Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    234

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    If anything,
    Code:
    zypper remove xf86-video-nouveau
    made things worse.

    What about xrender? I couldn't find a package with that name.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,387

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    If anything,
    Code:
    zypper remove xf86-video-nouveau
    made things worse.
    I'd like to see /var/log/Xorg.0.log before and after the change.
    Code:
    susepaste -n shmuelmetz -e 10080 /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    should do it, though it may claim failure. Whether it in fact failed can be tested by visiting http://susepaste.org to see if any paste by shmuelmetz showed up in recent minutes. The resulting URL found there can be pasted here.

    What about xrender? I couldn't find a package with that name.
    I have no idea what engages that or not.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    14,421
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    What about xrender? I couldn't find a package with that name.
    It's a setting.

    Configure Desktop --> Display and Monitor --> Compositor --> Rendering Backend

    Another possibility that you could try, is to set
    Code:
    LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1
    in your environment. You would need to set that in ~/.profile or similar startup file, so that it is set before your desktop starts.
    openSUSE Leap 15.2; KDE Plasma 5.18.5;

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    234

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by Svyatko View Post
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...ocessing_units

    G72 = GeForce 7200/7300/7500 series.
    It is too old - 2006 year.
    Looks like you are using nouveau driver, which works badly with KDE.
    Try to disable OpenGL acceleration in KDE - use XRender instead.
    Or try to install Nvidia proprietary driver - you will need G02 from https://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/42.3/x86_64/ .

    Or change videocard.
    If you want to use old one then try ATI/AMD hardware - it still works with Mesa drivers.
    Radeon HD X2000 series (Terascale) or newer are good enough.
    Do I need all three?
    Code:
    nvidia-computeG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64.rpm
    nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64.rpm
    x11-video-nvidiaG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64.rpm

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    234

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by Svyatko View Post
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...ocessing_units

    G72 = GeForce 7200/7300/7500 series.
    It is too old - 2006 year.
    Looks like you are using nouveau driver, which works badly with KDE.
    Try to disable OpenGL acceleration in KDE - use XRender instead.
    Or try to install Nvidia proprietary driver - you will need G02 from https://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/42.3/x86_64/ .

    Or change videocard.
    If you want to use old one then try ATI/AMD hardware - it still works with Mesa drivers.
    Radeon HD X2000 series (Terascale) or newer are good enough.
    I tried that and got
    Code:
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ # zypper in https://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/42.3/x86_64/nvidia-computeG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64.rpm \
    >  https://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/42.3/x86_64/nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64.rpm \
    >  https://download.nvidia.com/opensuse/leap/42.3/x86_64/x11-video-nvidiaG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64.rpm
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    3 Problems:
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
    
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 1: do not install nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 2: break nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64 by ignoring some of its dependencies
    
    Choose from above solutions by number or skip, retry or cancel [1/2/s/r/c/d/?] (c): 1
    
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 1: do not install nvidia-computeG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 2: break nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64 by ignoring some of its dependencies
    
    Choose from above solutions by number or skip, retry or cancel [1/2/s/r/c/d/?] (c): 1
    
    Problem: nothing provides ksym(default:PDE_DATA) = 8c971ed4 needed by nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 1: do not install x11-video-nvidiaG02-304.137-22.1.x86_64
     Solution 2: break nvidia-gfxG02-kmp-default-304.137_k4.4.76_1-22.1.x86_64 by ignoring some of its dependencies
    
    Choose from above solutions by number or skip, retry or cancel [1/2/s/r/c/d/?] (c): 1
    Resolving dependencies...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    Nothing to do.
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ #

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,387

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    I repeated my request for Xorg.0.log to OP privately. He did so. I see nothing in them to indicate X is his problem. He's currently using the modesetting DDX.

    Next I suggest two things to help try to determine what's going wrong:
    • go into System Settings > Display & Monitor > Compositor and deselect enable compositor on startup, then restart Plasma
    • at the SDDM login greeter, choose an IceWM session instead of Plasma
    Do either of these avoid the problem? If so, most likely Plasma is the problem, not a video driver or gfxcard.

    There may be clues in ~/.xsession-errors. If it's small, it can be pasted in here using code tags. If large, then uploading to http://susepaste.org would be better.

    More clues might be found via dmesg and/or journal:
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b | grep -i failed
    sudo dmesg | grep -i failed
    could provide starting points for closer examination of those logs. Again, either paste here if small, or upload if not.

    Another option might be to swap GPUs if another is available, and just not boot ArcaOS until after determining whether a GPU change helps.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    234

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I repeated my request for Xorg.0.log to OP privately. He did so. I see nothing in them to indicate X is his problem. He's currently using the modesetting DDX.

    Next I suggest two things to help try to determine what's going wrong:
    • go into System Settings > Display & Monitor > Compositor and deselect enable compositor on startup, then restart Plasma
    • at the SDDM login greeter, choose an IceWM session instead of Plasma

    Do either of these avoid the problem? If so, most likely Plasma is the problem, not a video driver or gfxcard.

    There may be clues in ~/.xsession-errors. If it's small, it can be pasted in here using code tags. If large, then uploading to http://susepaste.org would be better.

    More clues might be found via dmesg and/or journal:
    Code:
    sudo journalctl -b | grep -i failed
    sudo dmesg | grep -i failed
    could provide starting points for closer examination of those logs. Again, either paste here if small, or upload if not.

    Another option might be to swap GPUs if another is available, and just not boot ArcaOS until after determining whether a GPU change helps.
    Deselecting compositor on startup leads to smother scrolling, but VLC won't start.

    Running under root I can't find ~/.xsession-errors:

    Code:
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ # ls ~/.*
    /root/.Xauthority  /root/.bash_history  /root/.directory  /root/.gtkrc-2.0  /root/.xauthCRdsn5  /root/.xauthodXMtZ
    However, /home/shmuel/.xsession-errors-:0 has over a thousand lines. https://susepaste.org/11149290

    The output of the suggested commands is:


    Code:
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ # journalctl -b | grep -i failed
    Mar 03 14:44:43 localhost kernel: acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    Mar 03 14:44:45 localhost systemd-vconsole-setup[260]: KD_FONT_OP_GET failed while trying to get the font metadata: Function not implemented
    Mar 03 14:45:16 localhost nscd[743]: 743 stat failed for file `/etc/resolv.conf'; will try again later: No such file or directory
    Mar 03 14:45:17 localhost avahi-daemon[803]: Failed to open /etc/resolv.conf: No such file or directory
    Mar 03 14:45:17 localhost systemd[1]: smartd.service: Unit entered failed state.
    Mar 03 14:45:17 localhost systemd[1]: smartd.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
    Mar 03 14:45:18 localhost systemd-udevd[434]: Process '/usr/sbin/alsactl restore 0' failed with exit code 99.
    Mar 03 14:46:00 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kwin_x11[1674]: "\"fsrestore1\" - conversion of \"0,0,0,0\" to QRect failed"
    Mar 03 14:46:01 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 org_kde_powerdevil[1720]: powerdevil: org.kde.powerdevil.backlighthelper.brightness failed
    Mar 03 14:46:27 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 dbus-daemon[812]: [system] Failed to activate service 'org.bluez': timed out (service_start_timeout=25000ms)
    Mar 03 17:31:29 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 baloo_file[4853]: Failed to register via dbus. Another instance is running
    Mar 03 17:31:29 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kwin_x11[4851]: "\"fsrestore1\" - conversion of \"0,0,0,0\" to QRect failed"
    Mar 03 17:31:29 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kwin_x11[4851]: "\"fsrestore2\" - conversion of \"0,0,0,0\" to QRect failed"
    Mar 03 17:31:31 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 org_kde_powerdevil[4900]: powerdevil: org.kde.powerdevil.backlighthelper.brightness failed
    Mar 03 17:31:59 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 dbus-daemon[812]: [system] Failed to activate service 'org.bluez': timed out (service_start_timeout=25000ms)
    Mar 03 17:31:59 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kdeinit5[4822]: org.kde.bluez: PendingCall Error: "Failed to activate service 'org.bluez': timed out (service_start_timeout=25000ms)"
    Mar 03 20:15:38 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kernel: sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#29 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    Mar 03 20:15:38 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kernel: sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#30 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    Mar 03 20:15:39 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kernel: sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#10 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    Mar 03 20:15:39 ARCAOS-40ADEE0 kernel: sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#13 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ #
    Code:
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ # dmesg | grep -i faile
    [    0.179893] acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    [19857.336606] sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#29 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    [19857.392552] sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#30 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    [19857.984547] sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#10 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    [19858.104561] sr 3:0:0:0: [sr1] tag#13 FAILED Result: hostbyte=DID_OK driverbyte=DRIVER_SENSE
    ARCAOS-40ADEE0:~ #

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,387

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    Deselecting compositor on startup leads to smother scrolling,
    A good sign.

    but VLC won't start.
    VLC will not start as root. It's one of those apps that knows better than the superuser what the superuser should be capable of doing with his own system.

    Running under root I can't find ~/.xsession-errors:
    Good!

    However, /home/shmuel/.xsession-errors-:0 has over a thousand lines.
    That file has no timestamps, could be indicating problems already solved by the DDX switch. Please log out of Plasma and remove that file, then start Plasma, log right back out, then look at it, if it has been recreated already at that point.

    Next it might be worth deleting all files in ~/.cache/ while logged out of Plasma, to see how well things go with a fresher normal user.

    The output of the suggested commands is:
    Code:
    # journalctl -b | grep -i failed
    ...
    # dmesg | grep -i faile
    ...
    I don't see anything in those I recognize as cause of your observed trouble. That's not to say there isn't, just that I'm not up to speed of most of their meanings. My Intel 4 Series only has Plasma on TW. This is what I get there:
    Code:
    # dmesg | grep -i ailed
    [    0.400948] acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    # journalctl -b | grep -i ailed
    Mar 02 19:52:49 big41 kernel: acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    Mar 02 19:52:53 big41 systemd[1]: haveged.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
    Mar 03 00:52:57 big41 nscd[586]: 586 stat failed for file `/etc/services'; will try again later: No such file or directory
    It seems to be doing just fine! The last two are about a known problem having nothing I know of to do with Plasma. ACPI errors typically can only be solved if a BIOS upgrade can be installed.

    Have you done any zypper dups since installing? If not, next step I suggest is to do so. Once that's done, try reenabling compositor. It might be these GPUs are so old that that's a bad idea. I keep mine off. I don't like many of the effects it allows.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    234

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    A good sign.

    VLC will not start as root. It's one of those apps that knows better than the superuser what the superuser should be capable of doing with his own system.

    Good!

    That file has no timestamps, could be indicating problems already solved by the DDX switch. Please log out of Plasma and remove that file, then start Plasma, log right back out, then look at it, if it has been recreated already at that point.

    Next it might be worth deleting all files in ~/.cache/ while logged out of Plasma, to see how well things go with a fresher normal user.

    I don't see anything in those I recognize as cause of your observed trouble. That's not to say there isn't, just that I'm not up to speed of most of their meanings. My Intel 4 Series only has Plasma on TW. This is what I get there:
    Code:
    # dmesg | grep -i ailed
    [    0.400948] acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    # journalctl -b | grep -i ailed
    Mar 02 19:52:49 big41 kernel: acpi PNP0A08:00: _OSC failed (AE_NOT_FOUND); disabling ASPM
    Mar 02 19:52:53 big41 systemd[1]: haveged.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
    Mar 03 00:52:57 big41 nscd[586]: 586 stat failed for file `/etc/services'; will try again later: No such file or directory
    It seems to be doing just fine! The last two are about a known problem having nothing I know of to do with Plasma. ACPI errors typically can only be solved if a BIOS upgrade can be installed.

    Have you done any zypper dups since installing? If not, next step I suggest is to do so. Once that's done, try reenabling compositor. It might be these GPUs are so old that that's a bad idea. I keep mine off. I don't like many of the effects it allows.
    I deleted /home/shmuel/.xsession-errors-:0

    I assume that I should leave the sub-directories of ~shmuel/.cache alone and delete only

    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/icon-cache.kcache
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/ksycoca5_en_iwBfheaJ4WcRFeFDC29QXWo8QGQ=
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/ksycoca5_en_IxZ8+W+nxexpk6CmuSzbyenGXnc=
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/plasma_theme_openSUSE_v0.5.kcache
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/plasma-svgelements-openSUSE_v0.5
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/qt_compose_cache_little_endian_3f5f5d11b29d4493a86ee4355a63f27c
    • file:///home/shmuel/.cache/qt_compose_cache_little_endian_d7d9920dce2447218be726401dc8a14d

    I've only used zypper dup for Tumbleweed; isn't LEAP 15.1 frozen?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,387

    Default Re: KDE desktop overlayed and eventually hangs

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    I assume that I should leave the sub-directories of ~shmuel/.cache alone
    Cache is cache, temporary, in theory recreated as needed, but not always done properly. Deleting everything just causes a bit of delay when cache needs to be recreated, less angst than a corrupt cache can cause. I'd delete everything that I'm not certain could have no possible relationship to Xorg or KDE or Plasma or SDDM. It's easier to eradicate all of it then decide what's what. KDE/Plasma does have a history of occasionally improving behavior after cache clearing. I clear it myself fairly often.

    I've only used zypper dup for Tumbleweed; isn't LEAP 15.1 frozen?
    I should have written zypper up. My bad. Then again, 'zypper dup --from Packman', if configured and enabled, stands a remote chance of helping - or the opposite.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •