Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    12,025
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Quote Originally Posted by dt30 View Post
    Not sure I fully understand, but sounds like that describes it. The external monitor is larger and has more pixels and that's the default setting. What should I try - same as the laptop or just keep guess until something works half-acceptable?

    And yes, I forgot to mention, arranging the monitors on the Display and Monitor system settings behaved in ways strange to me. Particularly odd to me was if they overlapped. Is that the expected behavior? I even placed one entirely within the other with interesting results. Should these monitor symbols be touching, overlapped, or not touching at all? I have little experience with more than one monitor so this behavior is all strange to me. And to fully test this, do I need to restart LibreOffice, re-login, reboot or should it be active on the fly?
    Like yourself, I tried everything I could think of including the things you describe but didn't find a solution so in that <one> case I just shrugged and did my best and left it at that. I don't have a proper answer, just saying I ran into that one time.

    TSU
    Beginner Wiki Quickstart - https://en.opensuse.org/User:Tsu2/Quickstart_Wiki
    Solved a problem recently? Create a wiki page for future personal reference!
    Learn something new?
    Attended a computing event?
    Post and Share!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,804

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Quote Originally Posted by dt30 View Post
    And yes, I forgot to mention, arranging the monitors on the Display and Monitor system settings behaved in ways strange to me. Particularly odd to me was if they overlapped. Is that the expected behavior? I even placed one entirely within the other with interesting results. Should these monitor symbols be touching, overlapped, or not touching at all? I have little experience with more than one monitor so this behavior is all strange to me. And to fully test this, do I need to restart LibreOffice, re-login, reboot or should it be active on the fly?
    No comment about Plasma, since apparently it does funny things in this area.
    On Gnome I see that the two screens are always "touching", never overlapped or with any gaps, and changes are applied "on the fly" in general, while on Impress I may need to exit and re-enter "presentation mode" ( by ESC and then F5).
    Leap 15.1 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    testing Leap 15.2Beta

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central USA
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Looks like I'm late to finding the bugs again.

    Thanks for everyone's input. At least I know it's not something I'm failing to do correctly. So sounds like just try to figure out a combination that works and use it.

    In my case, the laptop doesn't matter KDE or Gnome, so I might switch it and give it a try.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central USA
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    I made one last attempt at every resolution using one laptop and an external monitor. Nothing worked.

    Then I installed Gnome and it worked as expected! I used the Gnome Classic as the other Gnome's I couldn't handle. Something about a blank screen is just too odd for me. Maybe just different, but I need buttons and switches, a start bar. And use, there was something at the top left, but I couldn't figure it out to change display settings and run office.

    I then tried the other options included on the default login screen, but nothing helped there. I may have to try Xfce what I heard about.

    Impress runs in "windowed", but I found out that isn't too useful as you can't really do anything else. What I'd really like is some sort of setup/software that allows you to have multiple windows and you click which one you want to send to the external monitor. But is that even possible? How is it determined what is sent out the external port?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,804

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Quote Originally Posted by dt30 View Post
    I made one last attempt at every resolution using one laptop and an external monitor. Nothing worked.

    Then I installed Gnome and it worked as expected! I used the Gnome Classic as the other Gnome's I couldn't handle. Something about a blank screen is just too odd for me. Maybe just different, but I need buttons and switches, a start bar. And use, there was something at the top left, but I couldn't figure it out to change display settings and run office.

    I then tried the other options included on the default login screen, but nothing helped there. I may have to try Xfce what I heard about.

    Impress runs in "windowed", but I found out that isn't too useful as you can't really do anything else. What I'd really like is some sort of setup/software that allows you to have multiple windows and you click which one you want to send to the external monitor. But is that even possible? How is it determined what is sent out the external port?
    Not clear to me what you see or what you are trying to achieve.
    For a test I switched to "Gnome Classic" and Impress works as expected there too, irrespective if in "windowed" or "full screen" mode: with the "presenter console" enabled, when you hit F5 the active presentation (or "active window" if several are open) goes full screen on the external monitor, while the presenter console pops up on the internal monitor.
    Maybe you have a wrong setting of the two monitors; what I describe is with "Join display" in the display setting.
    If you don't figure out how to reach that, click on the upper right corner of the screen, then the "tools" button, scroll down the left menu and choose "Devices", then "Displays" and check that "Join displays" is selected, how the two displays are joined seems irrelevant, but I have the external touching the internal on the right side.
    If I missed something, please ask.
    Leap 15.1 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    testing Leap 15.2Beta

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central USA
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    I got a chance to try it on the Gnome system. If I select full screen, it works as expected, with the full screen on the external monitor and the presenter console on the laptop. If I select windowed, it grays out the presentation display and it runs in a window on the laptop with just the blank desktop showing on the external monitor. I can run other programs at the same time, but not useful if I can't show it on the external.

    I forgot to look for the "join display" setting. Is that something you have to set differently when running in windowed mode?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,804

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    If I got it right, you need something like this (external monitor on the right, laptop LCD on the left)


    so my presentation stays on the external while I'm typing this (or am doing whatever I want on the laptop LCD).
    To do that, with "Presentation settings" in "Windowed mode", you have to drag the Impress window out of the right edge of the LCD until it shows on the external (assuming that the external is "joint" to the right of the LCD as in my case).
    When Impress is fully on the external, you may do whatever you want with it, for instance double-click on the title bar to show it "full screen" on the external as in the image above.
    Meanwhile, moving your mouse to the left, entering the "LCD" field of view on the left, you may do whatever you want with other applications showing there.
    Of course to change slide you have to move the mouse out to the right until you can click on the Impress window.

    If I missed something, try to show an example of what you are looking for...
    Leap 15.1 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    testing Leap 15.2Beta

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Central USA
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Ah, I did not understand the expected results. I had expected the output to be sent to the external monitor as in non-windowed mode. So the windowed is the target goal and you move that over to your external monitor as an extended desktop. So even double-clicking the title bar, the menu remains as part of the presentation? I noticed some programs, such as Firefox, you can go to full-screen mode without the menu bar. Or some will have the menu bar auto disappear. Anything along that line?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    1,804

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Sorry, I don't get it.
    You want the presentation to go "full screen"? Go to Slide Show > Slide Show Settings > Presentation mode > check "Full Screen"
    > When you hit "F5" the current slide goes "Full screen" on the external monitor (default) or whatever you select in the menu.
    If the "Presenter Console" is enabled, it is shown on the Laptop (default) or the other way round; if it is not enabled, the normal window remains where it was (on the Laptop or on the external but "covered" by the presentation).
    > When you hit "Esc", you exit "presentation mode", the normal window shows wherever you dragged it.

    You want the presentation to go "windowed"? Go to Slide Show > Slide Show Settings > Presentation mode > check"In a Window"
    > When you hit "F5" the current slide fills the current window.
    You can resize, drag the window to your liking, double click on the title bar etc. but you remain "in a window" with its title bar (toolbars etc. can still be hidden if desired), for "Full screen" please see above.
    > When you hit "Esc", you exit "presentation" mode and the editing view fills the window again.

    The "Shift"+"Ctrl"+"J" you might be used to for "full screen" in Calc or Writer does not work in Impress.

    Note that with Gnome you still have other workspaces to use other applications while the presentation is running, try "CTRL"+"ALT"+"Down arrow".
    With default settings the workspaces span only the primary display (say, the Laptop screen) but you can change that if needed.
    Leap 15.1 Gnome on i7 4720HQ + Geforce GTX960M
    testing Leap 15.2Beta

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: LibreOffice Impress with multiple displays

    Quote Originally Posted by dt30 View Post
    I'm trying to use an external monitor to display the presentation of LibreOffice Impress.
    Within the “Slide Show - Slide Show Settings” Do you have the “Multiple Displays” setup correctly?
    <https://help.libreoffice.org/6.4/en-...SS&System=UNIX>
    Multiple Displays

    By default the primary display is used for slide show mode. If the current desktop is displayed on more than one display, you can select which display to use for full screen slide show mode. If the current desktop spans only one display, or if the multi display feature is not supported on the current system, you cannot select another display.

    Presentation display

    Select a display to use for full screen slide show mode.

    If the system allows the user to span a window over all available displays, you can also select "All displays". In this case the presentation is spanned over all available displays.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •