Thread: Newbie Leap 15.1 Installation - How to get WiFi to work?

Question Newbie Leap 15.1 Installation - How to get WiFi to work?

Hi all, since there is no newbie forum, I will seek help here.

I am a complete newbie to Linux and decided to try openSUSE after having just installed Manjaro. But I am now faced with the issue of not having a working WiFi, or at least I don't know how to make it work.

I am using KDE and noticed that there is no WiFi option at the bottom right of the task bar. How do I enable the WiFi? I have checked on YAST and here's the picture of it. The hardware is detected:

It even says Drivers Active: Yes. Any thoughts please?

Additional Background Info
    I am currently a Windows 10 user and am thinking of giving Linux a (another) try. It has been something like 12 years since I last dabbled with Linux (Ubuntu) then. Back then, I just played around with it as a second OS and got nothing meaningful done on it. My productivity OS has always been Windows, just like most of the PC users out there. Recently, my HDD died on me on my Dell XPS 8910. I have a C Drive (256 GB SSD) and a D Drive (2TB HDD) - the D Drive failed on me and I lost quite a bit there (I have also sent it for professional recovery). I have gotten myself a brand new 512GB SSD and have made a clean install of Windows 10, and thought to myself, why not try Linux. Perhaps it has matured quite a bit since the last decade.

I did some research around and have installed Manjaro, which worked well for a basic start-up. I am looking to set up a home server, possibly in the near future and thus is trying out openSUSE. Both of these Linux distros are installed on my existing 256GB SSD.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Newbie Leap 15.2 Installation - How to get WiFi to work?