Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: "White dots" on screen

  1. #1

    Default "White dots" on screen

    I'm having a very odd issue with openSUSE (well, Linux in general) on one of my laptops and I'm hoping someone has an idea of how to resolve this or troubleshoot it further. I am running openSUSE on a Dell G7 7588 (i7-8750H, 8GB of RAM and Nvidia GTX 1060/Intel UHD 630 Optimus graphics). I'm currently running Tumbleweed with KDE, but I have seen the issue on other distributions live systems (Ubuntu/Kubuntu, Manjaro Xfce).

    The issue I am experiencing is "white dots" moving around my screen. I have not been able to take a video where they actually show up since they are rather dim, but essentially it looks like individual pixels are turning white for a fraction of a second. It's similar to this video, but much, much less severe. It's really only visible on a dark or black background and the pixels are not nearly as bright even with the backlight up all the way. The issue is not visible in grub, but as soon as the system starts loading (whether with plymouth enabled or disabled), even before X starts up, I can see the issue.

    I've done some google'ing that has led me down a couple paths, but here's what I have so far:


    • The system is not overheating - the GPU and CPU are both hovering around 50-55C with peaks around 65C, but the issue occurs consistently.
    • This occurs whether I'm using nouveau or nvidia, and whether I have suse-prime set to use the Intel or Nvidia graphics.
    • This seems to be a problem only with the internal display. I cannot capture it in a screenshot/video capture. I've connected an HDMI display, and even when mirroring the display I can see the problem on my laptop display but not on the external display.
    • The issue does not occur in Windows, so I do not think the cable or the internal display itself is failing.


    Any suggestions as to what I can do to troubleshoot this further? Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,379
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Goggling "white dots nvidia bug" (and similar) turns up lots of results, indicative of an possible hardware/firmware issue that likely only nvidia can resolve realistically. That said, you mention that you're using KDE. You could check if it is apparent with another desktop environment, and/or try changing the KDE rendering backend perhaps.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,846
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Apart from what deano_ferrari says, have a look at and try the compositor settings. You may need openGL 3.x
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,379
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Apart from what deano_ferrari says, have a look at and try the compositor settings. You may need openGL 3.x
    That's also what I was referring to with respect to the rendering backend.
    openSUSE Leap 15.0; KDE Plasma 5

  5. #5

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    Goggling "white dots nvidia bug" (and similar) turns up lots of results, indicative of an possible hardware/firmware issue that likely only nvidia can resolve realistically. That said, you mention that you're using KDE. You could check if it is apparent with another desktop environment, and/or try changing the KDE rendering backend perhaps.
    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Apart from what deano_ferrari says, have a look at and try the compositor settings. You may need openGL 3.x
    Thanks, both. As mentioned in my original post I have used Xfce and the issue still occurs there. It also occurs before X even loads, so it is not related to the compositor at all.

    I dug through the first few results for "white dots Nvidia bug" and all the issues ended up being hardware related (bad cable or bad GPU). Given that the system still functions perfectly in Windows that is not the case here.

    That leads me to a driver bug, but it's occuring on both nouveau and nvidia (sure, that's possible) and only affects the internal display and not an external display.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,265

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by raptir View Post
    ...Given that the system still functions perfectly in Windows that is not the case here.

    That leads me to a driver bug, but it's occuring on both nouveau and nvidia (sure, that's possible) and only affects the internal display and not an external display.
    To further disprove it's not a hardware fault, (although that's very much what I would have suspected had you not said it doesn't exhibit the problem when running MS Windows); if you go into the bios setup, and it's not hardware related, then you shouldn't see the "dots" there either. OTOH if they are present... then I guess you are looking at a hardware problem, display panel, driver/multiplexer hardware, video RAM...
    Regards, Paul

    2x Tumbleweed (Snapshot: 20191012) KDE Plasma 5
    2x Leap 15.1 KDE Plasma 5

  7. #7

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by tannington View Post
    To further disprove it's not a hardware fault, (although that's very much what I would have suspected had you not said it doesn't exhibit the problem when running MS Windows); if you go into the bios setup, and it's not hardware related, then you shouldn't see the "dots" there either. OTOH if they are present... then I guess you are looking at a hardware problem, display panel, driver/multiplexer hardware, video RAM...
    Yeah, no issues not only in the bios setup (or UEFI, whatever) but not in grub either.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,743

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Since this appears to be an optimus based graphic. Have you installed either suse-prime or bumblebee to manage it??

    Optimus is a strange setup the Intel GPU does all the output but the NVIDIA can optionally do rendering to pass through the Intel GPU. It definitively take special care and feeding because NVIDIA is stuck with old architecture in which part of the X stack is replaced which then interferes with other brand GPU process.

  9. #9

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Since this appears to be an optimus based graphic. Have you installed either suse-prime or bumblebee to manage it??

    Optimus is a strange setup the Intel GPU does all the output but the NVIDIA can optionally do rendering to pass through the Intel GPU. It definitively take special care and feeding because NVIDIA is stuck with old architecture in which part of the X stack is replaced which then interferes with other brand GPU process.
    Yeah, I mentioned in my post that I am using suse-prime. The glitch happens both with it set to Nvidia or Intel.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Nürnberg, Germany
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: "White dots" on screen

    Quote Originally Posted by raptir View Post
    The issue I am experiencing is "white dots" moving around my screen. I have not been able to take a video where they actually show up since they are rather dim, but essentially it looks like individual pixels are turning white for a fraction of a second. It's similar to this video, but much, much less severe. It's really only visible on a dark or black background and the pixels are not nearly as bright even with the backlight up all the way.
    I remember those glitches from way back when I tried to tune some of those CrazyDots/PixelWonder and Tseng ET-4000 videocards in my Atari Mega ST to the maximum, most flicker-free sync rates and pixel resolutions back in the 1990s, and later with Matrox-based Linux boxes (remember Matrox? Man, I’m old). Maybe with this problem, we have to go old-school again and analyse the video timings.

    What are your numbers returned from xvidtune and the Xserver logs?

    Code:
    rig:~ ▶ xvidtune -show
    "1920x1200"   154.00   1920 1968 2000 2080   1200 1203 1209 1235 +hsync -vsync
    
    rig:~ ▶ grep -i hz ~/.xsession-errors /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log:[     2.297] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Eizo S2402W (DFP-0): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log:[     2.297] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-1: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log:[     2.297] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-2: 1440.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log:[     2.297] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): DFP-3: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
    [...]
    Quote Originally Posted by raptir View Post
    The issue is not visible in grub, but as soon as the system starts loading (whether with plymouth enabled or disabled), even before X starts up, I can see the issue.
    That’s probably because GRUB re-uses a »safe« VESA timing provided by the computer’s BIOS — or one of the power-on-default timings of the video hardware, usually some 80×25 character mode. Plymouth then tries to set at the earliest point during boot the standard resolution you specified in the Xorg config — or, whatever YaST detected the safe and native resolution to be for your system. Maybe YaST detected something wrong, and now you have display noise. (Windows video drivers may play it safe and not drive the video hardware as close to its limit.)

    Maybe, though, your X server tries to use refresh rates of 75Hz (for CRT monitors) instead of the LCD-typical 60Hz. Let’s fire up xvidtune again, but without parameters this time:



    What does it say on lower-right, how many Hertz on your system?

    (You can also try to play around further with these xvidtune controls, vary the timings slightly; whereas I don’t think this can damage modern video hardware anymore, you might end up with flicker or a garbled/black or otherwise unreadable screen. Therefor please save all work and issue a »sync« before experimenting with xvidtune.)

    Cheers!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •