Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    124

    Default grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    I have a laptop with windoze and openSUSE. I recently installed LEAP 15.1, and windoze no longer shows up in the grub boot menu. Do I need to edit /etc/modprobe.d/60-blacklist_fs-ntfs.conf to remove the blacklisting? I don't at this time need to read files from the windoze partition, but I do need to boot into it once in a while.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,807
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Don't mess with GRUB manually now. First see what running YaST > System > Bootloader does. Make sure that "Probe for other OS" is checked. Simply hit OK, then reboot and see if Windows was added to the GRUB menu.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Don't mess with GRUB manually now. First see what running YaST > System > Bootloader does. Make sure that "Probe for other OS" is checked. Simply hit OK, then reboot and see if Windows was added to the GRUB menu.
    I have another problem (see Thread: Blanks screen with cursor) that keeps me from doing that at the moment. Once that's resolved I'll try. Do I need to remove NTFS from the blacklist?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,807
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    I have another problem (see Thread: Blanks screen with cursor) that keeps me from doing that at the moment. Once that's resolved I'll try. Do I need to remove NTFS from the blacklist?
    No, don't do that.

    Simply boot, at login screen hit Ctrl+Alt+F2, login with username and password and do:
    Code:
    su
    yast
    and you'll be presented with the ncurses version of yast. Use Arrow and Tab key to navigate ....
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Annandale, VA
    Posts
    124

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    No, don't do that.

    Simply boot, at login screen hit Ctrl+Alt+F2, login with username and password and do:
    Code:
    su
    yast
    and you'll be presented with the ncurses version of yast. Use Arrow and Tab key to navigate ....
    Thanks; that worked. I don't knw why C-A-F1 didn't work; maybe I hit a wrong key.

    BTW, I tried to click the star icon but apparently I need to give feedback to others first. I do appreciate the help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,807
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    Thanks; that worked. I don't knw why C-A-F1 didn't work; maybe I hit a wrong key.

    BTW, I tried to click the star icon but apparently I need to give feedback to others first. I do appreciate the help.
    Great it worked. And probablu you cannot push my reputation too fast .
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,645

    Default Re: grub2 menu does not show NTFS partition

    Quote Originally Posted by shmuelmetz View Post
    Thanks; that worked. I don't knw why C-A-F1 didn't work; maybe I hit a wrong key.
    Probably not. tty1 has a special purpose, so often the others are more reliable, and why I only ever suggest one of the others:
    Code:
    Ctrl-Alt-F2
    Ctrl-Alt-F3
    Ctrl-Alt-F4
    Ctrl-Alt-F5
    Ctrl-Alt-F6
    Usually your login manager or X session is at [Ctrl-]Alt-F7.
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •