Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,206

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by MirceaKitsune View Post
    I'm wondering if anyone else has seen that error when doing Quick Setup in YaST2 Sound and knows what could be triggering it.
    Yes, yes, yes, and yes, nearly every time I tried, and on every PC, and not just in TW, but also 15.1 and 15.2. My only failure to fail was on a Debian installation. I did get one 15.1 and one 15.2 to work so far by using pavucontrol to disable all analog output. Quoting the comment in the bug written by its owner:
    Don't use YaST sound setup for such modern systems. It's a thing to be dropped in future in anyway, just like X setup
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1,TW,15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,863
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Yes, yes, yes, and yes, nearly every time I tried, and on every PC, and not just in TW, but also 15.1 and 15.2. My only failure to fail was on a Debian installation. I did get one 15.1 and one 15.2 to work so far by using pavucontrol to disable all analog output. Quoting the comment in the bug written by its owner:
    Hi
    Here is a different system (DELL Venue 11 Tablet) with Tumbleweed and Gnome and Wayland.... working before and after latest updates....




    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,206

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Here is a different system (DELL Venue 11 Tablet) with Tumbleweed and Gnome and Wayland.... working before and after latest updates....
    Did you read the bug? I have no doubt working audio is possible. My complaint, now that we know YaST isn't expected to work and keep us out of trouble, is lack of discoverable documentation how (since pulseaudio is disabled for root user):

    a mere mortal can make it work, particularly when it claims to, but does not:

    plus do so without disabling headphone (analog) output.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1,TW,15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,863
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Did you read the bug? I have no doubt working audio is possible. My complaint, now that we know YaST isn't expected to work and keep us out of trouble, is lack of discoverable documentation how (since pulseaudio is disabled for root user):

    a mere mortal can make it work, particularly when it claims to, but does not:

    plus do so without disabling headphone (analog) output.
    Hi
    I have not touched YaST in years to configure my cards, I have set the default sink with pacmd and default.pa

    Did you see the ML post today, firmware and boot tweaks (also another sound forum thread indicated a boot option to add) for newer cards.

    BUT the OP of this thread has an older card (and yourself), this should still work, there is something funky with your setups or desktops I believe it is not kernel module related for this thread.

    I have tested three laptops and one desktop with intel and amd HDMI sound working, the only thing different is the desktop environments <shrug>.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by MirceaKitsune View Post
    My mother's computer is unable to configure a HDMI sound device (video card) from YaST2 - Sound, due to seeing the snd-hda-intel kernel module as missing. Is this a system package I need to install, or an installation error that's causing the module not to load?

    The latest tumbleweed update breaks the HDMI in yast2.
    You have to configure using pulseaudio.
    Even using the pulseaudio mixer under configuration on HDMI
    you might find all the HDMI are unplugged and unavailable.
    Not to worry about it, just find the HDMI that will give you sound in the selection.
    See the screenshot, I have two different HDMI showing, it is from my 2 nvidia graphics card,one is off cause I don't use it
    but the one in use shows as unplugged and unavailable but is working.
    My setup is simultaneous sound from analog sourround output and HDMI output.


    If it is still not working you can use the xfce4-mixer to turn on the HDMI (digital) it is a nice gui instead of alsamixer.
    Note that you have to use also the PCM and increase the volume.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  6. #16

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    The latest tumbleweed update breaks the HDMI in yast2.
    You have to configure using pulseaudio.
    Even using the pulseaudio mixer under configuration on HDMI
    you might find all the HDMI are unplugged and unavailable.
    Not to worry about it, just find the HDMI that will give you sound in the selection.
    See the screenshot, I have two different HDMI showing, it is from my 2 nvidia graphics card,one is off cause I don't use it
    but the one in use shows as unplugged and unavailable but is working.
    My setup is simultaneous sound from analog sourround output and HDMI output.


    If it is still not working you can use the xfce4-mixer to turn on the HDMI (digital) it is a nice gui instead of alsamixer.
    Note that you have to use also the PCM and increase the volume.
    Please I mean use the pavucontrol. My mistake in wording it as pulseudio mixer.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sauerland
    Posts
    4,403

    Default AW: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel


  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,206

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    pacmd and default.pa
    These are terms I've never before seen.

    Did you see the ML post today, firmware and boot tweaks
    Which mailing list? I can't find any post with string "tweak" or from author "Malcom" in trash or opensuse or multimedia folders.

    (also another sound forum thread indicated a boot option to add) for newer cards.
    Is "sound forum" a reference to the Multimedia forum here? I don't see a sound forum here. Neither do I see any recent Multimedia thread title that looks related to this problem. Is this maybe the same as Sauerland's #17 in this thread, or https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-...msg00307.html? I already added Sauerland's link as an external link on https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Audio_troubleshooting, which I've spent several recent hours on trying to get less out-of-date.

    BUT the OP of this thread has an older card (and yourself), this should still work, there is something funky with your setups or desktops I believe it is not kernel module related for this thread.
    Takashi has convinced me to give up on YaST for sound issues.

    I have tested three laptops and one desktop with intel and amd HDMI sound working, the only thing different is the desktop environments <shrug>.
    Any time I think DE might be the problem I try with the default openSUSE alternate, IceWM, even though sound shouldn't depend on any DE; it should work booted to multi-user using aplay.

    I'm trying to find the magic root that makes HDMI take precedence over every other audio device, but no luck so far. Intel HDA chipset on SDB:Audio_troubleshooting seems to touch the subject, but in reverse, so it hasn't helped me so far.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.1,TW,15.2 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&15.1 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.2,15.1,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    869

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Seems I managed to get the device working using pavucontrol as suggested... even the settings from the KDE audio system tray icon let me set a device profile! I could confirm that audio is output properly to the TV now. I'll try to configure it from YaST2 as well once this bug is fixed, but now this is no longer a necessity.
    openSUSE Tumbleweed x64, KDE Framework 5

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,863
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: YaST2 - Sound can't configure HDMI audio device: Missing snd-hda-intel

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    These are terms I've never before seen.
    Hi
    I use pacmd list-sinks then set the hdmi one as the output sink, esp on desktops with dedicated card and add to /etc/pulse/default.pa

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Which mailing list? I can't find any post with string "tweak" or from author "Malcom" in trash or opensuse or multimedia folders.

    Is "sound forum" a reference to the Multimedia forum here? I don't see a sound forum here. Neither do I see any recent Multimedia thread title that looks related to this problem. Is this maybe the same as Sauerland's #17 in this thread, or https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-...msg00307.html? I already added Sauerland's link as an external link on https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Audio_troubleshooting, which I've spent several recent hours on trying to get less out-of-date.

    Takashi has convinced me to give up on YaST for sound issues.
    This one ML post
    https://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-.../msg00307.html

    and this thread/post
    https://forums.opensuse.org/showthre...31#post2927031


    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Any time I think DE might be the problem I try with the default openSUSE alternate, IceWM, even though sound shouldn't depend on any DE; it should work booted to multi-user using aplay.

    I'm trying to find the magic root that makes HDMI take precedence over every other audio device, but no luck so far. Intel HDA chipset on SDB:Audio_troubleshooting seems to touch the subject, but in reverse, so it hasn't helped me so far.
    Well the GTK app pavucontrol isn't even install on my systems, so older cards don't work, newer cards don't work, but mine which are in the middle do, if the kernel module is loading, what are the parameters in use?

    Code:
    systool -vm snd_hda_intel
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •