Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liège Walifornia
    Posts
    393

    Default [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Greetings !!

    I used this application to explain how works serial/parallel electronics to my students.
    I did two marvellous svg files with the schematics for my courses.

    BUT now, fritzing couldn't open again :{

    I removed reinstalled, wiped out all related to fritzing, installed again, same behaviour.
    I git'd the application it was worse, after installation and then first launch I had to kill the startkde process to get back to a normal behaviour of the whole system.

    I now have wiped out again all related to fritzing...

    https://paste.opensuse.org/48317390
    https://paste.opensuse.org/53411429
    https://paste.opensuse.org/76683148

    That sucks ;{ I really love the way it is easy to draw Arduino schematics with this application.
    Can not understand why this application only worked once.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liège Walifornia
    Posts
    393

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    I did symbolic links to ~/.local/share/fritzing and ~/Documents/fritzing replacing the "parts" folder to the /usr/share/fritzing/parts folder where all the 'not found' parts where, without success.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liège Walifornia
    Posts
    393

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    You have to delete the /usr/share/fritzing/parts/parts.db file each time, in order to launch the application again :{

    This file is created and has a 0 size :{

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,296

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Bug report in order probably...

    However, it looks as if fritzing is perhaps no longer under development, as the last version appears to be 0.9.0b (July 14, 2014).

    The page: http://fritzing.org/download/known-issues/ has a link for bug reports: http://fritzing.org/forum/bugs which returns "We're sorry but that page could not be found."

    I suppose you could create a script to launch the program which first deletes the offending file...
    Regards, Paul

    2x Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20191109) KDE Plasma 5
    2x Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,241

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post

    The page: http://fritzing.org/download/known-issues/ has a link for bug reports: http://fritzing.org/forum/bugs which returns "We're sorry but that page could not be found."
    OTOH, their forum at http://forum.fritzing.org/ seems to be alive. Last post from yesterday.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,975
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Try this:
    Unpack the download, in f.e. ~/bin/ . Do not run the installer script, but do
    Code:
    cd bin/fritzing-0.9.3b.linux.AMD64
    ./Fritzing
    The first thing it did was tell me there was an 'updated parts', which it downloaded, and installed. Then I had to restart it. I have no clue on how it works, but the application starts fine, and when I shut it down, I can start it again without issues. BTW the last one is from 2016, so the culprit might be that your system is too new. But, it seems to work like this.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,975
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    A bit more:
    Looking at the install script, I suspect you ran it as root. Which, from what I see, you shouldn't.
    FWIW, which version do you have?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,076
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    Bug report in order probably...

    However, it looks as if fritzing is perhaps no longer under development, as the last version appears to be 0.9.0b (July 14, 2014).

    The page: http://fritzing.org/download/known-issues/ has a link for bug reports: http://fritzing.org/forum/bugs which returns "We're sorry but that page could not be found."

    I suppose you could create a script to launch the program which first deletes the offending file...
    Hi
    New pre-release out 21 days ago...
    https://github.com/fritzing/fritzing-app/releases

    https://build.opensuse.org/package/s...ation/fritzing
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liège Walifornia
    Posts
    393

    Default Re: [fritzing] Can only use this application once

    Sorry for the lateness... I did effectively a script in order to set a workaround, I've been contacted by the developpment team they are working on it, I guess the issue is now solved.
    Looking at the install script, I suspect you ran it as root. Which, from what I see, you shouldn't.
    As I administrate the test system I log always in root because I hate sudoing ^^
    This is not a production computer, I'm a teacher and have nothing to do with "risks" using command line as root.

    I did not dug in the install script, indeed if there is some stuff done when you are not "root"... maybe the issue comes from that situation.
    No warning nore error in install logs nore logs.

    I did a script that runs fritzing and then remove the parts.db file once the application window closed, easy...

    FWIW, which version do you have?
    The version is BETA 0.9.3 would probably try the newest version if really needed, now it is working perfectly that is a real pleasure ^^

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •