Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Can't boot from HD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Can't boot from HD

    Just installed 15.1 from USB on to an older notebook. When I boot from the installation USB I can start the OS on the HD, but when I remove the USB and do a cold start it does not boot, saying it can't find the OS.

    It was a straight forward install following all the suggestions except for choosing XFCE for a desktop. My HD was partitioned thus...

    Code:
      Disk /dev/sda: 298.1 GiB, 320072933376 bytes, 625142448 sectors
    Disk model: TOSHIBA MQ01ABF0
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disklabel type: gpt
    Disk identifier: 9E7775CD-CD95-4307-8FD2-1075B162D395
    
    Device         Start       End   Sectors   Size Type
    /dev/sda1       2048   1026047   1024000   500M EFI System
    /dev/sda2    1026048 620947455 619921408 295.6G Linux filesystem
    /dev/sda3  620947456 625142414   4194959     2G Linux swap
    How do I correct the bootloader? Fdisk does not give me the option to make sda2 bootable. Thanks for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Your partitioning implies the installation was in UEFI mode. Does your "older" notebook support UEFI? Can you use BIOS setup to select sda1 to boot from in UEFI mode? If you boot the installed system using the stick, what does efibootmgr report?
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Thanks for the speedy response.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Your partitioning implies the installation was in UEFI mode. Does your "older" notebook support UEFI?
    Yes as far as I know.

    Can you use BIOS setup to select sda1 to boot from in UEFI mode?
    No. I am locked out of the BIOS.

    If you boot the installed system using the stick, what does efibootmgr report?
    Code:
    BootCurrent: 0002
    Timeout: 0 seconds
    BootOrder: 0002,0001,0003
    Boot0000* HDD: 
    Boot0001* BRCM MBA Slot 0400 v15.0.11
    Boot0002* TOSHIBA MQ01ABF032              
    Boot0003* KingstonDataTraveler 2.0
    Boot0004* opensuse
    Boot0005* opensuse-secureboot
    ion@linux-xk6v:~>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,071
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    Thanks for the speedy response.



    Yes as far as I know.



    No. I am locked out of the BIOS.



    Code:
    BootCurrent: 0002
    Timeout: 0 seconds
    BootOrder: 0002,0001,0003
    Boot0000* HDD: 
    Boot0001* BRCM MBA Slot 0400 v15.0.11
    Boot0002* TOSHIBA MQ01ABF032              
    Boot0003* KingstonDataTraveler 2.0
    Boot0004* opensuse
    Boot0005* opensuse-secureboot
    ion@linux-xk6v:~>
    Hi
    If you change the boot order and make sure it is used next;

    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4,5
    efibootmgr -n 4
    systemctl reboot
    Is this a dual boot system?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,972
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    What happens if you boot with the USB inserted, then unplug it and have YaST's bootloader module rewrite it? One only has to open the module and accept/ok
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    What happens if you boot with the USB inserted, then unplug it and have YaST's bootloader module rewrite it? One only has to open the module and accept/ok
    Well I had tried that early on, but left the USB plugged in. This time I pulled the USB, but it still didn't work. However see my next post.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    If you change the boot order and make sure it is used next;

    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4,5
    efibootmgr -n 4
    systemctl reboot
    Is this a dual boot system?
    It didn't like "efibootmgr -o 4,5", so I tried "efibootmgr -o 4" and the rest of the commands, and now it boots. Many thanks for getting me back to something I can use.

    And no it's not dual boot.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    I was wrong. I did not do a cold start but a reboot. When I did a cold start it would not start. I will try again and report.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    It didn't like
    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4,5
    so I tried
    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4 5
    which executed. I then shutdown. It wouldn't start giving me the "No OS" message. Now just to make things more difficult I have to tell you that before all this I had managed to install 15.0 successfully. But it took me so long to do that and it was so complicated I did not document it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,071
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can't boot from HD

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    It didn't like
    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4,5
    so I tried
    Code:
    efibootmgr -o 4 5
    which executed. I then shutdown. It wouldn't start giving me the "No OS" message. Now just to make things more difficult I have to tell you that before all this I had managed to install 15.0 successfully. But it took me so long to do that and it was so complicated I did not document it.
    Hi
    Boot from the rescue USB again and show the output from;

    Code:
    efibootmgr -v
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •