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,657
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: No Input Signal from my Internal Microphones

    Quote Originally Posted by stevetom View Post
    that did not work out as expected. I seems that using YaST --> Hardware --> Sound (Y-H-S hereafter) to configure the NVidia card=1, YaST overwrote 50-sound.conf
    That is true. Once one hand edits the 50-sound.conf file, one can not then go into YaST > Hardware > Sound without losing one's edits. Ergo, after making the edit to the 50-sound.conf do not go into Y-H-S.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •