Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    163

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point - SOLVED!

    I'm not sure what caused it, but a fact is that I've got a working ip address on the wlan connection?

    I did a "zypper up", which pulled in new broadcom-wl versions. After reboot, things got worse: not even an ip6 address. But the "NO CARRIER" that was already gone, did not return, so that was good.

    Reconfiguring through Yast did not help.

    Rather desperate, I decided to give Networkmanager another try, and whoopla! it made a connection!

    I rebooted, to be sure the connection was persistent, and it was.

    @Sauerland: many thanks for your help!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,210

    Default AW: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Rather desperate, I decided to give Networkmanager another try, and whoopla! it made a connection!
    Oops the wpa_supplicant bug........

    My fault.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    163

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Just curiosity - which bug do you mean? Upstream there are several still open. If it is 1166933 in bugzilla, question remains why Networkmanager didn't work at first. But that will remain an academic question,I suppose.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,210

    Default AW: Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Quote Originally Posted by jehojakim View Post
    Just curiosity - which bug do you mean? Upstream there are several still open. If it is 1166933 in bugzilla, question remains why Networkmanager didn't work at first. But that will remain an academic question,I suppose.
    Yes, that bug, wpa_supplicant and wicked.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    163

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Hmmm - after a few days, the problem re-appears: on start-up, the system asks for the root password for access to the network, then comes in a loop of infinitely asking for the WPA2- passwd of the router.
    In fact, the situation I described in opening this thread.

    I'll go to the site in a few hours, but is there something I can do about this?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Akkrum, Netherlands
    Posts
    163

    Default Re: Not able to connect to wifi-access point

    Been there in the meantime. System asked for the root password, and then the WPA@-password, and the connection was made now, without the password-loop.

    Funny thin was that the connection did not get the name of the SSID, so I set that by hand.

    Rebooted again, now things were back to normal.

    But no idea what caused the problem, nor how it was ΅solved". So, it works, but it still feels unstable.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •