Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Hey there,

    what exactly do you mean with a test user and how should it look like because if I log in with my normal user which is not very special (afaik I did not set any additional groups) and I wonder how a test user should work in this case?
    And do you speaking of CUDA showing up as enabled in Blender or somewhere else?

    Thank you in advance

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    When people here suggest a test user, they mean a fresh created user that can then be used to check if certain things that are going wrong with an already existing user (who may have a long histoty of creating and changing configuration files in his home directory) are going wrong in the same way with that fresh (without the long hostory of configuration files over maybe several levels of the operating system, the desktop in use and/or the application going wrong) user.

    Thus you only have to use YaST > Security and users > Users and Groups and create a new user there wthout much whistles and bells. Then use that user to test what happens when you try to recreate your problem. After the test, you can again remove that test user from the system.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Hey everybody,

    thanks for all your help

    I created a new user and experienced the same issue

    Furthermore I tested the whole thing on my 2nd Tumbleweed machine and also there I am not able to use the GPUs to render with the repo build but with the portable version from the website it works.

    Here's what the 2nd machine looks like:

    Code:
    inxi -GxxSaz
    System:    Host: Z003 Kernel: 5.2.11-1-default x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.2.1 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.16.5 tk: Qt 5.13.1 
               wm: kwin_x11 dm: GDM, SDDM Distro: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20190909 
    Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA GM204 [GeForce GTX 970] vendor: ZOTAC driver: nvidia v: 435.21 bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 10de:13c2 
               Device-2: NVIDIA GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] vendor: ZOTAC driver: nvidia v: 435.21 bus ID: 02:00.0 
               chip ID: 10de:1c03 
               Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.5 driver: none unloaded: nvidia compositor: kwin_x11 resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
               OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 435.21 direct render: Yes
    Code:
    /sbin/modinfo nvidia | grep filename
    filename:       /lib/modules/5.2.11-1-default/updates/nvidia.ko
    Code:
    cat /etc/default/grub | grep GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="resume=/dev/disk/by-uuid/4a5e7d4e-1807-4056-899c-5a35bdf7f57e splash=silent quiet showopts"
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nnk | egrep -A3 "VGA|Display|3D"
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GM204 [GeForce GTX 970] [10de:13c2] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: ZOTAC International (MCO) Ltd. Device [19da:1366]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia
            Kernel modules: nouveau, nvidia_drm, nvidia
    --
    02:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] [10de:1c03] (rev a1)
            Subsystem: ZOTAC International (MCO) Ltd. Device [19da:1438]
            Kernel driver in use: nvidia
            Kernel modules: nouveau, nvidia_drm, nvidia
    Also on that machine a new user wasn't able to do so. :/

    Thank you all for your help

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Any further suggestions?

  5. #15

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Hi,
    The blender in the opensuse repos will only use the gpu in rendering
    if you compile cuda. You can download the cuda from nvidia.
    just read the instructions and all will be fine. If you encounter problem
    please post and I'm guessing malcolmlewis will surely help. He helped me
    a lot in the past
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Is there no way to get it work without compiling CUDA on my own? SInce on any GPU driver or Kernel update I'll need to recompile it right? Which could be a bit annoying on Tumbleweed

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Repositoreis: Blender and Cycles

    Quote Originally Posted by VortexAcherontic View Post
    Is there no way to get it work without compiling CUDA on my own? SInce on any GPU driver or Kernel update I'll need to recompile it right? Which could be a bit annoying on Tumbleweed
    Hi
    No, that's not necessary, install without the driver (or gcc check) and use the openSUSE version, or the hardway (my preferred way )

    For example;
    Code:
    ./cuda_10.1.243_418.87.00_linux.run --override
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •