Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point - SOLVED!

    I'm not sure what caused it, but a fact is that I've got a working ip address on the wlan connection?

    I did a "zypper up", which pulled in new broadcom-wl versions. After reboot, things got worse: not even an ip6 address. But the "NO CARRIER" that was already gone, did not return, so that was good.

    Reconfiguring through Yast did not help.

    Rather desperate, I decided to give Networkmanager another try, and whoopla! it made a connection!

    I rebooted, to be sure the connection was persistent, and it was.

    @Sauerland: many thanks for your help!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,384

    Default AW: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Rather desperate, I decided to give Networkmanager another try, and whoopla! it made a connection!
    Oops the wpa_supplicant bug........

    My fault.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Just curiosity - which bug do you mean? Upstream there are several still open. If it is 1166933 in bugzilla, question remains why Networkmanager didn't work at first. But that will remain an academic question,I suppose.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,384

    Default AW: Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Quote Originally Posted by jehojakim View Post
    Just curiosity - which bug do you mean? Upstream there are several still open. If it is 1166933 in bugzilla, question remains why Networkmanager didn't work at first. But that will remain an academic question,I suppose.
    Yes, that bug, wpa_supplicant and wicked.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Hmmm - after a few days, the problem re-appears: on start-up, the system asks for the root password for access to the network, then comes in a loop of infinitely asking for the WPA2- passwd of the router.
    In fact, the situation I described in opening this thread.

    I'll go to the site in a few hours, but is there something I can do about this?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Been there in the meantime. System asked for the root password, and then the WPA@-password, and the connection was made now, without the password-loop.

    Funny thin was that the connection did not get the name of the SSID, so I set that by hand.

    Rebooted again, now things were back to normal.

    But no idea what caused the problem, nor how it was ΅solved". So, it works, but it still feels unstable.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Here I am again...

    After a power outage Networkmanager does not see OUR network anymore. It sees a lot of networks of neighbours, but not ours.
    The network is up, I use it on my phone this very moment.
    If I issue "iwlist wlan0 scan", I get all the ESSID's around here, but again not our own.

    I'm rather desparate...

    Any ideas what might cause it, and how to repair it?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    13,829
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    See what happens if you disable wireless in the NetworkManager applet. Save that change. Then, after a minute or so, come back and re-enable it.

    At present, I am using wired ethernet, so it's hard to test that. But, in the past, that has worked to get NetworkManager to rescan for available connections. It's a lot easier than rebooting.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5.18.5;

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    See what happens if you disable wireless in the NetworkManager applet. Save that change. Then, after a minute or so, come back and re-enable it.

    At present, I am using wired ethernet, so it's hard to test that. But, in the past, that has worked to get NetworkManager to rescan for available connections. It's a lot easier than rebooting.
    Thanks, I'll try that. That will take a while, because I'm not at the system: it is from my father-in-law, and he lives in another town. And since he has, because of the problems, no internet connection at the moment, Teamviewer is not an option.

    I would think, though, that iwlist does a fresh scan each time it is invoked, and the home network doesn't come up there, too. Tried it several times. So I'm somewhat in doubt if your suggestion would render different results. But maybe my reasoning is incorrect?

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •