Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    887

    Default YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    My mother's computer is unable to configure a HDMI sound device (video card) from YaST2 - Sound, due to seeing the snd-hda-intel kernel module as missing. Is this a system package I need to install, or an installation error that's causing the module not to load?

    openSUSE Tumbleweed x64, KDE Framework 5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Hi
    It's a kernel module, can you check the output from;

    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Audio
    
    eg;
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Audio
    
    00:01.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio [1002:9840]
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:8305]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    --
    00:14.2 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller [1022:780d] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:8305]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    I got nowhere with YaST too. Read (especially the end of) these and you might get lucky using pavucontrol:
    https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1163046
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...n-15-1-or-15-2
    I did, around 10 days later. I hope you get it much faster, and comment in the bug if you do.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    I got nowhere with YaST too. Read (especially the end of) these and you might get lucky using pavucontrol:
    https://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1163046
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...n-15-1-or-15-2
    I did, around 10 days later. I hope you get it much faster, and comment in the bug if you do.
    Hi
    The OP's card is an older AMD GPU... it should work....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    I have an Oland too, but no HDMI sound from Plasma or Youtube from it (with pavucontrol not installed). YaST2 fails to make HDMI system/web sound work, as explained in a fresh bug 1163046 comment.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    887

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Hi. Here is the output of the lspci command:

    Code:
    elenis@linux-iwc7:~> /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Audio
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:3a3e]
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:82fe]
            Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
            Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    --
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Oland/Hainan/Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7000 Series] [1002:aab0]
            Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Device [1458:aab0]
            Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
            Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    openSUSE Tumbleweed x64, KDE Framework 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    http://bugzilla.opensuse.org/show_bu...id=1163046#c10

    --- Comment #10 from Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...> ---
    Don't use YaST sound setup for such modern systems. It's a thing to be dropped
    in future in anyway, just like X setup.
    Unfortunately, Takashi didn't explain where the docs are for how it should be done. https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Audio_troubleshooting needs an overhaul by someone who actually understands alsa-info.txt output, if anyone does. Takashi might be the only *SUSE person who possesses that level of knowledge.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1, TW, 15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,iQ45,iQ43,iG41,iG3X,i965G,AMD,NVidia&&&

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    29,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by MirceaKitsune View Post
    Hi. Here is the output of the lspci command:

    Code:
    elenis@linux-iwc7:~> /sbin/lspci -nnk | grep -A3 Audio
    00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:3a3e]
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:82fe]
            Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
            Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    --
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Oland/Hainan/Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7000 Series] [1002:aab0]
            Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Device [1458:aab0]
            Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
            Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
    Hi
    To my eye that means it's all good and more likely a desktop environment issue.... I have no issues on my two laptops with amd cpu/gpu and hdmi output with sound, SLED 15 SP1, Leap 15.1 and Tumbleweed running with the GNOME DE and Xorg, not Wayland. I have one other laptop running Leap 15.1 with a Kabini [Radeon HD 8180] but it only runs multi-user no desktop installed so can't check that one....

    If you create a test user, does sound work?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    887

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    To my eye that means it's all good and more likely a desktop environment issue.... I have no issues on my two laptops with amd cpu/gpu and hdmi output with sound, SLED 15 SP1, Leap 15.1 and Tumbleweed running with the GNOME DE and Xorg, not Wayland. I have one other laptop running Leap 15.1 with a Kabini [Radeon HD 8180] but it only runs multi-user no desktop installed so can't check that one....

    If you create a test user, does sound work?
    The issue is with configuring the device in YaST2 - Sound which is always ran by root. PulseAudio hasn't set it up, and when I try to do that I get the error about the missing module. I still looked in the audio device list (KDE system tray icon) but couldn't find the device, only the motherboard audio which works fine. I'm wondering if anyone else has seen that error when doing Quick Setup in YaST2 Sound and knows what could be triggering it.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed x64, KDE Framework 5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    887

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    https://www.reddit.com/r/openSUSE/co...el_corporation

    https://www.reddit.com/r/openSUSE/co..._in_tumbleweed

    Two people reported the same or highly similar issues on the openSUSE Reddit, one a month ago and another just today. It's possible this is a bug in the latest versions of Tumbleweed.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed x64, KDE Framework 5

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •