Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: Do I need to enable TRIM?

  1. #11

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Likewise, the only thing I do is switch i/o scheduler to the bfq group (mq-deadline for SSD's) by adding scsi_mod.use_blk_mq=1 to grub kernel boot options.
    Is this specific for BTRFS or also usable on systems with EXT4-only?

    Still trying to figure out what killed my 2-year old Intel SSD with wear-out of 90-something...
    Kind regards

    raspu

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_rasputin View Post
    Is this specific for BTRFS or also usable on systems with EXT4-only?

    Still trying to figure out what killed my 2-year old Intel SSD with wear-out of 90-something...
    Hi
    AFAIK it should be useable, have a read here, bottom of the page;
    https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati...tuning.io.html

    A google on ext4+bfq should provide other sources...

    You might want to go direct to Intel support about that as should still be under warranty, got the latest firmware etc?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5,041

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    adding scsi_mod.use_blk_mq=1 to grub kernel boot options.
    This does nothing on Tumbleweed. Current kernel switched to multi-queue completely.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    1,645

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    All my 64bit OS filesystems are on EXT4. This is from 15.1:
    Code:
    # systemctl status fstrim.timer
    ● fstrim.timer - Discard unused blocks once a week
       Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/fstrim.timer; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
       Active: active (waiting) since Thu 2019-08-22 00:36:15 EDT; 1 weeks 4 days ago
      Trigger: Mon 2019-09-09 00:00:00 EDT; 6 days left
         Docs: man:fstrim
    Reg. Linux User #211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 42.3,TW,15.0 & 13.1 on Haswell w/ RAID
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2)&42.3 on 965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: TW,15.0,42.3,Fedora,Debian,more on Kaby Lake,Q45,Q43,G41,G3X,965G,Cedar,Caicos,Oland,GT218&&&

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    966

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by drhedberg View Post
    Code:
    systemctl status fstrim.timer
    ● fstrim.timer - Discard unused blocks once a week
       Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/fstrim.timer; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
       Active: active (waiting) since Sun 2019-09-01 13:18:34 EDT; 1h 13min ago
      Trigger: Mon 2019-09-02 00:00:00 EDT; 9h left
         Docs: man:fstrim
    Does the above indicate that it is enabled on my system? Thanks
    Yes, it is enabled. However you may want to check what
    fstrim.service actually does:

    Code:
    erlangen:~ # journalctl -b -u fstrim.service 
    -- Logs begin at Fri 2019-08-16 13:07:00 CEST, end at Mon 2019-09-02 12:55:40 CEST. --
    Sep 01 19:49:10 erlangen systemd[1]: Starting Discard unused blocks on filesystems from /etc/fstab...
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen fstrim[877]: /ArchLinux: 23.3 GiB (25054887936 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb2
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen fstrim[877]: /boot/efi: 84 MiB (88059904 bytes) trimmed on /dev/nvme0n1p4
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen fstrim[877]: /home-SSD: 132.7 GiB (142448631808 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb4
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen fstrim[877]: /Tumbleweed-SSD: 11.9 GiB (12767350784 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb3
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen fstrim[877]: /: 12 GiB (12861919232 bytes) trimmed on /dev/nvme0n1p2
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen systemd[1]: fstrim.service: Succeeded.
    Sep 01 19:50:26 erlangen systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks on filesystems from /etc/fstab.
    Sep 02 07:42:11 erlangen systemd[1]: Starting Discard unused blocks on filesystems from /etc/fstab...
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen fstrim[4312]: /ArchLinux: 0 B (0 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb2
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen fstrim[4312]: /boot/efi: 84 MiB (88059904 bytes) trimmed on /dev/nvme0n1p4
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen fstrim[4312]: /home-SSD: 0 B (0 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb4
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen fstrim[4312]: /Tumbleweed-SSD: 0 B (0 bytes) trimmed on /dev/sdb3
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen fstrim[4312]: /: 1.3 GiB (1357172736 bytes) trimmed on /dev/nvme0n1p2
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen systemd[1]: fstrim.service: Succeeded.
    Sep 02 07:42:19 erlangen systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks on filesystems from /etc/fstab.
    erlangen:~ #
    AMD Athlon 4850e (2009), openSUSE 13.1, KDE 4, Intel i3-4130 (2014), i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma 5

  6. #16

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    You might want to go direct to Intel support about that as should still be under warranty, got the latest firmware etc?
    Firmware I check about once a year. Was up-to-date...

    I never hand over used HDD/SSD (defective) to ANYBODY. Never. And it's usually a pain to get away with a signed piece of paper that you can't hand over due to blah, blah, blah or sending in only the frame (HDD) without controller/disks... So I will have to find out myself. Is it possible that doing no fstrim for 2 years kills of an Intel 120 GB SSD?

    I find the output of fstrim not very helpful (fstrim -v / and fstrim -v /home), sometimes it takes 2 sec and it says it has trimmed 26.7 GB, sometimes it take 30 sec and it says it has trimmed 2.5 GB. This all makes only very limited sense to me...
    Kind regards

    raspu

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_rasputin View Post
    Firmware I check about once a year. Was up-to-date...

    I never hand over used HDD/SSD (defective) to ANYBODY. Never. And it's usually a pain to get away with a signed piece of paper that you can't hand over due to blah, blah, blah or sending in only the frame (HDD) without controller/disks... So I will have to find out myself. Is it possible that doing no fstrim for 2 years kills of an Intel 120 GB SSD?

    I find the output of fstrim not very helpful (fstrim -v / and fstrim -v /home), sometimes it takes 2 sec and it says it has trimmed 26.7 GB, sometimes it take 30 sec and it says it has trimmed 2.5 GB. This all makes only very limited sense to me...
    Hi
    I'm referring to sending them an email to support and ask about your issue, maybe they will have some info?

    Also the ATTRIBUTE_NAME your seeing is VALUE or RAW_VALUE? Can you post the outputs your concerned about?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #18

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    It's the Intel SSD which recent went into read-only (had a TW thread here), had been running only TW for less than 2 years (24/7) as a workstation (no server, no extensive read/writes). WEAR-OUT indicator is 83... :-( I never did an fstrim (manually).

    Code:
    sudo smartctl -a /dev/sdi
    smartctl 7.0 2019-05-21 r4917 [x86_64-linux-5.2.10-1-default] (SUSE RPM)
    Copyright (C) 2002-18, Bruce Allen, Christian Franke, www.smartmontools.org
    
    === START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
    Model Family:     Intel 53x and Pro 1500/2500 Series SSDs
    Device Model:     INTEL SSDSC2BW120H6
    Serial Number:    CVTRxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    LU WWN Device Id: 5 5xxxxxxx 14xxxxxxx
    Firmware Version: RG21
    User Capacity:    120,034,123,776 bytes [120 GB]
    Sector Size:      512 bytes logical/physical
    Rotation Rate:    Solid State Device
    Device is:        In smartctl database [for details use: -P show]
    ATA Version is:   ACS-3 (minor revision not indicated)
    SATA Version is:  SATA 3.2, 6.0 Gb/s (current: 3.0 Gb/s)
    Local Time is:    Mon Sep  2 19:50:09 2019 CEST
    SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
    SMART support is: Enabled
    
    === START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
    SMART Status not supported: Incomplete response, ATA output registers missing
    SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED
    Warning: This result is based on an Attribute check.
    
    General SMART Values:
    Offline data collection status:  (0x00) Offline data collection activity
                                            was never started.
                                            Auto Offline Data Collection: Disabled.
    Self-test execution status:      (   0) The previous self-test routine completed
                                            without error or no self-test has ever 
                                            been run.
    Total time to complete Offline 
    data collection:                ( 2930) seconds.
    Offline data collection
    capabilities:                    (0x7f) SMART execute Offline immediate.
                                            Auto Offline data collection on/off support.
                                            Abort Offline collection upon new
                                            command.
                                            Offline surface scan supported.
                                            Self-test supported.
                                            Conveyance Self-test supported.
                                            Selective Self-test supported.
    SMART capabilities:            (0x0003) Saves SMART data before entering
                                            power-saving mode.
                                            Supports SMART auto save timer.
    Error logging capability:        (0x01) Error logging supported.
                                            General Purpose Logging supported.
    Short self-test routine 
    recommended polling time:        (   2) minutes.
    Extended self-test routine
    recommended polling time:        (  58) minutes.
    Conveyance self-test routine
    recommended polling time:        (   4) minutes.
    SCT capabilities:              (0x0025) SCT Status supported.
                                            SCT Data Table supported.
    
    SMART Attributes Data Structure revision number: 10
    Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
    ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
      5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
      9 Power_On_Hours_and_Msec 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       14730h+00m+00.000s
     12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       367
    170 Available_Reservd_Space 0x0033   081   100   010    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
    171 Program_Fail_Count      0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
    172 Erase_Fail_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
    174 Unexpect_Power_Loss_Ct  0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       167
    183 SATA_Downshift_Count    0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       11
    184 End-to-End_Error        0x0033   100   100   090    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
    187 Uncorrectable_Error_Cnt 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
    190 Airflow_Temperature_Cel 0x0032   025   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       25 (Min/Max 13/39)
    192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       167
    199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
    225 Host_Writes_32MiB       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       47642
    226 Workld_Media_Wear_Indic 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       65535
    227 Workld_Host_Reads_Perc  0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       40
    228 Workload_Minutes        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       65535
    232 Available_Reservd_Space 0x0033   081   100   010    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
    233 Media_Wearout_Indicator 0x0032   083   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
    241 Host_Writes_32MiB       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       47642
    242 Host_Reads_32MiB        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       31544
    249 NAND_Writes_1GiB        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       32467
    Kind regards

    raspu

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,680
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Hi
    So the only issue is it went read only at some point, so you have been running it for two years, I would expect that you will get at least another > 8 years based on that value, it counts down the NAND media cycles. Like I said before you get concerned, contact the Intel folks to explain what those attributes and values mean....
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #20

    Default Re: Do I need to enable TRIM?

    Hi and thanks for having a look. But read-only is irreversible for this kind of storage, or?

    Will have a look at the Intel service...
    Kind regards

    raspu

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •