Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Update

    Why don't updates for Tumbleweed show up in Yast like they do in Leap.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,874
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Why don't updates for Tumbleweed show up in Yast like they do in Leap.
    Hi
    There are no updates in Tumbleweed (well unless it's an important one and placed in the Update repository), you should only be using zypper and dup, nothing else...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,642
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Why don't updates for Tumbleweed show up in Yast like they do in Leap.
    Yast online update is looking for patches. A patch is a special kind of file with update directions. The patches appear in the update repo.

    Already, even using Leap, some updates don't show up in Yast Only Update, because they are not patches. For Leap, these are mostly the packman updates.

    Tumbleweed, because it is a rolling distribution, has to be handled differently. Using "zypper dup" makes it more of an upgrade to the next version of the rolling release, rather than an update to the current version.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    537

    Default Re: Update

    I was inspired to write an article.

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Upgrade_Tumbleweed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,863
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Update

    FWIW: Integration of 'dup' in packagekit is in progress. Won't be in YaST though, since that is zypp based, not packagekit based like the plasmoid.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: Update

    Ok. Thanks. That's interesting.

    I was aware of zypper dup and it had occurred to me that a gui version might be convenient.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,167

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Ok. Thanks. That's interesting.

    I was aware of zypper dup and it had occurred to me that a gui version might be convenient.
    I personaly doubt if that is a good idea. Because a zypper dup will install a new version of many packages, a lot of people prefer to have running as few processes as possible during that upgrade. Thus no GUI at all, but from run level 1.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    537

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I personaly doubt if that is a good idea. Because a zypper dup will install a new version of many packages, a lot of people prefer to have running as few processes as possible during that upgrade. Thus no GUI at all, but from run level 1.
    You've got me curious.

    Zypper tells us when a reboot is actually required; although, I've always rebooted anyhow.

    What is the situation where a reboot is not required, but logging out of the desktop environment and switching to tty1, and then upgrading is not sufficient -- i.e. it will also require switching to "run level 1" (i.e. rescue.target) to avoid a problem when switching back to the login manager / desktop environment?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,874
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by ravas View Post
    You've got me curious.

    Zypper tells us when a reboot is actually required; although, I've always rebooted anyhow.

    What is the situation where a reboot is not required, but logging out of the desktop environment and switching to tty1, and then upgrading is not sufficient -- i.e. it will also require switching to "run level 1" (i.e. rescue.target) to avoid a problem when switching back to the login manager / desktop environment?
    Hi
    Or zypper ps -s, may just need to logout/login to restart processes...
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10

    Default Re: Update

    Quote Originally Posted by ravas View Post
    I was inspired to write an article.

    https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Upgrade_Tumbleweed
    What are the benefits of login out and login in as root, rather than simply doing
    Code:
    sudo zypper dup

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •