Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Start menu taskbar gone

  1. #1

    Question Start menu taskbar gone

    Good day

    sorry um Iam stuck lol

    i turned on my box and my start/taskbar is like gone

    um how do I get it back ?

    the one thing I noticed on start up it says
    “error getting immou info is the immo enabled
    error initializing immouv2
    Device 1002:9074 not added due to errors”

    um help lol?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,565
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Is your desktop KDE ? Assuming it is, and assuming your KDE behaves similar to my openSUSE-15.0 KDE desktop, then try this :

    Right click on desktop and unlock widgets (assuming its the 'application menu widget' that is missing'. Note you can also add panels this way.

    Right click on desktop again (or right click on lower panel and select "Panel Options" ) and select "Add Widgets" .


    Above shows my desktop (link is here if above does not show: https://paste.opensuse.org/images/88686953.jpg ).

    Scroll down to "application menu" and drag it to the lower panel to the location where you want it.

    Then once happy, be certain to again right click on the desktop and 'lock widgets'.
    Last edited by oldcpu; 01-Sep-2019 at 07:18.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Is your desktop KDE ? Assuming it is, and assuming your KDE behaves similar to my openSUSE-15.0 KDE desktop, then try this :

    Right click on desktop and unlock widgets (assuming its the 'application menu widget' that is missing'. Note you can also add panels this way.

    Right click on desktop again (or right click on lower panel and select "Panel Options" ) and select "Add Widgets" .


    Above shows my desktop (link is here if above does not show: https://paste.opensuse.org/images/88686953.jpg ).

    Scroll down to "application menu" and drag it to the lower panel to the location where you want it.

    Then once happy, be certain to again right click on the desktop and 'lock widgets'.
    ello

    sorry Iam useing mate desktop if I right click I have create folder , create launcher , create document, organize by name , keep aligned-!: change desktop back ground

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,854
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    I read it a bit different, i.e. that the entire panel is gone. If that is the case, right click in the desktop, unlock Widgets, right click again, Add Panel > Default panel, and you should be back in business
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    I read it a bit different, i.e. that the entire panel is gone. If that is the case, right click in the desktop, unlock Widgets, right click again, Add Panel > Default panel, and you should be back in business
    Lol yes like the entire thing is gone I just got desktop icons ... that’s it
    and I don’t see anything about any widget or word widgets

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,854
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Quote Originally Posted by Angelus View Post
    Lol yes like the entire thing is gone I just got desktop icons ... that’s it
    and I don’t see anything about any widget or word widgets
    That's because I assumed wrongly that you ran KDE Plasma5
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,565
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    I've never used 'mate' desktop. I have read of Ubuntu users using that desktop. Does this link provide any recovery hints? - https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...ntu-mate-18-04
    .. or ...
    https://superuser.com/questions/1307...ompletely-gone
    Last edited by oldcpu; 01-Sep-2019 at 20:02.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,631
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    It looks as if a recent update broke MATE. And that seems to be your problem.

    You should be able to login to Icewm. From there, you can run Yast Software Management.

    Search for "mate-menu".

    You will need to revert 3 packages to the version in the main repo, instead of the updated version (which is in the update repo). Those are "mate-menus", "mate-menus-lang" and "libmate-menu2". For each, click on the "Version" tab, and select the version from the main repo.

    That should get you back to the desktop before that update.

    If that works, you might want to then lock those packages (right click in Yast Software Management) so that they are not accidentally updated.

    Then I hope a MATE user will file a bug report so that this is fixed quickly.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  9. #9

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Yayyyyyy thanks a lot nrichert that worked

    how do I pull a bug report or something to try help and so u guys can perhaps see what happened exactly?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,854
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Start menu taskbar gone

    Quote Originally Posted by Angelus View Post
    Yayyyyyy thanks a lot nrichert that worked

    how do I pull a bug report or something to try help and so u guys can perhaps see what happened exactly?
    That would be https://bugzilla.opensuse.org where you can use the credentials you use here to login. Report the bug against Leap 15.1, provide as much info as you can, f.e. a URL to this thread.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •