Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: youtube sound level inadequate

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,692

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    What xrandr calls HDMI-1 is a DVI connector. The HDMI connector doesn't have a place to be connected to my display, so is left unused except for those rare times I want two displays used at once.
    I've never heard of such a thing. But then my hardware is different.
    More detail about this PC and my two Kaby Lake PCs' (audio)/video outputs:
    Code:
    > xrandr --listproviders
    Providers: number : 1
    Provider 0: id: 0x45; cap: 0xf (Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload); crtcs: 3; outputs: 3; associated providers: 0; name: modesetting
        output VGA-1	# VGA connector without cable connected
        output HDMI-1	# DVI cable
        output HDMI-2	# HDMI connector without cable connected
    > xrandr | egrep 'onnect|creen|\*' | grep -v disconn | sort -r
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
    HDMI-1 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 518mm x 324mm
       1920x1200     59.95*+
    > inxi -GxxCSAMza
    System:    Host: thishost Kernel: 4.12.14-lp151.28.16-default x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.1
               parameters: ipv6.disable=1 net.ifnames=0 noresume mitigations=auto consoleblank=0 vga=791
               video=1280x720@60 video=1024x768@60 video=1440x900@60 5
               Desktop: KDE 3 wm: kwin dm: N/A Distro: openSUSE Leap 15.1
    Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: MSI model: B85-G41 PC Mate(MS-7850) v: 1.0 serial: <filter> BIOS: American Megatrends v: 2.9
               date: 03/30/2015
    CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-4150T bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Haswell family: 6 model-id: 3C (60)
               stepping: 3 microcode: 27 L2 cache: 3072 KiB
    Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 4th Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: i915
               v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:041e
               Display: server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa alternate: intel resolution: 1920x1200~60Hz
               OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.2 compat-v: 3.0 direct render: Yes
    Audio:     Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel
               v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0 chip ID: 8086:0c0c
               Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
               bus ID: 00:1b.0 chip ID: 8086:8c20
               Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.12.14-lp151.28.16-default
    *****
    # xrandr --listproviders
    Providers: number : 1
    Provider 0: id: 0x47; cap: 0xf (Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload); crtcs: 3; outputs: 5; associated providers: 0; name: modesetting
        output DP-1		# DisplayPort cable
        output HDMI-1	# nothing/nowhere/inexplicable
        output HDMI-2	# HDMI cable
        output HDMI-3	# Dual Link DVI cable
        output DP-2		# VGA connector without cable connected
    # xrandr | egrep 'onnect|creen|\*' | grep -v disconn | sort -r
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2560 x 3720, maximum 8192 x 8192
    HDMI-3 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 519mm x 324mm
    HDMI-2 connected 2560x1080+0+1200 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 673mm x 284mm
    DP-1 connected primary 2560x1440+0+2280 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
       2560x1440     59.95*+  74.92
       2560x1080     60.00*+
       1920x1200     59.95*+
    # inxi -GxxCSAMza
    System:    Host: ab250 Kernel: 4.12.14-lp151.28.16-default x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.1
               parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz noresume ipv6.disable=1 net.ifnames=0 mitigations=auto
               consoleblank=0 video=1024x768@60 video=1400x900@60 3
               Desktop: Trinity R14.0.6 tk: Qt 3.5.0 wm: Twin dm: startx Distro: openSUSE Leap 15.1
    Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: PRIME B250M-C v: Rev X.0x serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1402
               date: 11/16/2018
    CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Pentium G4600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Kaby Lake family: 6 model-id: 9E (158)
               stepping: 9 microcode: 8E L1 cache: 128 KiB L2 cache: 3072 KiB L3 cache: 3072 KiB...
    Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 630 vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:5912
               Display: server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: modesetting resolution: 2560x1440~60Hz, 2560x1080~60Hz, 1920x1200~60Hz
               OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.2 compat-v: 3.0 direct render: Yes
    Audio:     Device-1: Intel 200 Series PCH HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3
               chip ID: 8086:a2f0
               Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.12.14-lp151.28.16-default
    *****
    # xrandr --listproviders
    Providers: number : 1
    Provider 0: id: 0x47; cap: 0xf (Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload); crtcs: 3; outputs: 5; associated providers: 0; name: modesetting
        output HDMI-1	# HDMI cable
        output HDMI-2	# Dual Link DVI cable
        output DP-1		# DisplayPort cable
        output HDMI-3	# nothing/nowhere/inexplicable
        output DP-2		# VGA connector without cable connected
    # xrandr | egrep 'onnect|creen|\*' | grep -v disconn | sort -r
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2560 x 3720, maximum 8192 x 8192
    HDMI-2 connected 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 519mm x 324mm
    HDMI-1 connected 2560x1080+0+1200 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 673mm x 284mm
    DP-1 connected primary 2560x1440+0+2280 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 598mm x 336mm
       2560x1440     59.95*+  74.92
       2560x1080     60.00*+
       1920x1200     59.95*+
    # inxi -GxxCSAMza
    System:    Host: gb250 Kernel: 4.12.14-lp151.28.13-default x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0
               parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz noresume ipv6.disable=1 net.ifnames=0 mitigations=auto
               consoleblank=0 video=1024x768@60 video=1440x900@60 3
               Desktop: Trinity R14.0.6 tk: Qt 3.5.0 wm: Twin dm: startx Distro: openSUSE Leap 15.1
    Machine:   Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: B250M-D3H v: N/A serial: N/A
               Mobo: Gigabyte model: B250M-D3H-CF v: x.x serial: N/A UEFI: American Megatrends v: F10 date: 12/14/2018
    CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-7100T bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Kaby Lake family: 6 model-id: 9E (158)
               stepping: 9 microcode: 8E L1 cache: 128 KiB L2 cache: 3072 KiB L3 cache: 3072 KiB...
    Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 630 vendor: Gigabyte driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:5912
               Display: server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa alternate: intel
               resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz, 1920x1200~60Hz, 2560x1440~60Hz
               OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.2 compat-v: 3.0 direct render: Yes
    Audio:     Device-1: Intel 200 Series PCH HD Audio vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3
               chip ID: 8086:a2f0
               Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.12.14-lp151.28.13-default
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,692

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    I note now that for an older version of openSUSE (LEAP-42.1) in year 2015 Takashi gave a recommendation, and explained why to try such. A lot may have changed in 4 years. ... Also, i note Takashi suggested using the file 50-sound.conf and not the file 99-local.conf (although he left the possibility of using another .conf file 'open') . Out of curiousity, where did the suggestion to put the edits in the '99-local.conf' come from?
    Most likely as I previously replied, trying to keep the distro's configuration separate from sysadmin configuration. However...

    The edits in the 99-local.conf should accomplish the same (albeit timing slightly different) but nominally if helping in sound I would NEVER in 1,000 years think to look in 99-local.conf - it adds a level of obfuscation.
    I wonder where the following came from:
    Code:
    # ls -Gg /etc/modprobe.d/*w
    -rw-r--r-- 1 47 Mar 14  2019 99-local.conf.rpmnew
    # cat /etc/modprobe.d/*w
    #
    # please add local extensions to this file
    #
    And have you tried without any 50-sound.conf and without any 99-local.conf edits ? Was this with any 50-sound.conf or any 99-local.conf edits? Did you try a boot without these edits and then try "cat /proc/asound/cards" ? ... i.e. is this the result of the 99-local.conf edits, or does this happen regardless of the edits?
    In 15.1 I only tried with neither file. Result was no sound from anything. Simply restoring both files and restarting KDE left both FF and SM with no Youtube sound.

    # 'setup-pulseaudio --disable; setup-pulseaudio --enable' didn't help AFAICT, but it lead to 'zypper -v in alsa-plugins-pulse', but still no browser sound. I got both of them back from 'alsactl init', ran the Kmix levels back up to the top, and tested with 'aplay -vv /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav -Dplughw:0', after which I booted again to preserve the current sound card state. Without the files, /proc/asound/cards position of HDMI & PCH are reversed, HDMI 0 & PCH 1.

    Pavucontrol now works.

    It seems possible the audio level from Youtube has increased slightly. I'll have to sample more videos to be sure I'm not just having a better hearing night tonight. current alsa-info.txt

    > aplay -D plughw:0,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    aplay: main:828: audio open error: Device or resource busy
    IMHO this is good. .... sort of .... This likely means some other application has seized the audio device and it is refusing to share it. Any idea as to what that application may be?
    Unless it's SeaMonkey or KDE's system sounds, no, and it hasn't gone away since I got pavucontrol and Firefox sound working. Sometime after a fresh login I'll have to try to remember to try before opening any browsers.

    I ask again, are you using regular audio cables from an audio line out to plug in to the display's audio line in? ..... Or are you trying to use some form of audio signal over the DVI to the display?
    Post #11 addresses this. There is no digital audio connection to any speaker anywhere unless the actual HDMI connector is used, while my display speakers have no digital audio input except via DisplayPort. https://asset.msi.com/resize/image/g...a9ba1/1024.png Xorg's HDMI-1 video output is a fiction applied to a DVI output connector, so the only choice available to the speakers I use is one analog pin jack cable. I don't know any way to associate a DVI video output connector with digital audio.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,564
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    In 15.1 I only tried with neither file. Result was no sound from anything. Simply restoring both files and restarting KDE left both FF and SM with no Youtube sound.
    FF = Firefox. SM = Sea Monkey? Is it only YouTube that gives no sound with those two browsers? ... Initially I was suspicious of a codec problem if that is the case - however if I read further, I think you have sound working now in both - its just you are not certain wrt volume levels.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Pavucontrol now works.
    Excellent. That is a big step in the right direction IMHO.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    It seems possible the audio level from Youtube has increased slightly. ... I got pavucontrol and Firefox sound working.
    Another good step.

    In the old days (back circa year-2012 and before then < gulp > ) I used to check for open files to see what application had seized the sound device, using the application "lsof" (list open files). Back then I would use:
    Code:
    lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    However best to my knowledge, for some time with newer openSUSE versions there is no /dev/dsp*, nor /dev/audio*, nor /dev/mixer* .... and only a /dev/snd/* ....

    When I run
    Code:
    lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    I get:
    Code:
    oldcpu@linux-p15v:~> lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    lsof: WARNING: can't stat() tracefs file system /sys/kernel/debug/tracing
          Output information may be incomplete.
    lsof: status error on /dev/dsp*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/audio*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/mixer*: No such file or directory
    COMMAND    PID   USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF  NODE NAME
    pulseaudi 1849 oldcpu   16u   CHR  116,2      0t0 13776 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1849 oldcpu   21u   CHR 116,16      0t0 18667 /dev/snd/controlC2
    pulseaudi 1849 oldcpu   24u   CHR  116,9      0t0 19611 /dev/snd/controlC1
    pulseaudi 1849 oldcpu   31u   CHR  116,9      0t0 19611 /dev/snd/controlC1
    ... where its pretty obvious on my PC that only 'pulse audio' has open files associated with sound in /dev ... (unless I am missing a new /dev associated with sound). And my assumption is there are no sound devices associated with "tracefs file system /sys/kernel/debug/tracing" ... although I could be wrong.
    Last edited by oldcpu; 04-Oct-2019 at 03:32.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,692

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    ATM I have:
    Code:
    > lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    lsof: WARNING: can't stat() tracefs file system /sys/kernel/debug/tracing
          Output information may be incomplete.
    lsof: status error on /dev/dsp*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/audio*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/mixer*: No such file or directory
    COMMAND    PID USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF  NODE NAME
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   mem   CHR  116,3          20640 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   mem   CHR  116,2          20639 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   16u   CHR 116,13      0t0 18778 /dev/snd/controlC1
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   17u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   24u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   29u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   73u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   76u   CHR  116,2      0t0 20639 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   78u   CHR  116,3      0t0 20640 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
    kmix      1792  ---   10u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    kmix      1792  ---   11u   CHR 116,13      0t0 18778 /dev/snd/controlC1
    > aplay -D plughw:0,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    aplay: main:828: audio open error: Device or resource busy
    > aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    As to why I ever used the -D plughw:0,0 option with aplay I have no idea. It's just what I found in old sound troubleshooting email and/or search hits.

    As of now it seems like sound level seems to have been unaffected. I'm still straining to hear when volume is at 100% with some online videos, but not others. Using pavucontrol to raise sound to 157% (maximum) for SeaMonkey's currently playing Youtube seems adequate for now, possibly the best that can be expected from tiny 2W display speakers.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,564
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Code:
    kmix      1792  ---   10u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    kmix      1792  ---   11u   CHR 116,13      0t0 18778 /dev/snd/controlC1
    "kmix" is unexpected by me to see here in this thread. .... Nominally with my KDE in LEAP computers (I had 5 running LEAP at one point in time - now down to only 2 computers), "kmix" is not launched. I had thought one had to make an extra effort to setup and launch kmix all the time, and if I am correct, then I confess that I totally missed that kmix was being used by yourself (in this thread). That might (or might not) be relevant.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Code:
    > aplay -D plughw:0,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    aplay: main:828: audio open error: Device or resource busy
    > aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    As to why I ever used the -D plughw:0,0 option with aplay I have no idea. It's just what I found in old sound troubleshooting email and/or search hits.
    So ... you are saying "aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav" works ?

    My guess is kmix (?) might be blocking the 'plughw:00' from working.

    As to why using 'plughw:0,0' ?? Well it is used to specifically send audio to a specific device, by varying the "hw:x,y" (where 'x' is a device and 'y' a subdevice). Its very useful especially for cases where one has multiple sound devices that might complicate the audio understanding assessment.

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    As of now it seems like sound level seems to have been unaffected. I'm still straining to hear when volume is at 100% with some online videos, but not others. Using pavucontrol to raise sound to 157% (maximum) for SeaMonkey's currently playing Youtube seems adequate for now, possibly the best that can be expected from tiny 2W display speakers.
    Audio level is of course specified inside multimedia files. Anyone who records audio and puts it in a file, should keep in mind that if they record a level too low, then some users may have a difficulty hearing such.
    .

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,692

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    In both FF and SM while playing Youtubes, clicking the time bar drops the pavucontrol level from 153% to 100%, very highly annoying to recover from.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,692

    Default Re: youtube sound level inadequate

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    So ... you are saying "aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav" works ?
    Not me saying so, but aplay suggesting so. In the past I've seen aplay make that claim without anything emanating from any speaker, but here it makes sound.

    My guess is kmix (?) might be blocking the 'plughw:00' from working..
    Closing kmix didn't affect aplay:
    Code:
    > lsof /dev/dsp* /dev/audio* /dev/mixer* /dev/snd/*
    lsof: WARNING: can't stat() tracefs file system /sys/kernel/debug/tracing
          Output information may be incomplete.
    lsof: status error on /dev/dsp*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/audio*: No such file or directory
    lsof: status error on /dev/mixer*: No such file or directory
    COMMAND    PID USER   FD   TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF  NODE NAME
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   mem   CHR  116,3          20640 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   mem   CHR  116,2          20639 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   16u   CHR 116,13      0t0 18778 /dev/snd/controlC1
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   17u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   24u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   29u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   73u   CHR  116,6      0t0 20682 /dev/snd/controlC0
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   76u   CHR  116,2      0t0 20639 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p
    pulseaudi 1658  ---   78u   CHR  116,3      0t0 20640 /dev/snd/pcmC0D0c
    > aplay -D plughw:0,0 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    aplay: main:828: audio open error: Device or resource busy
    > aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav
    Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/test.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •