Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    Because it is not called rtl​8723bs.
    I know - see above. I copied the name from the Mint thread.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by arvidjaar View Post
    It is not PCI, it is SDIO adapter. I do not know if it is even possible to enumerate SDIO devices.
    Try "modprobe r8723bs". If wireless interface does not appear, provide full output of dmesg (upload to https://susepaste.org if it is long and post link).
    I try to use susepast.org, but after filling in and clicking "create" I get a message "not found"

    So, I put the result of "dmesg" in this link http://www.audiophoto.com.br/dmesg.txt

    "modprobe r8723bs" return nothing

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    "modprobe r8723bs" return nothing
    That's as expected. The next step is to see if a wireless device node now exists.
    Code:
    ip a
    If so, proceed with configuring.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Along with the requested dmesg output, you could also try examining the SDIO device tree with something like
    Code:
    ls -R /sys/bus/sdio
    However, I'm not certain that the wifi driver will handle such a device.
    That's the result from ls-R
    Code:
    sergio@linux-yzrb:~> ls -R /sys/bus/sdio
    /sys/bus/sdio:
    devices  drivers  drivers_autoprobe  drivers_probe  uevent
    /sys/bus/sdio/devices:
    mmc0:0001:1
    /sys/bus/sdio/drivers:
    rtl8723bs
    /sys/bus/sdio/drivers/rtl8723bs:
    bind  mmc0:0001:1  uevent  unbind
    sergio@linux-yzrb:~> 

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post

    That's as expected. The next step is to see if a wireless device node now exists.
    Code:
    ip a
    If so, proceed with configuring.
    That's the 'ip a"
    Code:
    
    sergio@linux-yzrb:~> ip address 
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether dc:35:f1:d4:1f:90 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    sergio@linux-yzrb:~> 

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    The device node 'wlan0' is present. Have you tried configuring yet? Are you using NetworkManager or wicked?
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    The device node 'wlan0' is present. Have you tried configuring yet? Are you using NetworkManager or wicked?
    Yes, I tried and also tried use
    NetworkManager and Wicked
    No wifi appears

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    Yes, I tried and also tried use
    NetworkManager and Wicked
    No wifi appears
    Ok, assuming NetworkManager is active report back with output from
    Code:
    nmcli d
    Code:
    nmcli g
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Jundiai, São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Ok, assuming NetworkManager is active report back with output from
    Code:
    nmcli d
    Code:
    nmcli g
    That's codes now return all ok
    I turned this notBook on and off for several days, always trying to use the internet.. This was never possible, because there was no connection. No wifi was found.
    Today while trying to change from wicked to networkmanager.... There was my wifi network visible.
    What was the reason this happen?
    If I ever happen again, what can I do?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: REALTEC RTL8723BS WIRELESS no work

    Good to read that it is finally working.
    Quote Originally Posted by sergelli View Post
    That's codes now return all ok
    In general, always a good idea to post requested output, not just interpret it with words. Good to read that it is finally working as expected.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •