Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    This time I didn't need to edit the boot options, and I got the Leap logo before the command line came back. Now how do I start the graphical interface? I ran startx but it said xinit failed and I should use a display manager.
    To make startx work for an ordinary user requires a change of permissions on /usr/bin/Xorg. The official (& unrecommended) way to do this is via /etc/permissions.local, changing its last line by removing the leading #, then applying the change with chkstat.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  2. #12

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    What's the recommended way? Should I use a display manager as it said? I wouldn't know how to do that; I would've thought it came with a display manager since I chose KDE at installation.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    What's the recommended way? Should I use a display manager as it said? I wouldn't know how to do that; I would've thought it came with a display manager since I chose KDE at installation.
    The display manager SDDM is normally installed when KDE is selected, so the best way forward is to find out what's preventing it from starting. Knowing some detail about your Intel and NVidia GPUs and other hardware should help with diagnosis. I suggest to boot without nomodeset on cmdline into multi-user mode by appending a space and 3 on the kernel cmdline along with adding plymouth.enable=0 and nouveau.modeset=0 and removing quiet and splash=silent. As boot completes, try to make a mental note of error messages seen on screen. When boot completes, do Ctrl-Alt-F3, login as root, run 'zypper in inxi', then run 'WINDOWMANAGER=startplasma-x11 startx'. If that fails to start Plasma, then try 'WINDOWMANAGER=startkde startx'. If you get into Plasma, open Konsole and do:
    Code:
    cat /proc/cmdline
    inxi -GxxS
    xrandr --listproviders
    xrandr
    Copy all that input and output to a file, then exit Plasma. Next, paste that file's content here, upload /var/log/Xorg.0.log to https://susepaste.org, and report the resultant URL here. Sometimes the command susepaste will successfully do the uploading, so you can avoid transferring the info elsewhere to use a web browser for uploading, e.g.
    Code:
    susepaste -n SceoMyntan -e 10080 /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    susepaste -n SceoMyntan -e 10080 mycatinxixrandrifile
    If startx even fails as root login, then try uploading /var/log/Xorg.0.log anyway. Also do:
    Code:
    dmesg > dmesgfile.txt
    journalctl -b > jrnlfile.txt
    lspci -nnk | grep -A4 VGA > other.txt
    rpm -qa | grep dm >> other.txt
    and upload files dmesgfile.txt, jrnlfile.txt and other.txt to susepaste.org. Report here whatever you can remember of error messages seen on screen during boot.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Nürnberg, Germany
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    What's the recommended way? Should I use a display manager as it said? I wouldn't know how to do that; I would've thought it came with a display manager since I chose KDE at installation.
    I use KDE and also a Nvidia card with proprietary drivers. However, I use KDM instead of SDDM with good results. After all, there ought to be some »synergy« between the KDE display manager and the KDE desktop environment, so why not take advantage of that?

    Using a very stripped down, unthemed and absolutely minimal kdmrc, KDM starts considerably faster than SDDM (on my machine, about 80 to 90ms according to »systemd-analyze blame«, compared to SDDM taking over 400ms). The only thing I added to it was for KDM to auto-login into my standard user.

    Another thing I had to do in order to avoid said black screen:
    Code:
    sudo usermod --append --groups video my-standard-user
    sudo usermod --append --groups video kdm # not sure if this one is still necessary
    The Nvidia drivers seem(ed?) to deny service if the caller isn't in the »video« group. Hope this helps. Cheers!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,071
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Hi
    So you need to look at either bumblebee or suse-prime for the dual GPU's;

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_Bumblebee

    For X only, no wayland support...

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:NVIDIA_SUSE_Prime
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #16

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Okay, now I've tried both startx commands with and without sudo and I still get that serverauth and Xauthority do not exist. Still no Plasma. The susepastes failed as well.

    I already did install Bumblebee. After that, I started getting the Leap logo at boot but no graphical desktop.

    I have Intel UHD Graphics 620 and Nvidia P1000.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,071
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    Okay, now I've tried both startx commands with and without sudo and I still get that serverauth and Xauthority do not exist. Still no Plasma. The susepastes failed as well.

    I already did install Bumblebee. After that, I started getting the Leap logo at boot but no graphical desktop.

    I have Intel UHD Graphics 620 and Nvidia P1000.
    Hi
    Then I would back out of the Bumblebee install, or make sure it's up to date with the kernel you booting from.

    Check the output of uname -a should match the installed bumblebee kmp version;

    Code:
    uname -a
    zypper se -si bumblebee
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #18

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    uname -a is 4.12.14-lp151.28.20. Bumblebee version is 3.2.1-lp151.2.4, which seems to be the highest version.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    Okay, now I've tried both startx commands with and without sudo and I still get that serverauth and Xauthority do not exist. Still no Plasma.
    Did you miss the part about logging in as root?

    The susepastes failed as well.
    Did you try pasting to https://susepaste.org using a web browser? There are also http://pastebin.com and other similar upload alternatives.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,071
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Booting to a black screen; nomodeset didn't fix

    Quote Originally Posted by SceoMyntan View Post
    uname -a is 4.12.14-lp151.28.20. Bumblebee version is 3.2.1-lp151.2.4, which seems to be the highest version.
    Hi
    And the kmp for bumblebee, does the last part match the kernel version?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •